“When president Obama was elected, she became interested in politics. She was a big fan of president Obama”

Sorry about the origin of this clip, and the line was quite bad – but this is truly heartbreaking interview with John Green, the father of 9 years old Christina, may she rest in peace.

Thanks heyjude104 for the link to Anderson Cooper’s program from last night.

The interview with the Green’s begins at the 28:00 mark of the show, and the portion where they speak about the call from President Obama begins at approximately 33:00 into the program.

**********************************************************************

76 thoughts on ““When president Obama was elected, she became interested in politics. She was a big fan of president Obama”

  1. May God be with Christina Taylor Greene and her family during this tragic time of grief and mourning.

    R.I.P.

  2. Thank you, BWD. She loved the president and so do we, so I feel a bond with her to honor.

  3. No need to apologize for the origin of this clip. Good is good. In my own view, this reporter did a sensitive and thorough job. Fox isn’t all bad…and never has been. It’s just polarized thinking that makes some of us more liberal-minded people think that it is.

  4. I went to the web-site of the Arizona Daily Star specifically to see what the comments were like. There were the expected negative comments stating this was all political, and the he doesn’t care about immigration, and he hates this country. I expected those.

    There were also several, including from professed conservatives, very supportive of his coming to Tucson, which I also expected.

    But what I found interesting is that the paper allows “thumbs up” and “thumbs down” ratings of the comments. And thos ethat expressed a negatuive viewpoint of the President or his motivation in coming were roundly voted down.

    In the past I never looked at those types of things, but I will in the future. It is easy to write a negative comment, but to see it roundly rejected by the majority of readers is heartwarming.

  5. Christina and I both became interested in politics because of President Obama. This whole thing is absolutely heart breaking. Every person touched by this devastation is in my thoughts and prayers.

  6. My heart aches for the parents of Christina. What a wonderful child. How will they manage all this pain? So much sorrow. To hear that PBO was able to comfort them is so deeply moving.

    You know, I just kept thinking as I was listening to that segment – when PBO was elected we all felt such joy and commitment to change. He had such a tremendous effect even on little children like Christina who simply wanted to look up to her President. We all simply want to feel joy for our President and pride and be grateful for him, for his compassion, for his leadership. And then I think about the forces that work so hard against that and wonder why. Why does this joy have to change and be ruined by right-wing insanity? I refuse to let this happen.

    I hope for peace for this family and all who have suffered and all who witnessed this horror.

  7. Is he having 2 events. I know he will visit the victims family and then the event at the university. what time is these events.

  8. This is why I am so appreciative of this space; the freedom to express that admiration and joy.

    I second your hopes for this family. I was too much of a wimp to even watch the video; can’t even watch that man talk about his child.

  9. I bet you dollars to donuts that when the POTUS and FLOTUS heard that Christina was fan, they either cried or got misty eyed. Their precious Sasha is the same age. I can’t imagine anyone with a child not feeling sorrow. I don’t know how these right-wing folks who make excuses for the hate against this president and his policies look themselves in the mirror or sleep at night.

  10. Arizona lawmakers plan to block protesters within 300 feet of funerals

    @sugarandspices_4: “This is in direct response to a controversial church’s announcement that it will picket the [Jan 12th] funeral of Christina Green, the 9-year-old..”

    Funeral pickets to be met by ‘angels’…

    …And if the church picketers persist, the silent supporters will be on hand for the funerals of U.S. District Judge John Roll, Gabriel Zimmerman, Dorothy Morris, Dorwin Stoddard and Phyllis Schneck, the other five victims of Saturday’s shooting… http://bit.ly/ekAqXC

  11. As I type this I am crying my eyes out. I don’t know this child from kingdom come and I don’t have any children but this is so gut-wrenching that I can’t stop thinking about this family’s loss. This was so tragic, so senseless. Why would anybody want to shoot a poor defenseless little girl? WHY?! I was watching Morning joe yesterday and Joe was saying how when they found out about the shooting and the little girl, his wife just went beserk and starting screaming and crying and said he was upset about it as well. I know Michelle Obama was crying too cause this hits too close to home and I know she probably grabbed Sasha and Malia and didn’t want to let them go.

    I just saw this touching video of Mark Kelly’s twin brother who is in space and what he so eloquently said what needed to be said to the entire country.

    http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-us-canada-12157346

  12. It was the same with me. I knew I was liberal, but other than voting, I never got involved in the political process. I certainly never donated before! Now I have a donation budget for candidates !

  13. This is what I’ve found so far:

    “Together We Thrive: Tucson and America,” is scheduled for 6 p.m. and is free and open to the public, according to a press release from the University of Arizona.

    Doors will open at 4 p.m. Attendees are encouraged to arrive early, as a capacity crowd is expected, and there will be increased security as part of the President’s visit.

    Arizona is on MST, so 6pm local time would be 5pm Pacific and 8pm Eastern.

  14. Some more info:

    In addition to President Obama, UA President Robert N. Shelton, state and federal officials and members of the Associated Students of the UA will give brief remarks. The event will include a Native American blessing, a moment of silence, a poetry reading and the presentation of a chain featuring messages from members of the public that will be collected at the UA Mall on Wednesday afternoon to write messages on the chain that will be presented later that night.

    FLOTUS will accompany the President.
    Secretary Napolitano will be there.
    Governor Brewer is scheduling it.
    John McCain is cutting short his trip to be there.

    President Obama is going to Arizona because he believes the entire country has been affected by Saturday’s deadly shooting, White House spokesman Nick Shapiro said Tuesday morning.

    “The President thought it was important to visit the Tucson community since this tragedy touched everyone there as well as throughout the entire country in some way,” Shapiro said in a statement. “The President believes that right now, the main thing we should be doing is offering our thoughts and prayers to those who’ve been impacted and making sure that we’re joining together and pulling together as a country.”

  15. Tulips, here’s some info…a memorial event at the McKale Center on the University of Arizona campus. The event, “Together We Thrive: Tucson and America,” is free and open to the campus and greater Tucson community. It begins at 6 p.m… http://t.co/5HWAanl

  16. There is a line from King Lear that comes to mind:

    Upon such sacrifices, my Cordelia,
    The gods themselves throw incense.

    Christina’s death is so very tragic.

  17. Thanks so much Meta, for all this addl great info, and your quick response to Tulips question(s)…Excuse my duplication! lol😉

  18. Sort of OT – they loathe Joe on Orange. From this, he sounds OK. Your take?

    re: what you said above. Children pre-deceasing parents is one of the biggest of life’s tragedies. Although not militarily oriented, it is the reason I supported IGTNT on Kos.

    Appropos of nothing and everything, I love this President.

  19. too too sad. The fortitude of Christina’s parents must be commended.

    What a wonderful family. Clearly it is a “mixed” family. He’s republican, his wife apparently democrat? And it seems his mother-in-law, too. His children seemed to have the leanings of their mother. But he was fine with this – and he obviously is proud of their pride, their love for the President.

    I have to say – my family was “mixed” too. My poor father was the only republican in the house! And my mother constantly teased him every election that she was “cancelling out” his vote. (of course he could say the same to my mother, but he never did). But all of his six children followed the leanings of their mother… and he never held that against us.😉

    But I see that in Mr. Green. What a wonderful man and wonderful father.

  20. Thank You. I heard contesssa Brewer say something about 12:00 noon maybe that when they will start broadcast.

  21. I read the comments and as always you guys have lots of info to share. Thanks for pointing out the time zones, I was worried about missing the ceremony:) I love watching the president speak and tomorrow is really special for the Tucson community – it’ll be good. The hardest part will be watching the Green family – I’ll bring tissue.

  22. Great link, thanks.
    Today, the talk has been about the speech and as usual everyone got an opinion. I was sick of listenning I turned them off. President Obama is an adult as we noted the only one in the room at times; he knows between right and wrong. I’m not worried, the speech will be great and right.

  23. I’m just going to post the following article (h/t MonieTalks at weeseeyou) without an extensive “initial reaction” comment. Because my comment would otherwise consist of a string of expletives and insults which have no place in a tribute to this beautiful, dearly departed child and her super-strong, selfless parents.

    This merely provides proof to the thesis floating around these parts about perpetual victims:

    ******************************************

    We’re Arizona shooting victims too, says Tea Party co-founder

    A nine-year-old girl lies in the morgue. A member of Congress faces a lifetime of struggle to recover from a bullet in the brain. A city is bracing itself for a string of funerals as it tries to fathom the carnage.

    But Trent Humphries says there is another innocent victim left by Jared Lee Loughner’s killing of six people and wounding of 14 others in his assassination attempt against Congresswoman Gabrielle Giffords. It is his Tea Party movement and, more particularly, his family. The killings, he says, are evolving into a conspiracy to destroy his organisation and silence criticism of the government.

    http://www.guardian.co.uk/world/2011/jan/11/arizona-shootings-tea-party

    ******************************************

    POTUS is likely to request tomorrow that we figure out a means of disagreeing without namecalling and vicious rhetoric, as he has been requesting for years. This story is a test of my resolve to follow that advice.

  24. Of course my frinds mother-in-law, knew the little girl. You see she works for Bright house cable. The Phillies spring traing field is sponsored by bright house.
    Dallas green was the magr in 06 when the phillies won the world series, he is the grandfather of that little girl. and father to that wonderful man on tv. They say, he is not taking it to well…
    Thus, The world is not so big, afterall!

  25. To run to the paper with a tale of woe when this child has been killed…[self-censored]

    Blessings to her family, friends, classmates, and all other loved ones, and may they be consoled and comforted with the understanding that many other people, left, right, in the center, something else, have deep sympathy and empathy for them.

  26. I like this comment very much, it is not mine but I like it a lot:

    “Shameless.

    The right-wing can whine as much as they like but they are the ones using terms like ‘reload’ and graphics like gun-sights in their spiel & blurb.
    That’s a hell of a step on from political contests seen as ‘battles’ or a ‘fight’.
    Everyone can see this – and everyone can see & smell the bullsh*t wriggling and whining the right-wing are now indulging in.

    Frankly it just makes them look even more crass.

    You only have to listen to their commentators from Beck to O’Reilly to Hannity to Limbaugh, everyone single one of them – for years now – talking the incendiary talk about an ‘illegitimate’ President/Government.
    The US is reaping what those guys, day-in day-out, sow.
    Paranoia and gross exaggeration as political comment & chasing ratings.

    They have a damned cheek to whine about the chickens now coming home to roost & it painting them in the most appropriate poor light.

    Whether it’s the loopy birthers to the stunningly ludicrous claim that Obama’s ‘a secret Muslim destroying the US from within’ the sum total of it all is a level of sustained hatred which, as we have just seen all too clearly, is more than capable of inflaming the nut-job assassin.

    The right-wing love to point out the left’s loathing of Bush and the claims that he was illegitimate.
    The thing is ‘liberals’ don’t tend to end up in extreme right-wing survivalist groups or in those hysterical anti-Gov groupings.
    They’re not so fond of guns either, usually.”

    Exactly!

  27. I pray and hope, that president Obama give them the speech of all speeches. Put something on everyone hearts and minds, even the right. I pray that God speaks through him.

  28. To be honest, I am not a faqn of Joe either, but for a Republican he does have some level of decncy and has talked about th need to dial abck the rhetoric.

  29. They are all the same to me. Actually the kind of narrative that the extreme left/right or the Tea Party trades in is shot through with ignorance, hatred, bigotry, and the underlying threat of violence towards those they don’t agree with (especially from the right), particularly if the people they disagree with are in government.

    Now all of them have the gall to claim that they are misunderstood victims for whom we should feel pity or may be follow them.

    I would be more inclined to sympathise with the Tea Party or the left/right if they were to renounce the use of vitriolic rhetoric and accept the principle that in a democracy, you occasionally get governments that you don’t like.

  30. I believe comments like his damn his organization in the eyes of others much more effectively than anything we could say

  31. Saku, they are not the same and we should not advance this false equivalency. There is a difference between some purist idiot mouthing off some idiotic things against the President because he’s not “progressive enough” or he did not deliver the change in the speed he wanted and someone using gun imagery or Palin, Beck, Limbaugh and the like who spent the last 2 years whipping delusional people into a frenzy. There is a HUGE difference and we should not conflate the two.

    This discussion somehow reminded me of President Obama’s wonderful commencement speech to University of Michigan’s class of 2010 http://www.michigandaily.com/content/full-text-president-obamas-speech-university-michigans-class-2010

    Finally, my heart goes out to all the victims but Christina’s death broke my heart. Every time, I read anything about her or see her angelic face, I can’t stop myself from crying.

  32. I disagree, and I loathe the left wing purists having listened to them far too long on other blogs. But they are all bark, and strangely, in THIS circumstance, I mean that as a compliment.

    Did they add to the battlefield of extremism in this country? Do they unremittingly dumb down, over simplify and irrationally hyperbolize communication on the blogs? Yes, but I believe they are non-violent. They seem to overcompensate for self esteem issues with verbiage (MO). The Teabaggers – with guns. A huge difference.

  33. Yup. They are complete jerks, but nothing like the extremists on the right, nothing. Their damage is via media memes and excess, not walking up to defenseless people and shooting or saying “lock and load” to political enemies. I absolutely understand saku’s point and agree with much of it, but there really is less of a “both sides” than the media is claiming.

  34. Personally I’m tired of talking about who’s to blame. There’s plenty of blame to go around and no one has accepted this fact(right or left). They are stuck on the topic on purpose so they don’t have to take responsibility. The hateful words during the last election was thrown around by both parties. When Democrats did it on the left they were regarded as heros – speaking truth to power. When Republicans did they are heros to the right.

    Now that we have an opportunity to come together and agree to make changes – we’re playing the blaming game, putting everyone on the defensive. That will lead to no change just more arguments. So, the solution is to accept that it happens on both side (not the degree) and resolve to talk about what can be done about it.

  35. Perhaps you don’t know my new name.
    I am “Iche liebe PBHO” I use different names for different websites because I have to have an account. I was on Daily kos and “Iche liebe PBHO” I used.
    Now I have my own website and I am using Professorx10 my own BarackObama.com website partial name. My full name is
    (Obama is the Best President Ever(formally known as Professor xavier).

    Maybe that might clear up the confusion.

  36. Okay, wow…Electablog…you’re right, that’s totally messed up: http://www.eclectablog.com/2011/01/it-dangerous-being-non-teabagger.html Never thought in a million years that an LD chair would resign because he feared he’d be shot by one of his Precinct Committee Officers. Dang.

    I think it’s going to become increasingly difficult for the Republican party to hide just how bad it’s getting with this schism within their ranks.

    I’d be changing my party affiliation to Independent the first chance I got. What a shame.

  37. They are not the same but they have done their dirt too; they added to a TOXIC media climate. g is right: when it comes to being “locked and loaded” they are paper tigers are not equivalent to the right. But this does not completely absolve anti-POTUS partisans on “the left” from responsibility either.

    No equivalence whatsoever. But there’s responsibility to be shared.

  38. Call me a “worry-wart”, but I just hope tomorrow’s events in Tuscon are peaceful and without incident. There are too many nutjobs out there who are hopped up on hatred nowadays.

    Whereas 100 years ago the newspaper was the only source of information and opinion, today people prone to senseless acts can, if they choose, plug into a non-stop stream of hate, anger, rage, and bigotry.

    Personally, even though I’m an atheist, I would love to hear Obama quote from scripture tomorrow, reminding people to “love their enemy.” NOT “hate” their enemy, not even “tolerate” their enemy, but LOVE their enemy.

  39. I agree. Our Prez is headed into enemy territory tomorrow. I pray for his safe return. I’m sure he’ll be fine, but I’ll be on pins and needles until he gets the hell out of there.

  40. early morning thoughts….

    I agree. The words coming from the left – while not seething in violence or suggestion of violence as does the extreme right, _does_ and _has_ caused fractures in the democratic party. Just because the words fall short of suggesting violence, they are equally vicious at times. And they also use the bully tactic, refusing to engage in real dialogue. The left, too, _does_ cross the line at times.

    What’s to say if the left doesn’t start looking inward at their own actions that they won’t evolve into adapting tactics of the right?? After all, they already have started this – essentially using those that shout the loudest get heard. Those that try to quietly engaged are drowned out and not always supported. They don’t care to listen to those who are trying to argue their case – but not in a forceful way. It’s like those that are loudest and most aggressive are declared winners from the onset.

    Dunno – I have been totally turned off by partisan politics on both sides these days. What happened in Arizona is telling me that we all must change how we engage with one another. I know that this guy was mentally ill, and looks like he was falling into a deep downward spiral that no one could pull him out – but his thoughts still repeat what is out there on the fringe. And what’s in the middle (dems and repubs) we’re so busy battling with each other. It sets the climate that the only way to engage is in an aggressive manner.

    Whatever happened to agree to disagree? Instead it turns into I don’t agree with you because you are a piece of shit and you should go and fucking die.

    Whatever happened with honest debate? Instead it’s – you don’t know shit because you can’t cite references.

    When we shut each other out like that, real dialogue ceases. Barriers are never broken down. Understanding of the other persons position, even if we don’t agree, is never achieved. Who wants to stay and try and talk when one is insulted over and over again.

    I have been reading over RFK’s speech that was first put up here by tigerfist… And I keep thinking, nothing has changed. We as a country have not made much progress in how we treat one another.

    In this passage, RFK states:

    “I have not come here to propose a set of specific remedies nor is there a single set. For a broad and adequate outline we know what must be done. When you teach a man to hate and fear his brother, when you teach that he is a lesser man because of his color or his beliefs or the policies he pursues, when you teach that those who differ from you threaten your freedom or your job or your family, then you also learn to confront others not as fellow citizens but as enemies, to be met not with cooperation but with conquest; to be subjugated and mastered.

    “We learn, at the last, to look at our brothers as aliens, men with whom we share a city, but not a community; men bound to us in common dwelling, but not in common effort. We learn to share only a common fear, only a common desire to retreat from each other, only a common impulse to meet disagreement with force. For all this, there are no final answers. ”

    I’m so glad that it DID snow and my office is closed today. I get to hear the President live since I’ll be at home. And I hope his words will lift me and the country out of this morass.

  41. love your wife’s photography. LOVE the poster. The recipients (I’ve been giving them away) have been THRILLED to receive them!!! 🙂

  42. Yay! Glad you’re enjoying it. The faces are ALL from people that attended Obama rallies in Michigan in 2008. Many a Michigander has given themselves a splitting headache looking for themselves! Have you found the President and the First Lady in there yet? Hah!

    Al Gore is also there.

Leave a Reply

