186 thoughts on “At last, meeting with someone honorable…

  1. It was good to hear “Hail to the Chief”. Pres. Obama really ought to let them do that more often. 🙂

    That was a very moving ceremony.

  2. Look at Sgt. Petry’s prosthetic. Man, we’re getting closer to Star Trek with every passing year.

    I’m glad PBO got the chance to honor someone of true character before going back into the lion’s den this afternoon.

  3. I’d no idea of the hand, just quickly scrolled through photos unti it hit me. Very strong set of images.

  4. A true Commander in Chief in action, and thank you Sgt. for your service!

  5. The last picture is soooo powerful.

    I have a prosthetic eye (I’m blind on the right side) – I wonder if anyone could ever look into my face when I don’t wear it and shake my hand ….

  6. That last photo will become very famous … thank you BWD for sharing it.

    Yes.We.Can. … DO.More.Together!

  7. Congratulations, Sgt Petry. A real hero. Maybe the wusses in congress can learn something about honor and duty from this young man.

  8. Regarding the debt ceiling negotiations, besides being more than pleased with the President’s patient forbearance of ideologists on the other side of the aisle, I want to express my astonishment and gratitude for the disciplined message coming from his side of the aisle.

    So far I have not seen anyone going off the reservation and grandstanding about the President not be a “values guy” or some such nonsense. They are playing the long game like the President. They are not blinking. They are all on the same page: there will be no cuts unless you agree to revenue increases. Every Democrat has been reinforcing that single message.

    I am more resolutely an Obamacrat than a Democrat but they often get on my nerves with their missed opportunities (doing any of these before the midterms: a budget, cap and trade, Dream Act, DADT, DOMA) but at the moment, and it may be fleeting, I am very proud of them as a whole.

  9. I thought I would post an update from the front lines of electioneering.

    My library is a polling place for the CA-36 special election. So far it’s been exceedingly light turnout. Not sure if it’s good news for Janice Hahn or Craig Huey. My guess would be that it’s good news for Hahn, as it’s a Dem district, and teabaggers fired up to vote for Huey would be swamping the polls.

  10. No kidding it was soo cool, by the way did the GOP just BLINK? and allow PBO to reise the debt?

  11. I googled the guy, and he’s only the second to receive the Congressional Medal of Honor while living. Considering that, it’s good to thank both modern medicine and God for his being able to receive his medal while alive.

  12. I think it is a wonderful decision PBO made to award soldiers with the Medal of Honor while they can enjoy it. His decision reminds me of my mom telling us kids that if we wanted to do anything for her and our dad to do it while they could enjoy it. My parents were wise because they knew that once they had passed, all of the flowers on gravestones would mean nothing to them.

  13. Sometimes I get sad when I see service peoples eyes, I wonder what horrors they have seen that we stay- at- homes will never see….. “War, What Is It Good For?”

  14. Have you guys seen the Mcconnell capitulation? here is someone’s take on it:

    Sam Stein tweeted that while Redstate is calling for McConnell to be “burned in effigy” one “Dem source” calls McConnell’s move that of an “evil genius”.
    Now the idea here is clear enough. All the blame for increasing the national debt falls on Democrats. But really if McConnell’s gambit played out it would simply cede to Democrats the ability to govern as they think is best for the country and presumably best for them politically. If they think a serious deficit reduction plan is necessary, they can still pass it. Yes, there are some ins and outs and complications. Republicans could still raise the debt ceiling and not allow the president’s party to vote its own debt reduction plan.

    At the end of the day though, McConnell’s “evil genius” move seems like all it does is make the Democrats go to the public with what they believe is best for the country and be accountable for it. I have a hard time seeing that as being a meaningful threat. Since that’s what people who are given the power to govern are supposed to do.

  15. That picture of the President reaching out his hand to shake the soldier’s hand brought tears to my eyes. A strong grip, no hesitation.
    The Repubs will blink……they are not used to having someone stand up to them…they have thought they had all the marbles, they don’t. What Liberal Librarian said about not playing poker with the president, is what one Illinois legislator who served with him said to a news reporter….”Don’t ever play poker with that man.” Wish I could remember the legislator’s name. I believe the President must have nerves of steel!

  16. That was Kirk Dillard. When PBO was elected Dillard said he could sleep soundly now because he played poker with POTUS.

  17. Although he’s disrespectin’ PBHO, I don’t want to “disrespect my elders”…

    But, he needs to sit down and be quiet!

    He’s goin’ to “give hisself a heart attack!” lol

    YES.WE.CAN…DO.(Much)More, Together!

  18. Petry could have been discharged and received maximum disability pay – but he chose to re-inlist and is active duty again….even with that prosthetic hand. What a brave and dedicated man. I watched this ceremony live and at the end he went over to a cluster of 6-8 men all wearing the blue Medal of Honor awards. They are a very special band of peacekeepers (I prefer that to warriors).

  19. Yes, he could have takin’ the easier route…

    But, he chose the hard, more difficult way!

    WE can “use” more like them…

    They make America proud!

    YES.WE.CAN…DO.(Much)More, Together!

  20. I am not so sure it is good and I am not so sure it is bad. I think it gives the Republicans an out of the noose they put around their own necks and I really do not want them to get off so easily. I also do not trust the “Iceman” McConnell so I cannot believe it gives us anything. They would be rehashing each $700B all over again which will distract us from other important issues.

    On the other hand, it stabilizes the markets and kicks the can down the road.

    I think we have come so far, I don’t want to give up now.

  21. It has sparked a civil war in the GOP and the T-baggers. Many see this as a stab in Cantor’s back; Red State is tweeting calling for Mcconnell’s head; the Newt is seething; Dreamworks is flaming Mcconnell. And now with the latest refusal by POTUS to guarantee in an interview that social security checks for seniors and veterans will go out on August 3rd, POTUS is really delivering killer blow to a GOP in total chaos.

    In the end if they do let potus get a blank check, I have no doubt he will play that hand very well. I have no doubt, he is a constitutional scholar and will see where the landmines are…but it an admission that the GOP is not ready for prime time. They cannot govern despite their rhetoric.

  22. Not to flog KO, as he’s not our favorite, but he’s going to have a Special Comment tonight over the Murdoch scandal. Big deal, right? Well, this is why: At the end of a discussion about the News Corporation phone hacking scandals, Olbermann announced he’d have a special commentary for Tuesday’s show. He said he’d discuss, “Why decent people work or worked there and how Murdoch used blackmail to control his employees and keep whistleblowers quiet. Employees like me. I was blackmailed.”

    Rupert’s an avalanche that’s gaining more momentum. Man.

  23. LL thanks for this ongoin’ ‘MurdochGate’ updates!

    God don’t like ugly…

    The walls *ARE* closin’ in on him!

    More and more past and current ‘blackmailed’ employees will be “comin’ out of the woodwork!”

    Yes, Murdoch/Ailes’ Fox “News” *IS* “goin’ down”…Grrr!

    YES.WE.CAN…DO.(Much)More, Together!

  24. Breaking McConnel’s let Obama reise the debt deal, O>=.K let’s go mr president.

  25. Yes, I do. Did i write Spielberg’s company?? Oh no, I mean freedom works…thank you..lol.

  26. I understand…

    If I had a TV, I probably would be watchin’ him, too! 😉

    By the way, how did you get that “movin'” smiley?

  27. Prosthetics are going totally wowza! I have a niece who is a double amputee and she has various prosthetics that let her do sports like skiing, bike riding etc. She swims, she even jogs.

  28. WHAT A BEAUTIFUL MOMENT IN CELEBRATION AND GREAT HONOR OF A SELFLESS AMERICAN HERO! MAY GOD DEEPLY BLESS SGT. PETRY AND HIS FAMILY AND ALL OF OUR MILITARY MEN AND WOMEN. THESE PICTURES ARE AMAZING AND THE FINAL ONE SAYS IT ALL!

  29. I would. A friend of my brother’s lost an eye to an accident when he was just a Kiddo. ‘L’ was the kindest best person you would ever what to know. He did community law work for years, practically helping people for free. He’s retired now.

  30. The incredible sacrifice our men and women have made in 10 yrs, unbelievable.

    I cried through the whole thing.

    May God bless our troops, wounded, and killed.

    May God bless their families.

    May God bless president Obama and his family.

    May God Bless the USA.

    Thank you, BWD.

    Your love and devotion is 2nd to none.

  31. More on McConnell’s plan. Apparently it’s been endorsed by none other than–wait for it–GROVER EFFIN NORQUIST. TPM received an email which makes an astute observation about what this means for Norquist’s desire to obliterate government:

    I think you guys have buried the lede a bit in your excellent reporting on the debt ceiling, specifically regarding Norquist’s endorsement.

    It seems to me that the “starve the beast” method of governance, often cited as the motivation for the Bush tax cuts, has been obliterated. Norquist’s raison d’etre was advocacy for huge tax-cut driven deficits, which could only be resolved by dismantling the welfare state.

    As of three days ago, Norquist had won. The Republicans apparently had an offer in hand that included previously-unthinkable cuts to Medicare and Social Security, and all they had to concede was new revenues to the tune of less than a quarter of the cost of the Bush tax cuts.

  32. I think the GOP just blinked, those guys have no idea who are they dealing with the smatest man in the planet.

  33. Obama will use this issue against the gop over and over they are playing with our lives.
    The Jet owners can afford to give a little and so the OIL INDUSTRY.
    Now a have a question for the PL are you for the GOP and against the Democrats?.
    In My opinion the are for the GOP.

  34. Hey, some of that is already happening. I don’t have the link but Docs in the UK have successfully grown a new trachea for a man with his own stem cells. Warp drive is okay but I really, really, really want a transporter so I never have to fly again.

  35. Fuck Norquist he does not own this country, why doesn’t he run for President and see what hapened so tires of those assholes.

  36. I’m an elder and I will disrespect his sorry little butt all I want. I sent him an email to the effect of what you just said. I like Bernie but he has gotten on one of my last nerves!

  37. Do you think he’ll eat crow for blasting the President last night. I told him on the gos site that I was glad LOD took his spot on MSNBC. His toadies did not like it.

  38. THE PRESIDENT’S EXECUTIVE ORDER ON IMPROVING AND STREAMLINING REGULATION BY INDEPENDENT REGULATORY AGENCIES…

    [Yesterday], PRESIDENT OBAMA TOOK THE NEXT STEP IN HIS AMBITIOUS AND UNPRECEDENTEDLY OPEN PROCESS FOR STREAMLINING, IMPROVING, AND ELIMINATING REGULATIONS – by issuing a new Executive Order asking the independent regulatory agencies, including the Consumer Product Safety Commission, the Federal Trade Commission, the Federal Communications Commission, and the Securities and Exchange Commission, to take new steps to ensure smart, cost-effective regulations, designed to promote economic growth and job creation.

    In a historic initiative, THE PRESIDENT HAS REQUESTED THE INDEPENDENT AGENCIES TO PRODUCE PLANS TO REASSESS AND TO STREAMLINE THE EXISTING REGULATIONS, and to disclose those plans for public scrutiny. In addition, the President has asked the independent agencies to follow the cost-saving, burden-reducing principles in his January Executive Order on improving regulation.

    With [yesterday’s] action, THE PRESIDENT HAS TAKEN STRONG STEPS TO IMPROVE AND REDUCE RULES ON THE BOOKS, and also to improve new rules going forward. With full respect for the independence of the independent agencies and for their impressive efforts in the recent past, the President has asked for their collaboration in the creation of a twenty-first century regulatory system, using state-of-the-art tools and smart approaches to protect public welfare while promoting economic growth and job creation.

    We’ve already begun to get some positive feedback from heads of the independent regulatory agencies, regulatory experts, and members of the President’s Council on Jobs and Competitiveness, which has been a major advocate for streamlining the regulatory system in order to stimulate job creation…

    Cass Sunstein is the Administrator of the Office of Information and Regulatory Affairs

    http://www.whitehouse.gov/blog/2011/07/11/president-s-executive-order-improving-and-streamlining-regulation-independent-regula
    _______________________________________________________________________

    Despite this TeaPublican obstructionism and craziness, each and every day, PBHO, our MultiTasker-In-Chief, and his Admin ARE hard at work…

    Let’s DO SOMETHIN’ to “make his load much lighter”…WHAT?

    YES.WE.CAN…DO.(Much)More, Together!

  39. Not to take anything away from Obama, because he pushed them to the bring, but the stock market is tanking on the stupidity of the Repubs. Hard to keep saying it’s fine to let the US default on its debt when the stock market is tanking.

  40. i believe you were right, jojo. LOD has actual experience working in Congress, and, imo, that makes a difference when discussing the policies and procedures that are used in the body. Outrage is easy, thinking, possessing, processing,and retaining knowledge and using logic over emotion is more difficult to finesse. This was one of my main complaints about my students when I was teaching: they only wanted to remember information until a quiz or test was over, and they never wanted any why, explain, or what if questions. The sad thing about it was that the parents felt the same way. Most of the students and their parents favored sports over learning. When I retired in 2009, there was little respect for learning for the sake of learning at the school. It’s sad when it seems that the only person in a classroom who is really interested in, and values, learning is the teacher and a few students.

  41. AQ911, right on…

    The other day, I called his office, and I left him a message!

    I don’t know if he got it or not.

    Oh wait…. 😕

    YES.WE.CAN…DO.(Much)More, Together!
    I’M IN…FIRED UP & GOIN’! 😉

  42. They haven’t blinked quite yet, but they are fluttering their eyes.

    LL, you are too funny. I really did laugh out loud on that one…

  43. I stopped watching him. He disrespects POTUS. He is such a bombastic loud mouth, he one of the PL that never votes or mix with the real base yet they claim to speak for it.

  44. I rather enjoy flying. It’s the “stuck in rush-hour traffic” that I could do without. Beam me back and forth to work. Everything else could stay the same…

  45. So am I, mel. Having a member of Congress sign a pledge to any person/group should be cause for immediate forced resignation. It’s impossible to pledge to uphold the Constitution and to tear it down at the same time, which is what Norquist’s pledge does, and that stupid pledge on marriage, homosexuality, family values, slavery, etc that that nut vander Platts has created in Iowa, along with all of the other rw “pledges.”

  46. But he’d be smiling that wicked, blinding smile while he gave you your bus fare and a couple extra dollars for a hot dog and a coke.

    He would probably call to make sure you got home safely.

  47. smilingl8y thanks so much for the link…

    I had forgotten about the possibility of it bein’ online!

    That “old age” catchin’ up to me. 😆

    YES.WE.CAN…DO.(Much)More, Together!

  48. LL can you report back if you watch, please. I am really interested to see if this scandal comes here. And more importantly if people in this country will be brave enough to speak up.

    I have a hard time believing that people in Murdoch’s operation here were not engaged is similar acts.

    sorry.

  49. This was such a beautiful ceremony. Obama knocks my socks off as usual. Petrie too. Two amazing men. Petrie’s prosthetic hand looked awesome. He was even able to move his thumb to allow a handshake. It would be interesting to know more about the science behind it.

  50. I heard Lawrence add something else in discussing McConnell’s plan.

    Here’s what Lawrence O’Donnell said:

    The President would have to identify EVERY cut he’s willing to make but….. would NOT be required to make the cuts.

    O’Donnell thinks it’s brilliant and it’s a major ‘win’.

    From reading your link, adding McConnell’s provision as Lawrence explained it, here’s how it’s hitting me: The big win, of course, is that we have a clean bill for raising the debt ceiling. But even though inside-the-beltway and those of us engaged understand that Obama would not have to make any of the cuts he’s proposing, those cuts go on the books as Obama ideas.

    I hate being in the position to have to say that Obama knows he doesn’t have to make any of these cuts so it’s all theater. It feels convoluted to me. They want to hang these drastic cuts around Obama’s neck and that just writes the commercials for them.

    Now the other side, of course, is that Republicans are not serious about deficits. They have given that up by saying they’ll do anything, even forego cuts in order to preserve tax cuts for the wealthy and crony welfare.

    Republicans lie. Republicans lie very well and understand how to toot the dog whistle. Will independents pay enough attention to realize what the President has accomplished?

    Also, the series of hoops, whether they’re veto-proof or not, keeps this issue in the forefront, politically. If the Democrats are prepared to start messaging this properly and keep their messaging out there, we can do this.

  51. You can do the research for all of us!!!!! File a nice report and you will be excused for this one-time transgression.

  52. I agree completely on the effectiveness of Democratic messaging.

    Here’s what I see (and I like it): The Democrats are not marching in lockstep the way Republicans do. It is the job of congress people to make sure their supporters understand that serious changes to Medicare and Social Security and other burdens on the middle and lower classes will not be tolerated. Without calling the President names. Without doing damage to his negotiating position. They are all walking and chewing gum at the same time.

    I saw the same fine line being walked by Leo Gerard as a union leader on the radio yesterday.

    Same thing with Thom Hartmann yesterday.

    They are operating on two tracks, and God bless ’em. They are still protecting the programs that Democrats hold dear without doing harm to our President, and most significantly, turning it all back on Republicans. Every time they speak they are pushing OUR agenda.

    Wow. Just wow.

  53. Aw, damn it. I just wrote a comment that I thought Democrats were behaving very well.

    Damn it, Bernie. Could you make a phone call to the WH first and get the inside scoop before going off the deep end?

  54. It’s going to take a few days to figure out exactly what McConnell’s up to and the implications. By the time we figure it out, he’ll have changed his mind.

  55. We are talking about a MASTER TACTICIAN here. He has forced the Teapubs to capitulate and he knows who his LEFTY enemies are going into election season. He has taken notes and all accounted for. The enemy Left will be disposed of believe me. I am trusting this man more and more as the DAYS pass by. Boy, God blessed us with a good one. We have to work to keep him in the WH. Obama/Biden 2012!!

  56. Thought they signed an oath to the Constitution of the United States. When did that take a back seat to some piece of paper from Norquist?

  57. Hey, my friend, Blackwater-pup, this may be off topic from this wonderful post, but based on today’s news (i.e. Obama Victory) regarding the debt ceiling: Doesn’t it now appear that if Obama is a “bad” negotiator that he must also be the “luckiest” negotiator in the history of planet Earth? LOL!

    But seriously, when will THEY learn?

    — Obama “lets the GOP cut 38 billion!” — Turns out government spending increased by 4 billion thanks to this ‘deficit reduction’ bill. Ha!

    — THE CATFOOD COMMISSION!! ZOMG! — Eh, there is goes right down the memory hole with “The Iraq Study Group”, never to be heard from again. Gee, didn’t see that coming!

    — Oh, and my favorite: “ELENA KAGAN will move the SCOTUS to the right! SHE has no record! Obama has nominated a closet conservative, LIKE HIM! Quick, visit my PayPal page!!” Uh, yeah, so far she has been to the left of Ruth Bader Ginsburg! Again, didn’t see that coming!

    ALL OF THIS, every last bit was sound and fury signifying nothing but elitist-lefty hand-wringing. Again, I ask: When will they learn?

  58. Re: transformers – I just don’t want to end up with my nose on my forehead…

  59. That’s my problem with Bernie Sanders today. He’s got direct access to the White House. He has a vote in Congress. But instead of moving the process forward, he chose political theater, instead. So disappointing. He could have used that microphone to bash Republicans for what they’re doing to this country, but instead, he used it to bash the President and make his job harder. Why do they do this every.single.time!

  60. They probably did!

    But, they probably didn’t read it…

    So, they probably don’t know what’s in it nor what it says! 😉

    YES.WE.CAN…DO.(Much)More, Together!

  61. And the noose tightens on Rupie…

    A powerful U.S. senator with jurisdiction over privacy and telecommunications issues late Tuesday urged regulators to look into whether News. Corp. had violated any U.S. laws when its British journalists gained unauthorized access to several individuals’ voice mails to pursue stories.

    “The reported hacking by News Corporation newspapers against a range of individuals–including children–is offensive and a serious breach of journalistic ethics,” said Senate Commerce, Science & Transportation Chairman John D. Rockefeller in a press statement.

    Article here: http://goo.gl/HDXoE

  62. I stopped watch KO and RM ever since they disrespected the President. I don’t watch the Sunday Republicans on Parade shows either. I watch Sunday Morning on CBS and that’s it.

  63. That’s what I was thinking. It must be such a pleasure for the President to spend time with decent hardworking courageous people.

  64. Ok, I think the eye fluttering I alluded to earlier has become a full on spasm of blinking.

    House Speaker John Boehner (R-OH) has given what seems like a stamp of approval to Senate Minority Leader Mitch McConnell’s (R-KY) fallback strategy to avoid a catastrophic default on U.S. debt.

    “His idea if we can’t get there, none of us believe we ought to default on the full faith and credit of the United States government,” Boehner said. “I think that idea and there are other ideas out there in terms of backup plans. In case we can’t come to an agreement…. Everybody believes there needs to be a backup plan if we are unable to come to an agreement. I think Mitch has done good work.”

    Article here: http://goo.gl/1gakw

  65. I hope you’re right – I live in CA-36, pay lots of taxes here, campaign here – but can’t vote!! Very frustrating.

  66. I “missed” it, too…

    It came on when O’Donnell’s, ‘The Last Word’ was on 😕

    YES.WE.CAN…DO.(Much)More, Together!

  67. So what’s happening in those WI recall elections and the CA election ? For all that noise at dkos, all I hear is the deafening silence on these crucial elections.

  68. Yeah, they “blinked”…

    But, McChinless *IS* evil!

    DON’T BELIEVE ‘IM, DON’T TRUST ‘EM! 👿

    YES.WE.CAN…DO.(Much)More, Together!

  69. Have heard nothing about the WI recalls. Polls here in California close at 8 p.m. in 90 minutes’ time, so we should know soon after. My library was a polling place for CA-36, and at least when I was there the turnout was very light.

  70. @Shoq: @lawrence gets it. McConnell deal is simply a complete win for Obama. Optics are complicated. @theReidReport will explain it

    [PRESIDENT] OBAMA PLAYS THE SENIORS CARD, SAYS SOCIAL SECURITY CHECKS MAY NOT BE IN THE MAIL WITHOUT DEBT HIKE… http://blog.reidreport.com/2011/07/obama-plays-the-seniors-card-says-social-security-checks-may-not-be-in-the-mail-without-debt-hike/#more-25657

    Now, where’s O”Donnell’s ‘The Last Word’ vid clip…Hmmm? 😉

    YES.WE.CAN…DO.(Much)More, Together!

  71. Here are WI results. Remeber, these are Dem primaries. In each of these there was a real Dem and a fake dem. I am going to try to figure out which is which, but my guess is the real dem is winning each of them

    State Senate – District 8 – Dem Primary
    July 12, 2011 – 08:44PM CT
    Wisconsin – 12 of 77 Precincts Reporting – 16%
    Name Party Votes Vote %
    Pasch , Sandra Dem 2,464 75%
    Huber , Gladys Dem 820 25%

    State Senate – District 10 – Dem Primary
    July 12, 2011 – 08:41PM CT
    Wisconsin – 0 of 110 Precincts Reporting – 0%
    Name Party Votes Vote %
    Moore , Shelly Dem 0 0
    Weix , Isaac Dem 0 0

    State Senate – District 14 – Dem Primary
    July 12, 2011 – 08:41PM CT
    Wisconsin – 18 of 128 Precincts Reporting – 14%
    Name Party Votes Vote %
    Clark , Fred Dem 1,202 61%
    Church , Rol Dem 779 39%

    State Senate – District 18 – Dem Primary
    July 12, 2011 – 08:41PM CT
    Wisconsin – 9 of 110 Precincts Reporting – 8%
    Name Party Votes Vote %
    King , Jessica Dem 2,415 66%
    Buckstaff , John Dem 1,268 34%

    State Senate – District 32 – Dem Primary
    July 12, 2011 – 08:41PM CT
    Wisconsin – 12 of 119 Precincts Reporting – 10%
    Name Party Votes Vote %
    Shilling , Jennifer Dem 756 72%
    Smith , James Dem 294 28%

  72. Went to jsonline. What is important here and possibly telling for the real election against the Rebulicans, is that this is an open primary and there was a big effort to get people out to vote for the fake Dm. It did work and appears not to even have come close.

  73. More heat on rupie right in us of a.

    A KEY US senator called for a probe into whether alleged hacking by Rupert Murdoch’s media empire had extended to US citizens and warned of “severe” consequences if that proved the case.

    “I encourage the appropriate agencies to investigate to ensure that Americans have not had their privacy violated,” senate commerce committee chairman Jay Rockefeller said.

    “I am concerned that the admitted phone hacking in London by the News Corp may have extended to 9/11 victims or other Americans. If they did, the consequences will be severe,” said Rockefeller, a Democrat.

    http://www.theaustralian.com.au/news/world/senator-calls-for-us-hacking-probe/story-e6frg6so-1226093671539

  74. Excellent. If the fake ones even get double digit percentage voters, then the dems and the unions better double up their efforts in the actual elections.

  75. I think any total for the fakes under 30% is a big win. Rememebr, the Republicans have spent a lot of money promoting their fake candidates and push to get Republicans out there to vote.

  76. I feel this bombshell about Murdoch is another good thing for honest reporting. As this issue keeps snowballing, hopefully people will see that Fox is not credible as well.

  77. LOD lays it out so perfectly. I hadn’t seen McConnell’s presser. Seeing him it’s obvious that it’s a complete capitulation. He’s lost, and he knows it.

  78. McConnell is grasping at straws and aiming for the only solution that allows him the political “advantage” of hammering on the president.

    President Obama’s Social Security check comments (and disability, etc., — 70 million checks a month) have really rattled the Republicans., and he made them on CBS, the non-cable network most watched by seniors. 70 million people without their August checks is a lot of hurting, angry, frightened people, and Republicans are figuring out who those people are going to blame.

    I think the GOP has already lost this battle, and if it’s not checkmate already, it soon will be.

  79. I BELIEVE that, too…

    Eventually, they will believe it, too! ;)!

    @mmfa (Media Matters), @stopbeck, @colorofchange and others *ARE* workin’ on “bringin’ down” Fox “News!” (Media Matters is located on the TOAITR’s Blogroll!)

    Home

    YAHOO! :lo:

    YES.WE.CAN…DO.(Much)More, Together!

  80. A wonderful event recognizing a brave man. Two patriotic Americans in these pictures.

  81. Yeah, he does!

    But, McChinless & Co. have tried to “make it seem otherwise!”

    I guess that’s where Frank Luntz or Grover Norquist come into play…

    Maybe, he helped “come up” w/that McChinless’ ‘Contingency’ Plan! 🙄

    YES.WE.CAN…DO.(Much)More, Together!

  82. This is great amk!! And apparently Hahn (D) has won the CA-36 special election!!! All the precincts haven’t reported yet, but she has an early lead 54-46, and she is said to be leading by 8 among absentee ballots.

  83. From now until Nov ’12, that’s the way it should be against these TeaPublicans…

    And, I mean in every state…WI, MI, FL, OH, AZ, et al!

    GO Team 2012 GO! 😀

    YES.WE.CAN…DO.(Much)More, Together!
    I’M IN…FIRED UP & GOIN’! 😉

  84. I don’t think she’ll win by double digits. Before Jane Harman, the GOP represented the district. It’s a bluish-purple district. But, still, a pretty good result at any rate.

  85. Shorter BBC correspondent: The markets aren’t freaked by the Eurozone itself, but by governments’ inability to coalesce around a solution to the Greek crisis.

  86. Sure Keith’s special comment on Murdoch was worth watching. I missed it, though, because I turned it off when he had that ex-military something or other on who said the President “lacked courage” in the debt ceiling debate — *this* President.

  87. nice to see them beset by civil war!!! Some of these smug teabagger nutjobs who got elected to Congress in 2010 are downright scary in their zealotry. It will be fascinating to see how they wiggle out of this mess they they deliberately created . .

  88. Hi Majii, my Moms always told me “give me my flowers while I’m here” and I try and do that everyday for real or metaphorically by calling and saying I love you and here’s your flowers for the day”…She likes it and it’s a small thing to do.

  89. Now conservatives & libdems join labour in blocking rupie, the motherfucker’s takeover of bskyb.

    The Conservatives and Lib Dems are set to back a Labour motion urging Rupert Murdoch to withdraw his bid for BSkyB.

    They will call on Mr Murdoch’s News Corporation to do so in the “public interest” while alleged phone hacking at the News of the World is probed.

    Prime Minister David Cameron is also set to detail the terms of a public inquiry into the hacking scandal.

    In a Commons statement, he is expected to outline the remit of the judicial probe and possibly who will head it.

    Labour says the unanimous support of MPs for News Corporation to pull out of a bid for the broadcaster will send a “clear message” to Mr Murdoch.

    It comes after Mr Cameron met Deputy Prime Minister Nick Clegg and Labour leader Ed Miliband at Downing Street to discuss the hacking scandal on Tuesday.

    Metropolitan Police Commissioner Sir Paul Stephenson is believed to have updated the three men on the current state of the police inquiry into hacking claims when he visited No 10.

    http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/mobile/uk-politics-14131555

    What a sweet schadenfreude as this punk’s hold on news media is slipping away.

  90. the comments were anti-Obama; why can the people of the USA not realize this is the R’s fault?

  91. Greetings TOD family! Just heard from the campaign…$47,000,000 ($47 million) raised in the first three months! And that’s just to OFA. When you include the $38,000,000 we also donated to the DNC we put $86,000,000 ($86 million) into the President’s and other democrats re-election/election campaign funds! Wow! Incredible! This is amazing! Proud to be one of those more than half-a-million supporters who donated small amounts to this campaign and ended up with such a big number! Yes, we can…do this again!! Is féidir linn, fo’ sho’!! 🙂

  92. Janice Hahn (D) won 54.6 to 45.4. Also 6 real dems won in all six dem primaries in WI recall elections. All in all, a great day for dems 🙂

  93. Yep, just got the same e-mail. I am a proud contributor as well. Go OFA!! 🙂

  94. Got a video mail from Jim Messina just now on the first quarter donations.

    552,462 people donated $ 47 million for OFA and $ 38 million for DNC. 98% of donations were less than $ 250. Average donation is $ 69. Totally $ 86 million for first quarter woo hoo.

  95. Okay guyz and gals. I am off to Kenya (yeah, that Kenya) – South Africa – UK on a 3 week business tour. Not sure when I can visit bwd’s blog in this interim. Feeling great about yesterday and today’s news.

    Be good to bwd. 🙂

  96. Have a wonderful trip, amk, and thank you so much for your thoughts of the past week+. I hope that your trip is a great success!

Leave a comment