98 thoughts on “:)

  1. Yippe, I am first! Going to deliver a bag of food to the postman.

    I believe before this year is out, there will be more jobs, clean energy jobs, more jobs in new industries, an increase in small businesses who can provide healthcare to their employees and the price of gasoline will be down to $3.25 a gallon, but more people will be driving electric cars. I am going full electric car this year.

    Thank you President Obama!

  2. Love that. I can’t figure out how to get the coding off that so I can pass it on, however. Help!

  3. Thanks for remembering the postal carriers food drive, jjtc!! I made my contribution on yesterday. There are a lot of hungry families out there that the GOP members of Congress would rather not hear about.

  4. I click on the YouTube icon and select copy url. I just posted it to my FB page, so it works. I must confess, osg, that I’m almost 100% computer illiterate, but I’m learning slowly.

  5. Never mind as it showed up on the e-mail. Already sending it around.

  6. I usually click on the embed code and can pick it up, but that didn’t work. Never thought about clicking on the icon. I’ll try that next time. It’s a good ad, isn’t it?!

  7. Govs Christie and Scott are tanking in the polls and the conservaties are begging them to run for President! LOL.

  8. And remeber McConells game is to get the president nvolved early in the debt Ceiling vote. Get POTUS bogged down in details and then pull the rug out from underneath him(letting the debt ceiling fail), and then blame the double dip on him!
    That is what McCoenell is up to.

  9. BWD just perfect, and thank you, now can we say all together YES we can in 2012 of course.
    We are all IN and I hope the DNC plyas a vidion clip where they call us unamericans, because wo do not support the BILLIONS of dollars in subsidies.Those CEO”s are a bunch of crips, and they should send their children and grandchildren to fight wars just as we did.

  10. Wow, why did John King, when reporting that the President was going to announce that UBL was dead, look like he was reporting that someone killed his puppy? Jeesh, even Geraldo was jubilant on FNN.

  11. PBO will most likely do with the debt ceiling issue the same thing he did on the budget issue earlier this year–let the members of Congress take the lead with VP Biden doing the dem negotiating with the republicans. I remember how over 60 members of the Senate wrote to the president begging him to take the lead on the budget, but he refused, and rightly so. The Constitution mandates that Congress has to take the lead on budget issues or on anything having to do with the spending of taxpayers’ monies. McConnell can continue howling at the moon because I think PBO learned something about revealing his hand too soon in dealing with republicans over the past couple years. I fully support the president not getting too involved in the negotiations at this point for the same reason you pointed out–McConnell wants the president to be the fall guy. That’s partly what that letter the 42 GOP freshmen sent to PBO earlier this week was all about. They hate PBO, but at the same time, they want him to provide political cover for their voting for the Ryan budget so they have a chance at keeping their seats in the 2012 elections. As far as I’m concerned, they can go suck a duck’s butt.

  12. One theory is that he was drunk and called in to duty because the big news was breaking.

  13. Because PBO did kill that “puppy” that the GOP had been using as a political football since September 11, 2011. King exposed, on air, how his patriotism is only for America when the GOP accomplishes something big, and he wasn’t the only “news” commentator to do it, either.

  14. I am so excited for the coming year, and so nervous. I don’t want to seem complacent, or too confident, it will be a race it always is. I do strongly believe Mr. Obama will be re-elected in a big way i just don’t want to over react in any manner. Talk about being nervous WOW!! and we still have more than a year to go, I hope i can make it without aging 5 years and get more ulcers.

  15. ROH, I know how you feel. Sometimes I am like a kid in the backseat of a car saying “Are we there yet”? …When it comes to 2012.

    But we just have to be patient and work as hard as we can to get this outstanding man re-elected.

    Keep the Faith.

  16. I think Huckabee is going to announce he’s running. His top aides from his last campaig saying they don’t think he’s going to run is all part of the roll out. Gingrich, Pawlenty, Romney and Paul’s official announcements have all fallen flat and got no real coverage because they were all expected. Huck is playing it differently – nobody really knows what he’s going to do so he can make a legit splash when he announces he WILL run.

    Announcing his decision live on his show wouldn’t make sense if he was passing on the race – it would be bad optics. However announcing he will run in front of a cheering audience and then getting the “Wow, Huck IS running and what does that mean for Obama” coverage tomorrow will be a much more effective roll out than we’ve seen from any of the other candidates.

    Huck running would end Pawlenty’s candidacy, probably Daniels as well before he even announces. Newt would be finished as well. Huck would win Iowa, SC and potentially Florida – leaving NH and Nevada to Romney before Super Tuesday.

  17. Does anyone know if these latest efforts at the state level to disenfranchise voters for 2012 are unconstitutional, and will the DOJ go after this? I’m really worried about this.

  18. THIS AD IS DOUBLE AWESOME…TRIPLE…QUADRUPLE….I LOVE IT!!!!!! THIS IS WHAT WE NEED TO BE DOING…SHOWING ALL THE REAL THINGS THE PRESIDENT HAS DONE…LET THE REPUBLICANS RUN THEIR DIRTY ADS…WE HAVE ‘THE REAL THING’ ON OUR SIDE…I HOPE THEY MAKE SOME ADS WITH HIM CONVERSING WITH THE PEOPLE HE CONTACTED ON THEIR HEALTHCARE CASES…THERE ARE SEVERAL HEARTWARMING CALLS THAT WERE TAPED OUT THERE!!!! THIS IS WHAT WE NEED TO BE RUNNING!!!!YEEEEEEEEEEEEEHAAAAAAAAAAAAAH!!!!!! I’M HAPPY…SO HAPPPPPPY! THESE ADS WILL REMIND THE PEOPLE OF ALL THE WONDERFUL THINGS PRESIDENT OBAMA HAS DONE!

  19. Good Afternoon my dear family here at BWD. Joyous Sat. to all of you. And a big thank you continues to go out to our wonderful BWD. I just received an e mail to write a letter to one of my local papers on the west coast, and I did so. I am a senior, and I wrote a nice letter but very firm to my Rep. Dreier. I will also make a phone call to his office since they are home this week. It feels so good to do something to back our hardworking President. The letter was about cutting Medicare and placing a cap on it. I will inform my family here if the letter is posted in the paper. We just have to find ways to serve our nation and our President in any positive way that we can. Pray that my letter is publish in the newspaper. I love you all, and thanks for allowing the seniors to be in your wonderful company here on this blog.

  20. What a wonderful ad. I was just talking to someone who was so frustrated that the Dems ran away from all that was accomplished in his first two years. This is an historic Presidency and the Dems need to open their eyes. I do believe PBO is going to assist them in that endeavor.😉

  21. Yeah, it’s really wishful thinking on my part. Signs all point to the opposite, that he’ll announce that he is staying at Fox, and it gets “crazier” because the Iowa/SC primaries are wide open.

  22. I know in my gut that the site that shall not me named is filled with these.

    “Right-Wing Sock Puppets Pretending to Be Liberals Assault Progressive Websites”

    {Snip}
    Our only protection against such ersatz assaults is to use our heads and common sense: if someone is a little ‘too’ enraged at Obama and the Democrats, be suspicious, especially if they never talk about Republicans. Ask them a couple of polite intelligent questions on the comment thread’s topic; if they respond by condemning or insulting you for questioning them rather than engaging you, they’re likely a sock-puppet troll; it’s in their nature to consider any question or disagreement as tantamount to treason. Also, if they keep reposting basically the same idea in one comment thread, they’re probably a sock-puppet troll; they’ve been instructed by their masters that repetition works. And don’t be swayed if they accuse you of being a ‘shill’ or ‘troll’ for questioning them — they are trained to do that.

    Finally, always remember: you can pretend to be a progressive, but you can’t pretend to be smart, and these paid ‘blog warriors’ decidedly aren’t.

    http://readersupportednews.org/pm-section/78-78/5872-right-wing-sock-puppets-pretending-to-be-liberals-assault-progressive-websites

  23. Crazy is good.

    Remember the Bush administration’s logic during the Iraq War? Increased suicides bombings meant good news because the insurgents were getting desperate at the progress made by the Coalition. Decreased bombings were also good news. So, anything that happened in country was good news. It was a quite silly stance to take.

    However, this GOP primary season might just play out along those lines, because the GOP field is so, well, silly. If Huckabee were to get in, the crazy would coalesce around him, thus giving an early target for the Obama campaign. If he doesn’t get in, then the crazy goes every which way, which will turn the GOP primaries into a captivating car wreck, as the candidates engage in brutal blood sport. Again, this would be good for Obama and the Dems in general.

    The Tea Party’s ascendancy has turned what should’ve been a relatively low key campaign — low key because most “major” candidates wouldn’t get in due to the difficulty of unseating a sitting president — into a marvelous carnival of insanity. I won’t watch any of the debates, because I might throw things at the television, but I will definitely read the recaps and chortle.

  24. What has happened to links?? When first I subscribed, I could click on a link, and view a video. Now I must copy the long list of symbols, go to browser, insert the list into browser, hit Go……and 90% of the time the browser reports that it cannot find what I am looking for.

  25. I have to click on the “view comments” at the bottom of the original email. Then I get the black background and can open any of the links. Try that.

  26. I’ll say it again. I would never, I repeat, NEVER, play poker with this President!!!

  27. Thanks for posting that. I saved the link for future use; I’ve seen time and time again “progressives” post on a website I visit claiming to be soooo disappointed in Pres Obama and saying they won’t vote for him. They then use right wing talking points (Obama is weak, bows to terrorists, is arrogant, etc) and that makes me not trust them.

    It’s good to have this link to refer to.

  28. Majll, your commentary provided excellent insight into the games the Republicans are playing. We must continue to support our president.

  29. Thanks Jovie for sharing L. O’s powerful statement! This needs to be seen by as many people as possible. Thanks also for the great work you do in unearthing and sharing valuable information on this site.

  30. Wonderful ad. With all the voter suppression bills in the works by the GOP (the next best thing to going back to the days when only propertied white men could vote and blacks were only 3/5 people) we will need to start early: motivating, registering, getting people IDs. I think in the end people power can and will overwhelm corporate power.

  31. I could see the first 4-5 states all going to a different candidate.

  32. I seldom actually look at the debates but, rather, follow the live comments — they are almost always hilarious, especially on the Republican primary debates.

  33. Whew – my fingers almost wore out on that one.

    I will add links to these ads at my website on the video database page. I hope we can work these into facebook, twitter, blog posts, etc.

    I am starting to think the Democrats get it this time.

    These are ads worth contributing to.
    Go Democrats…

  34. Well done HZ! It’s gratifying to see seniors speaking out. The Ryan bill sought to placate today’s seniors because the GOP knows that seniors vote consistently. It’s focused on privatizing medicare for future seniors. I hope your letter is published.

  35. There’s progress in Israeli-Palestinian relations.

    Well, no, not in the political sphere, but instead in sports.

    From the AP:

    LAUSANNE, Switzerland (AP)—Israeli and Palestinian Olympic officials stepped up efforts to improve cooperation during a second round of talks with the IOC on Thursday.

    With free movement for athletes and coaches high on the agenda, Israeli officials promised to present their government a Palestinian proposal to help overcome travel restrictions imposed on their territories.

    International Olympic Committee President Jacques Rogge described the follow-up talks to a January summit as “frank and friendly.”

    “The IOC has an obligation to support measures to protect athletes and to use sport as a tool for peace and development,” Rogge said in a statement.

    Both parties agreed on the principle of lifting travel restrictions “taking into account the security issues in the region.”

    Four years ago, the Palestinian national team was eliminated from 2010 World Cup qualifying by forfeit after some team players could not travel to Singapore for a return match.

    Now the sides have built on a trip by Rogge last October to create regular dialogue.

    They agreed Thursday to create a hotline for improving communications between the two national Olympic committees.

    The IOC is promising increased funding from its Olympic Solidarity program to help more Palestinian athletes prepare for the 2012 London Games, with additional help from Israeli coaches and facilities.

    The Olympic Council of Asia has also teamed with the IOC to prepare a road map and funding for improving the Palestinians’ sports infrastructure.

    Israel and the Palestinians also want entry to the 2013 Mediterranean Games being staged in Turkey.

    After two meetings in Lausanne this year, future talks are likely in Ramallah and Tel Aviv.

    Baby steps, baby steps. I really look forward to PBO’s ME speech this week.

  36. Thanks BWD and WiW…

    Each ad tells a story… simple, informative, eye-openin’, and/or inspirational!

    And, PBHO made an AWESOME choice for the new DNC chair:

    YES.WE.CAN…DO.More, Together! (h/t Bobfr)😉
    YES.WE.CAN…Move America Forward & Win The Future!
    YES.WE.CAN, Again Make History…Obama/Biden 2012!

    FIRED UP & READY TO GO!🙂

  37. The ad at the top of this blog post is excellent. Hip, smart, and right on target….jobs,jobs, jobs and national security.

    I love the contrast to Newt’s “Hi there. I’m running.” youtube video.

  38. ^Betsy,

    I understand your concern. ::Virtual Hugs:: But,…

    The new DNC Chair, Debbie W. Schultz, is fully aware of what the TeaPublican Party is tryin’ to do:

    And, most likely, she will bring the appropriate legal actions against them!

    YES.WE.CAN…DO.More, Together! (h/t Bobfr)😉
    YES.WE.CAN…Move America Forward & Win The Future!
    YES.WE.CAN, Again Make History…Obama/Biden 2012!

    FIRED UP & READY TO GO!🙂

  39. I just thought of something that amused me. Wasn’t the electorate supposed to be on pins and needles at this point, wondering if Trump were going to announce his run in June?

    Anybody hearing anything about … what was his name, again? … Trump?

    I’m not. Maybe I’m just not going under the right rock for more news on the great fail … er … run of 2011.

  40. ^WiW, yeah she is…

    She’s spittin’ him out, and she’s ready for more! lol

    YES.WE.CAN…DO.More, Together! (h/t Bobfr)😉
    YES.WE.CAN…Move America Forward & Win The Future!
    YES.WE.CAN, Again Make History…Obama/Biden 2012!

    FIRED UP & READY TO GO!🙂

  41. FIRED UP…!!

    READY TO GO..!!!😀

    +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
    +++++++++++++#######+++++++++++++++++
    +++++++++++############+++++++++++++++
    ++++++++++###############+++++++++++++
    +++++++++#####++++++++###++++++++++++
    ++++++++###++++++++++++###+++++++++++
    ++++++++##++++++++++++++###++++++++++
    +++++++##+++++++++++++++####+++++++++
    +++++++#+++++++++++++++++###+++++++++
    ++++++##+++++++++++++++++####++++++++
    ++++++#+++++++++++++++##++@##++++++++
    +++++##++++++++++++############+++++++
    +++++##++++++++#+++##+####+####+++++++
    +++++##++++#####+++#++#####+####+++++++
    +++++##+++##+###+++#+++****++####+++++
    +++++##+++++#++#+++#+++++++++##++++++
    +++++##++++@++++++++#+++++++##+#+++++
    +++++#+++++++++++++++#++++++##+#+++++
    ++++++#+++++++++++++#++++++####++++++
    ++++++##+++++++++++####++++####+++++++
    ++++++++++++++++@#+###++++++####+++++
    +++++##+#+++++++++++++++++++##+#+++++
    +++++#++++++++++++++##++++++####+++++
    +++++#+@++++++++++######++++##+++++++
    +++++#+#+#+++++++##+++#+++++##+++++++
    ++++++#++#++++++##+++###++++##+++++++
    +++++++#++++++++++++++++++#####++++++
    +++++++++#+++++++++++#++++#####++++++
    +++++++++++#+++++++++++++############++
    ++++++++++++#+++++++++++#############++
    +++++++++++++#++++++++###############++
    ++++++++++++++##++++########+########++
    +++++++++++++#++###########++########++
    +++++++++++###+++#########++#########++
    ++++++++#######++++######+++#########++
    ++++++#########+++++++##++++#########++
    +++++##########+++++###++++##########++
    +++############+++++#++++++##########++
    ++##############++++#++++++##########++
    ++##############++++++++++###########++
    +###############++++++++++###########++
    +############### ++++ +++++###########++
    +###############++++++#++############++
    +################+++++#++############++

  42. But he’s ‘charming’. That’s supposed to be good enough. Haven’t you heard?

  43. They’re not all trolls. Some respected diarists/commenters have totally jumped the shark on Obama. And if you can’t tell the difference between a troll and a looney progressive, then the troll has done his job.

  44. My pleasure…

    She’s D-Y-N-O-M-I-T-E!!! (In a “Good Time’s” Jimmie J.J. Walker’s best voice)😉

    FIRED UP & READY TO GO!🙂

  45. Thank you so much WIW for putting out these ads. Your hard work is greatly appreciated. And yes, I think the Dems do get it this time around. Could it be the influence of the fantastic Debbie Wasserman-Shulz. I think she is fantastic for the job.

    Again thanks so much for posting these clips. They sure have inspired me.

  46. Thanks Nate. I will continue to do all that I can. I’m 65 plus, and I have worked all of my life to try to live a decent and contributing life in my country, and I will not sit back when I’ve been so blessed and not speak up for me or any senior. They will not want to see me at their meetings this summer. I am ready to go.

  47. What I love about this ad is that it compresses all the excitement of the campaign into one ad and serves as a mini-camp of inspiration. Spreading this ad around will do some of the legwork for the President since he won’t be able to take the time to keep us inspired every day like he did before.

  48. How did they get permission to use the Hans Zimmer soundtrack from Batman Begins? I love that.

  49. She would make an even better Press Secretary.

    But whatever role, I LOVE HER.

  50. I agree…

    She wouldn’t “take any crap” from the WH Press Corp!😉

    But, she wouldn’t be able to keep her congressional House seat. She loves representin’ her Floridian constituents.

  51. Huck isn’t wunning. Waited until the last five minutes of his hour long show to say he’s taking his talents to South Beach.

    (I believe he did by a retirement mansion somewhere in Florida – thugh doubt it was South Beach)

  52. WIW, great work. Those ads have so much going for them. The ads attacking the Republicans don’t make wild claims and use their own words against thm. My favorite, non-Obama ad was the one about Democtrats and they being the party fighting for all sorts of good things.
    It’s the type of ads I have been hoping to see more of.
    According to BooMan, the new head of the Alabama Democratic Party is encouraging Democratic candidates to stop running from the President and his polices and start embracing them. Althoug BooMan is skeptical about the party’s chances in Alabama, it was till interesting to read.
    I definitely see more of a unified Dem Party thn I have seen for a long time.

  53. I remember waiting and waiting watching CNN that Sunday night and Wolf Blitzer was really trying not to give away the news but hinting really hard. Then John King came on and just blurted it out instead of letting the President report it. I was annoyed with John King, little wonder why PBO didn’t inform many people ahead of the Bin Laden raid.

  54. Do you really think Huckabee would lose badly? I remember a friend saying in 2008 she liked him best. She is a Republican. Lots of people think he is nice and do not dig any further.

  55. WIW = WOW 🙂

    Thanks for all your work especially when this site doesn’t have the preview facility for posts.

    huckster is out.

  56. Guess he’s going to ply his trade re-writing history texts…and then start a new band. Can’t wait.

  57. I have been a voyeur here for a while. Searching and searching for BWD. I did not seiously think she would desert PBHO. She could not do that and I knew it, so I kept looking for her. So ecstatic that BWD created a safe haven for us. And that she unashamedly and unapologeticly provide us with kool aid and jelly beans and arugula and alohas. Keeps me from climing under my couch. Raises my heart and spirits. BWD you are the win beneath my wings. I have aged at every step of the way. But I believe against belief that PBHO is covered by more than “The Force” as he is a force of nature. Between this BWD family and the whole “hopey changey” thing. I hoep no takes this wrong but I prayed and prayed for a mircale for him, I prayed BL would be caught on his watch. I also felt it was only a matter of time. He has not changed who he said he was despite what people were lisening to during his campaign. He was pretty cleark. He also made clear that “I am your president too.” I am overcome PBHO: continue to be who you are. To BWD you wear me out. To the BWD – you keep me grounded, not in quicksand or white noise but in relief and love of a common goal. Love you all! That.is.all Oh P.S. we are truly the ones. He can’t fight alone.

  58. These ads are great. The clips from the campaign bring back wonderful memories of the work so many hard-working people put in to get our great President elected. Boy was it worth it. Now if we could get the other half of the country to see him the way we do, we would have it made.

  59. Thanks OSGranny. I am happy to report my head is still attached to my body and my brain is doing it’s usual. Got to get my Hubby to take this test too, unless he scores higher. That would be a real bummer.

  60. Jackie, I truly believe that more and more are seeing that. People are feeling the real benefits of what PBO is doing. They are feeling energized. One thing I have been doing is trying to recruit volunteers to GOTV for 2012. When I was doing that for midterms 2010, I got yawns a lot of the time. Now I am getting “Count me in and what can I do” instead. A lot of these are young people who have not been that engaged in the past two years but really feel the need to do more now.

    We will never win over the racists, bigots and those who have rhetoric drilled into their heads like maggots looking for a feast. We need the young people and I think we are getting them one by one. I am so working on this and:

    YES WE CAN….DO THIS TOGETHER!

  61. I couldn’t agree more. That 111th session of Congress was one of the most productive, effective, and progressive in history. Hopefully this time around, Dems won’t away from those accomplishments, but will instead scream them from the rafters.

  62. This is really apparent; we’re in the midst of a humongous troll swarm, and spaces with few controls against the purity troll content have been pretty much overcome by it. It’s a shame, but what can we do but be the solution.

Leave a Reply

