175 thoughts on “Heads Up: Final vote on DADT at 3PM today!

  1. Great news, isn’t it? Thanks to President Obama and everyone else who has worked so hard to repeal this law permanently.

  2. PBO, Ried and some dedicated senators and their constituents kept the proverbial cats herded to get this done. The shiny toy obstacles didn’t work, McCain, KO/KOS 😉

  3. I actually am a follower of the POTUS on Twitter. I find it funny that he has an account. But Anyway, somehow I got linked to this one to. Which sums it up for me.

    CoolAnddre’s Tweet. 🙂 🙂
    COOLANDDRE COOLANDDRE
    Dont Ask Dont Tell (DADT) will officially be repealed at 3pm today, a huge civil rights victory and another promise delivered by Obama
    3 minutes ago Favor

  4. Will be interesting to see the final vote. Given it’s going to pass I guess it would be too much to ask the GOP to support it more robustly to send the message that this isn’t a partisan issue.

    Isn’t the ol message when going to war always “It’s going to pass, so how about we all vote for it and show a united front”?

    Also with this bill is the “Don’t Ask” still in play? I mean a lot of folks might be gay and want it to remain secret. Superior officers shouldn’t be allowed to ask ones sexual orientation.

  5. Every time the POTUS does something they loathe, which encompasses Barack Obama breathing, KO/KOS and the fringe fauxgressives blow up like my organic Pacifica Corn Soup in the microwave when I put a lid on it.

    When he delivers on another one of his promises, crickets.
    Or, “good thing we were screeching and screaming so loud. only because of us! Now onto the Primary. Feingold oh12!”

    They crack me up. 🙂 I laugh at my Teabag brother the same way I laugh them. So angreeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee!!!

  6. Don’t worry, La F already has a diary up condemning the POTUS for kicking the left to the curb.

    But today, we need to thank the WH, and Speaker Pelosi for getting this through. This is the long hard slog to clean up the mess that was inherited–even in 2004 John Kerry said that four years of Bush was going to be hard to reverse. Imagine eight.

    I am very proud of the President for his unrelenting determination to get this repealed.

  7. I wonder what Rachel Maddow will have to say. I don’t even care what KO will. And i’m pretty sure that over the Daily Fox they’ll find a whole lot that is wrong with PBO right now too. These people can’t recognize greatness when it hits their nose.

  8. Dream Act failed because of DEMOCRATS!!!! I had to sound negative on this joyous occasion but be prepared for the hispanic community to revolt on this dream act vote. The democrats are going to have a hard time blaming this on the GOP and explaining to them why this vote went down in flames.

    If Reid would have held his whole democratic caucas the dream act would have passed cloture
    Murkowski and bond and Lugar voted for dream act

    If failed 55-41

    5 Dems voted against the dream act

    Jon Tester (Montana)
    Ben Nelson (Nebraska)
    Senator Pryor (Ark)
    Senator Baucas (Montana)
    Senator Hagan (North Carolina)

    How jacked up is this? Get ready for the hispanic community to go after Reid, Obama and the rest of the democratic party who didn’t vote on this bill. They can’t blame the GOP on this one, they had the votes and they voted against this dream act.

  9. Sorry, but I hate this meme that never holds the GOP responsible. A small minority of Dems jump ship (and deserved to be shamed) so now we can’t hold the GOP accountable for they way they voted? Don’t agree. It’s not an either/or in my book.

  10. The fringe left won’t give Obama credit for this, and if they do it will be begrudgingly, and only to say “it’s because we held his feet to the fire” Well treebaggers his feet are charred so thank you very much.

  11. Riiight.

    Keep blaming the Democrats who supplied 52 votes because they couldn’t supply five more and absolve the GOP because they supplied three votes, while 39 voted against it.

    By all means blame Hagan, Tester, Baucus, Nelson and Pryor and hold them accountable. This isn’t on anybody but them and the 39 Republicans who voted against cloture.

  12. I would love to see McCain scowling face when his amendment to the START treaty doesn’t go through (if Dems hold their ground) and realization that DADT vote is final. Sunday morning he will rage on and I quote “A sad day in American history”. I will get up early to watch Faux news – just for this.

  13. Exactly. Those Dems who voted against should be held accountable but the far larger number of Republicans who voted against are the main reason it failed. There shouldn’t be only a handful of republicans who are willing to actually govern and those who refuse should be held responsible.

  14. His amendment can’t go thru – if it did, it would completely nix the treaty (I was listening to Kerry last night – what Rs are talking about is completely irrelevant). They R’s are all lying (watching cspan). They’re trying to defeat it.

  15. I hold the GOP responsible but who does the hispanic hold responsible is the question. Will they blame Reid and Obama for losing the 5 democrats that sunk this legislation? Or will they point the finger at the GOP for their help in sinking this bill? I just want the hispanic community not to blame the President Obama for this in 2012. He can’t make the senate vote for anything, but will some blame him is the question.

  16. I tuned out RM not long after I tuned out KO/KOS, but I recall that she thought the legislation approach–the one that’s going to succeed at about 3 pm 12/18/2010–was “impossible”. She favoured the presidential override. I hope she’ll at least celebrate the money and time saved by eliminating all the appeals that would have been the inevitable outcome of an override 😉
    So truly and really and with all the relief that accompanies an accomplishment like this: RM, may you feel a burden lifted from your shoulders, no more, no less, and enjoy, share, and spread the happiness.

  17. Yes all they did was lie the whole time and kept bringing up things that were discussed previously, I left back for the honorable John Kerry.

    Kyl, McCainand stupid dumb a@s session were the worst of the lot

  18. They don’t need to give him credit because fact is fact, their ranting and lies will not change that.

    However what is does; is, it takes away another one of their stupid talking point.

  19. I agree R’s should be held accountable for governing this country too, they and their supporters are happy to take credit for successes

  20. I think, except for the mccain kyl, demint and their gang, many repubs will help get that 2/3rd. I just hope there aren’t any democratic backstabbers.

  21. I’m not sure it’s clear:

    DADT repeal needs 51 for final passage

    Amendments to START need 60 (I think)

    Ratification of START needs 67

  22. I was in the U.S. Navy for 10 years. I can say this with no hesitancy:

    Every single service member in the United States Military personally knows or knows OF a gay servicemember at their command. And they don’t care. It doesn’t affect how they do their job whatsoever.

    Sure, some make jokes about “that fag” or “that dike”. There are bigots everywhere, including the military. But it doesn’t affect how they do their jobs, even working DIRECTLY WITH a gay servicemember.

    This stupid law needs to be repealed. No matter what the comically-insecure Marines think.

    And to those who think that “serving openly” means that servicemembers will be wearing assless chaps and swishing around while give “two snaps up in a circle” at all times, grow up. Military bearing is mandatory to ALL SERVICEMEMBERS to maintain at ALL TIMES.

    If a gay person feels that being in the military is too restrictive to their lifestyle, they can leave. Just like a straight servicemember (after finishing their obligated service, of course). But I’m sure they thought of that BEFORE they joined.

  23. “… those who think that ‘serving openly’ means that service members will be …”

    The ones who think that are those with dirty minds to begin with.

  24. I can remember POTUS saying the repeal needed to come through legislation so that it couldn’t be overturned by presidents after him. He’s been for it all along.

    I saw the video of Lt. Choi giving Reid his West Point ring at the last Netroots conference. Reid said he would hold it for him and give it back when DADT was repealed. There will be so many happy people when this passes and I know President Obama will be so glad to sign this bill.

  25. BBC FP on DADT.
    he US Senate has taken a key step towards allowing gay people to serve openly in the military.

    Senators decided by 63-33 to advance a bill overturning the “don’t ask, don’t tell” policy for a final vote, which is expected soon.

    Repeal is now said to be certain as the House of Representatives has already backed it. President Barack Obama, who supports the repeal, welcomed the vote.

    Mr Obama has made overturning “don’t ask, don’t tell” a key part of his agenda since taking office in 2009.

    http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/mobile/world-us-canada-12028657

    The professional left should really get out of their bubble and read the real professional news.

  26. Actually, TomP has a very nice diary up at NoKos, thanking the President, Madame Speaker, Senator Reid, and even Lieberman.

    Thanks are being given.

    This is too important a day for petty game playing. The few who are going down that road are ignored or put in the place.

  27. Yeah, baby. Got my radio set for C-Span all afternoon on this. It’s 90.1 FM on the dial for those in the DC Metro area. Don’t know if it’s available to other people not living in outer Wonkitania.

  28. It seems as if the people most afraid of DADT repeal have watched Monty Python’s “Close Order Swanning About” a few too many times.

  29. A bad law put in place by a Democrat, no less.

    Not only is President Obama cleaning up the mess republicans left, he’s also cleaning up the mess left by Clinton, namely: Failure to overhaul health care; repealing Glass-Steagall; stripping gay Americans of their constitutional liberties.

    So I want the elite, sanctimonious liberals/progressives to remember that when they’re complaining about what he has and hasn’t done.

    In less than 2 years, this man has cleaned up some of the worst policies in this country. In less than two years! And still they whine and criticize and claim it’s not enough and we should primary him.

    Makes me wanna cuss, but I won’t do that on BWD’s nice new blog. I’ll just breathe and count to 10.

  30. Count my “terrorist” fist bump on this, too. Hope we’re scaring the crap out of McCain and company. Feels good. Over the years I’ve known LGBT members of the military and feel happy that they will finally be able to stop hiding that aspect of themselves.

  31. I agree Baud. Dems hardly ever vote unanimously on anything.

    Let the Republicans get the heat for once.

    I’m sick to death of them getting a free pass.

  32. Yes yes….and the earth is round. Her hatred has been boiling over for a year and she rants and raves her life away. Screeching sells over there. But no one hears the screeches but the few hundred people who hang there around the clock. But it does not matter what anyone does over there nor do they have any bearing on anything or impacts even the tiniest ladybug. The fringe left over there gets all crazy a few times an when another spew pops up and chimes in yes! Hate hate hate.

    This is another promise kept – another victory. 🙂 Yaaay!

  33. I do have a link to the video of Lt. Choi giving Reid his West Point ring until DADT is repealed — I was really touched with I first saw it because I could see the respect between both of them and the commitment to getting this done. This video in a DKos diary about DADT repeal by Barbara Morrill.

    http://www.dailykos.com/storyonly/2010/12/18/929977/-Dont-ask,-dont-tell-will-finally-be-repealed

    President Obama and Senator Reid have kept pushing for this day. As I watched the video again I was thinking how important Lt. Choi has been to create this historic and deserved moment in time. All working together.

  34. That’s good to hear, because I don’t think there would be 12 Dems who agreed with the McCain Amendment.

  35. Exactly. Years and years ago being gay made a difference, but more recently–yes, since ‘don’t ask don’t tell’–the issue has dwindled in importance. It didn’t make a difference to me in or out of the army, but I did hear stories about how bad it could be in subtle and not-so-subtle ways, especially before DADT. We have moved forward. Forward!

  36. The majority of Democrats voted for DREAM. The President wanted Deam. A small handfull of conservadems, as usual, did not. So your post is a little over the top in blaming all Democrats. And Hispanics are smarter than you give them credit for. Please.

  37. No petty game playing here, Onomastic.

    I’m readying the chilled champagne and the metaphorical balloon and confetti drop. Let’s par-TAY!!!!!

  38. Ask them. Every time I got my head turned around on dK, I’d go out into the rW and talk to people I knew from the communities in question. Not, door knocking, but casual convo, as my world includes multi demos, as the school systems say.

  39. Maybe it will be like Lord of the Flies, and they’ll turn on each other. Fine.

    Advice to all – never take a Kossack to Vegas. They are always wrong.

  40. This is a good point. We have a tendency to follow the media on this – blame the Dems solely and overlook the Repubs who didn’t vote. Anyone who didn’t vote for the bill should be held accountable regardless of party. At the same time, I do understand the other point of view. Because as a parent I understand when you expect better from your child and yet they find ways to disappoint.

  41. “This year, I will work with Congress and our military to finally repeal the law that denies gay Americans the right to serve the country they love because of who they are.”–President Barack Obama, January 27, 2010.

  42. Group hug while fist bumping!

    I am really so happy about this. Love POTUS. (two entirely unnessesary statements, LOL)

  43. I luv this smart move by this President. My Prez. Our Prez. Da Peoples Prez. I love to say this too!!!!!!!!!

  44. I remember how many heads exploded because President Obama only devoted that one sentence to DADT repeal in the SOTU. Looks like one sentence was all that was necessary.

    So proud of this president and all who made this day happen.

  45. I don’t buy the notion that the failure of the Dream Act is the Ds’ fault. Only 5 Dems defected – we should expect and demand a little more common decency from a few members of the other party.

  46. Check out John McPander in this video. He is so angry and out of control. A bunch of old white guys trying to control what happens in this country. This nation is not the same as it was “back in the day,” and a new era is here. We are more diverse, and I wish the Senate would reflect that. That’s why I believe there should be term limits. One Senator said “if it ain’t broke don’t fix it” in regards to repealing DADT and then said “the current law isn’t broken.” Wow those guys are unreal.

    As another blogger comment that I read somewhere else said, what if the draft was reinstated. Under the current DADT law, would that then mean that Gay soldiers would be exempt? Nobody could seem to answer her. I bet not, because that would require real thought.

    Here is the video. http://blog.dearmrpres.com/2010/12/18/republicans-greatest-hits-on-not-repealing-dadt.aspx

    Be thankful that McCain is not your President. I am thankful everyday.

  47. I’m so glad that President Obama didn’t follow the lead of the professional left and take away Senator Lieberman’s committee chairmanship. I’m so glad that he thinks long term and is not given to temper tantrums.

  48. Yup. that was one stupid, navel gazing diary from LaF. Notice how the usual yelling mob is deathly silent today ?

  49. Geee. Come shopping with me. Today is the first day I doing it.
    Come now!!!!!! I can’t put it off any longer. Ok. Hurry. 🙂

  50. Thanks for that personal take, Stakyluv. A teacher I worked with was a Gay retired Marine. I asked him about all this. He looked puzzled, “Uh, ACD, we had a job to do. Period.”

  51. Like we are in the Tardis. What year is this?We are going to the shore today for dinner and shopping before. Do you remember how many Sats I’d come home from just such a day, log onto dK, feeling no pain, and we goofed around – once in mB’s thread?!! Good times, good times.

    PS – HATE shopping. Mr Paypal and I are besties. Hmm, I wonder if orange people have discovered some esotric reason to boycott my bud??

  52. 🙂 Must you make me think so much? I am freaking out. I have been so messed up in the head lately. I thought xmas was sunday. xmas eve saturday. only yesterday realized it’s friday. I effin freaked out for real. stomach bug and work stress have me mezzed up.

    So i’m sitting here looking at advertisments, thinking, going to web sites, what is hot, what is not. Thinking of how it will take m four hours to find a parking spot. Wanting to cry because I had a year to do this. And the SO’s birthday is the day after xmas. Oh how that drives me insane.

    In MB’s thread? Really? Heeee. 🙂 How he must pine for gentle nature of our souls. What an crabbed out old geezer he is. I think sitting on his laptop seven days a week staring at the lunacy make him slightly fill in blank here .

    It goes without saying, talking about the shore, and dinner. Yes. Jealous.

  53. George Voinovich the out going Republican senator is my senator here in Ohio.

    He has always been a moderate Republican even when he was Govenor here in Ohio. I have not always agreed with him politically but because of his moderation he ahs been a republican that I can stomach.

    Its good to see that on his way out the door he’s putting his country first instead of his party and for that my hat is off to him.

  54. Gotta go – need to reinforce my windows and buy bottled water. The terrists are coming, the terrists are coming!!!!!!!!!!!

  55. Looking at CSPAN, but also tried to go to the link, and it looks like the website has crashed, which means everyone’s trying to get online. What a historic moment.

    I wish they had CSPAN back in the day, because it would’ve been great to see the Dixiecrats heads explode when the Civil Rights and Voting Rights Acts were passed ;-). That said, I wish CSPAN would do some close-ups of the Republicans looking traumatized that their obstructionism didn’t work this time.

    Very proud of Obama, Reid, Pelosi, et al. Sometimes I get the feeling that the 3 of them (along with Biden) sat down right after the ’08 election; and just mapped out how they were going to roll… And they proceeded to make history on health care, Wall St. Reform, credit card reform, student loan reform, DADT, etc., et cetera, et cetera…

    Can’t wait to “WTF Has Obama Done” website gets to add this to the list. And bless those young people for starting the site. I can only assume they got tired of the endless carping.

  56. P.S. Thanks again to you, BWD, for starting this site. To be able to celebrate without drama and the “but, but…” is making my day ;-).

  57. I bite my tongue and went over there and rec’d every diary I could celebrating the news of DADT and only participated in 1 small negative comment and quickly left because of course they still hate the president; but I was quite restrained..(smile)

  58. Thanks for the heads up of the other channels. Switching back and forth now. The mainstream media has ignored so many other things that Obama, et al have done that’s historic (let alone cutting short his speeches or not airing at all), I figured they’d ignore this too, and just air clips at a later time.

  59. YEA!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! The Repeal passes!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! And Harry’s letting them know they’ll be back in tomorrow for START vote.

  60. DADT, got a second try. Is it possible that they can try again for the DREAM Act before ending this congressional session?

  61. Come in tomorrow at Noon for START, Sen Risch has an amendment to offer will need two hours to debate and then three votes.

  62. Rachel Maddow comes around. She admitted that this President took a lot of criticism and abuse from his liberal supporters, and he didn’t waver. She also admitted that President Obama COULDN’T have done this through the executive branch.

  63. Lol@ “The professional left should really get out of their bubble and read the real professional news.” thanks for the BBC article!

  64. And I hope that what’s happened this weekend will help Reid have the motivation to look to change Senate rules.

    And now Rachel Maddow via on MSNBC is giving Obama’s props for keeping his promise and not wavering on that promise. And I’m proud that she acknowledged that even she thought he couldn’t do it, and that she acknowledged that he COULD NOT do this via Executive Order. Now let’s see if she loses her “Professional Left” creds ;-).

  65. Great day for the US! Our president has had a good week this week and that means our country has had a good week too. Nice the vote happened on a Saturday so people can celebrate on the weekend. Thanks to all who worked so hard and so long to see this law repealed!

  66. President Obama has been vindicated!

    Rachel Maddow just admitted that she was wrong by claiming that a legislative repeal was ” impossible”. She was a real woman by admitting she was wrong and giving the President props.

    ‘Nuff respect to Rachel.

  67. 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂

    Yaaaay! 🙂

    A republican President would have vetoed this.
    Remember that Oh Holy Fringe.

    Yaaaaaay!

    🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂

  68. Sorry, hopefruit!!! Your post must’ve come up while I was posting mine below ;-). But ditto to all you said.

  69. Just heard Rachel on MSNBC. She was on the phone with Contessa.

    She gave **HUGE** credit to the President. She said he didn’t waver, wanted to end the policy with legislation. She said it was a DIFFICULT promise to keep, etc…

    WOW, Rachel, KUDOS to you for recognizing the merits of President Obama !!

  70. Yeah C-span crashed evidently lol..What a day! Yes We Can, and Yes We will continue on!!

    What two Senators voted yeah this time? I thought there were only 63 votes to invoke cloture.

  71. On CNN a tweet from Robert Gibbs stating that the President will sign the bill into law next week:)

  72. President Obama has been vindicated. He was absolutely correct in insisting that the DADT be repealed through the legislative process and not by executive override. He was lambasted by the Professional Left for it. They said it was “impossible”.

    I hear the crows cawing…

  73. This is why I do like Rachel, even though I don’t agree with her about everything. Despite her often strong criticism every once in a while she announces it’s time to give him credit where credit is due, and a few months ago she even put together a list of all his accomplishments which I often used in arguments with opponents. I think she’s essentially fair-minded. She can be a little dogmatic, but never actually worked in the Senate as Lawrence O’Donnell did and therefore lacks his much better perspective on the problems faced by the President. She will get better with age because she does have a sense of fairness, something which the egotistical and overly self-certain Keith O. often lacks.

  74. Good for her. I was totally denigrated every time I tried to explain at the orange site why an Executive action, or by having the DoJ not act in accordance with the law would have been totally inappropriate, ineffectual and could have prolonged denying our GLBT brothers and sisters their equality and honor they deserve.

    The President and the Congress did what they should have done and now a very bad law has been repealed. And, the President and the military leadership have a very well validated basis – through the Pentagon review – for proper, equitable conduct subsequent to the repeal.

  75. “Self-righteousness is a loud din raised to drown the voice of guilt within us.
    There is a guilty conscience behind every brazen word and act and behind every manipulation of self-righteousness.”
    Eric Hoffer

  76. Now onto repealing DOMA (though I think it has a lesser chance). I’m even more interested in that because it’s about making love, not war, though that should make it less interesting to the houses of Congress.

  77. Now they are celebrating a “Progressive” victory of HP and saying “the left always wins in the end.” Oh how they love the “smart” President now. They are over the top and over the moon. We here already know that President Obama is stays as cool as a cucumber while playing Chess. He doesn’t need to scream and shout. The man is brilliant, and he gets work done while brushing the dirt off of his shoulders. Unfortunately many on the left had to be brushed off lately in order for him to get what he needed to get done. I applaud Joe Lieberman on this, and Harry Reid, and all the Senators that had the courage to stand up for civil liberties and rights today.

  78. My brother served. Let us all honor him for that.
    And thank him. He is my Air Force Hero.
    I would never have the courage to serve.
    I am weak and lazy. And scared.
    My brother is homophobic.
    Let us all frown at him for that.
    My brother was on John McCain’s side on this.
    Let us all wipe a tear from our eyes for his loss today.
    And then let us all send him 2000 smiley faces.
    And then 3000 hugs.
    You know. Yaaay!
    And sawwwwwy.
    Do it mentally.
    He will feel it
    He is magic!

  79. Proud Obamabot here, proud of President Obama. In spite of my disappointment about the failure of the DREAM act to pass, I am confident that this President will find a way to fulfill his promise about Immigration. As Andrew Sullivan says this President knows how to play the long game. Meep meep!!

  80. Watched a few minutes of msnbc to see how they are treating this. WH correspondent/reporter (whatever he’s called) said this is a big win for Obama coming after he broke his campaign promise (yeah but he broke it to keep another) and angered his core supporters on the tax cuts (core supporters my foot). He mentioned that for a lame duck session some really substantive stuff is passing.

  81. The President has said many times that this is exactly how he wanted the bill repealed. Maddow did deem it impossible, because, obviously, she has insider information about the houses of Congress that the President does not have. If the President is not in front of their faces gesticulating and screaming every moment, they assume he is doing nothing. Maybe they would like him to live in a glass box so they can make sure he brushes his teeth every morning.

  82. I wonder what Queen Arianna and the Professional Left will do to spin this not as another promise President Obama has kept, but as something THEY brought about.

  83. By ending “Don’t Ask, Don’t Tell,” no longer will patriotic Americans be asked to live a lie in order to serve the country they love.
    ~ President Barack Obama, via Twitter and Facebook, 12/18/10

  84. BBC is on the ball. Again.

    “he US Senate has approved landmark legislation allowing openly gay people to serve in the military.

    Senators voted 65-31 to overturn the 1993 “don’t ask, don’t tell” law, which bars gay people in the military from revealing their sexual orientation.

    The House of Representatives had already approved the repeal bill. President Barack Obama, who supports the move, will sign it into law.

    The BBC’s Iain Mackenzie in Washington says the vote is a major victory for Mr Obama, who had made overturning “don’t ask, don’t tell” a key policy objective.

    Welcoming the Senate move, the president said it meant “thousands of patriotic Americans” would not be forced to leave the military “because they happen to be gay”.

    http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/mobile/world-us-canada-12028657

  85. She’ll be back blasting away at something else next week. How Obama is a sell-out moron who’s making the biggest mistake evar and losing the base forever.

    You’d think with everything accomplished that President Obama would have gotten some benefit of the doubt.

  86. I wonder continuously about McCain these days. I don’t know if it’s because he figures he’s got nothing to lose to be so…well more cantankerous than usual?? Can you imagine if he was our president??!!!! :O

    Know too many vets…they really don’t give a shit about someone’s sexuality. They told me they were usually too busy trying to keep from dying and getting shot at.

  87. We do have some DINOs out there, but the Repubs are responsible for this failure – not Dems. Let’s get our message coordinated and get it straight. Repubs in states with large Hispanic populations should and must be held accountable.

  88. McCain is just a nasty old mean rotten codger is all. Always was. Just younger. And losing to Barack Obama was the final nail in his old nasty bad self.

    I know quite a few vets – most against DADT. Only two for it. The two who are are though? I love one, respect the other. Sucks. Oh well. It’s done. 🙂

    Shortest day of the year almost here!
    Then….they get longer!!!
    Then!! Spring!!!
    Then flowers!

  89. McCain looked like a clown all day. His amendment was absurd. His amendment would have sent the Treaty back to negotiators. OMG has he not realized that he lost and has no chance at being President?

  90. huh… maybe the vets I know are those I tend to gravitate towards based on comfort zone… they think like me! 🙂

    I just bought (spent $$$) on some tender orange tree… just for the blossoms. It’s COVERED in them. They’re about to all explode open. The guy at the nursery kept telling me – don’t leave it in the car for long!! Don’t go shopping. Go home. It’s too cold outside. All the buds will drop off if you keep it in the car!

    So of course, I had the heat blasting as I zoomed home. It will be heavenly when they open. The smell. It will smell like summer. 🙂

    You need to go and find some smelly blooming plant at the nursery. That definitely helps.

    PS – lantana brought inside again. Last year had two plants. This year four. They are multiplying…..

  91. It’s days like this that makes a good President GREAT. Congratulations to all those who fought a good fight.

  92. It’s going to be tough for them to spin this. Even Rachel Maddow, who has been among the President’s critics on this issue, has admitted that she was mistaken in her doubts about this president’s ability to keep his promise on DADT repeal.

  93. Don’t be so quick to slam Clinton.

    DADT was actually better than what was in place before. Gays were fair game, to be literally hunted down and tossed from the military prior to DADT.

    At least with DADT, a commanding officer couldn’t ask a suspected gay point-blank, “Are you a homosexual?” and then discharge them for being gay if they said “Yes” or discharge them for lying if they said “No.”

    “Don’t Ask, Don’t Tell” was put in place to help protect gays from overt discrimination. Sadly, it just wasn’t enough and ended up making things worse

  94. A lot of the Obama slammers are shrieking that he had nothing to do with the repeal of DADT.
    Here’s what I wrote in reply:

    Don’t think that I feel Pelosi and Reid shouldn’t receive credit.

    I’m just always astonished at the fact that no one seems to realize that Obama is a “stealth” president.

    Yeah, let’s say he comes out publicly big-time for DADT repeal, say, six months or even a year ago.

    Cue the Obama haters. Cue the Tpers. Cue the birthers. Cue the Repugs. Cue the GOP Congressional obstruction team. Cue Rush and Glenn and O’Reilly and the entire News Corp juggernaut.

    The “commie” wants DADT repealed. The “Kenyan” is going to loose the rampaging gays on our sons and daughters serving n the military. The closet Muslim is going to put all the good Christian soldiers in harm’s way by letting sinners and perverts serve in the open.

    DADT wouldn’t have had a chance in hell of passing. And there’d be even more Republicans in Congress come January.

    So Obama instead commissions an innocuous little survey, to be made public after the election. “Let’s ask the troops.”

    McCain and Co., warriors and valiant chickenhawks all, are sure “the troops” will support them.

    Obama knows different. Because he’s actually in tune with the troops, most of whom are under 40. He knows they won’t freak if DADT is repealed.

    The survey is commissioned. The troops say, “Who cares? We don’t.”

    The GOP has now had it’s biggest argument against repeal pulled right out from under it, the classic “It will hurt unit cohesiveness. The soldiers won’t like it.”

    But the troops have just said, “Y’all ain’t speaking for us.”

    McCain and Co., desperate, are left with nothing to say except, “We don’t care what the troops think.” Blatant and absurd reversal.

    Oops.

    I’ll say it again. Brilliant.

    Barack Obama. Stealth fighter.

  95. I agree. Let’s not start the “tar everyone with the same brush” jazz.

    There are plenty of Obama fans on the liberal blogs. There are plenty of Obama admirers in the Democratic party and amongst those who call themselves progressives

  96. Thank you so much, latoriam. Perfect.

    “One term President” Kosheads et al…IN YOUR DREAMS!!!*

    * cleaned up from what i really wanted to say 🙂

    Just got back from dinner. Raised a glass to POTUS, Sen Reid and Madame Speaker (and Joe L, for mercy’s sake!) and to bWD and you all. I couldn’t figure out how to post it here, so I sent it to a few a of you instead. L’CHAIM!

  97. Just got home and I’m over the top with happiness for the LGBT community and for the president. This is a great day for Dems who care about getting things done. But I’m even more happy that McCain, McConnell is not smiling tonight:)

  98. Thank you so much for posting this. You explained it well, why Clinton made the law in the first place. He did it to protect gays in the military.

  99. Now. President Obama has passed the law so gays can serve openly in the military. Which is good news. Gays should be able to serve openly and without discrimination.

Leave a comment