Oh. My. God! (Updated)

Did you guys see this???? 

 

 

 

190 thoughts on “Oh. My. God! (Updated)

  1. Dang it. I leave the computer for 1/2 hour today to take a shower and I missed it. WTF just happened??

  2. You know, I was speaking with one of my regular patrons yesterday. We were talking about the the supposed deal. He told me, “President Obama is going to eat Boehner for lunch. He’s the PRESIDENT, and you treat him with the respect due his office.” Well, Boehner’s been eaten and digested.

  3. I know it’s not supposed to be funny…but seeing that many smacks to the Republicans in a row, I couldn’t stop laughing.

  4. I haven’t had a chance…just seeing twitter blow up. I CAN’T wait to see it.

  5. OMG. We have a leader. He let everyone know that the Republicans’ only interest is winning the next election and not in reducing the deficit. God I was proud. I’m currently unemployed, but I’m ready to take out my checkbook to help ensure that the only adult in the room remains in the white house!

  6. “If you want to be a leader, then you’ve got to lead.” -President Obama on solving the deficit problem for the American people. Take that Boehner

  7. Pres just held a press conference where he publicly shamed Bonehead for walking away like a pussy.

  8. What you just witnessed was a very responsible, patient, very smart, and just plain, tired of the people playing him for a fool stacked with shit.(excuse my language.) President Obama just showed us all what he is made up of, and these fools better back the hell off. He is not playing. He called the shot full and straight. They pissed him off BIG TIME.

  9. I know i just asked my husband the same question.

    I am in another room on the computer and his voice drifting in here just grits me.

  10. Thanks BWD This from twitter: The only way the Obama’s speech could’ve been better would be if he had ended it by throwing a trash can through Boehner’s pizza parlor. Funny :)

  11. The President just ate the Republicans and the hair-on-fire idjits for lunch.

  12. Thanks for the details BWD and nintendowii10. I’ll have to watch it later tonight. I love watching Obama’s rope-a-dope.

  13. Bohner walked off the White house talks, it seems that the Teaparty has the upperhand on Bohner, and the President is pissed off rightly so, It’s clear that the GOP is more intersted in protected The oil Companies Jet owners, Billionars and millionars this is realy sick. sick, sick basterds the GOP do not give a SHIT about the Country.

  14. The Republicans have proved to be even more stupid than I thought. Of course, I believe the President knew this. Republicans had signed their Grand Poobah Norquist’s pledge to not raise taxes – not on corporations – not on the wealthy – not on anybody or anything. Therefore, the Republicans could NEVER accept a deal that included revenues and the President was NEVER going to present a deal that did not include revenues. This was masterful. Now will the PROFESSIONAL LEFT STFU???

  15. He’s got to have dirt on half the producers at MSNBC or something, he makes no sense, he’s not even insightful on the motivations of the Right.

  16. President Obama was brilliant, I love him and pray for him daily, I just want him to remember his words on other issues, especially being beholden to the homosexual agenda. I’m concerned about his African-American base that support traditional marriage only.

  17. Boehner is so fucking scare of the Teaparty, and trying to protect his job, the GOP are so Unpatritic I feel sick, but I must calm down i do have Multiple Sclerosis.

  18. I reacted like you did. I have never doubted the man on this and he was fantastic just like I knew he would be.

  19. Note: I double post here and on Chips place because I am disabled and type slowly, thumb stab by thumb stab.

    So, my thoughts: THIS IS BIG AND MYSTERIOUS. FACT OR KABUKI?

    I think both. Building on SR’s cogent analysis on Chips, I say:

    yes, SR, I am relieved. PBO was either thinking what Lawrence O’Donnell has been saying (SAY but not meet all demands; theater). My gut tells me PBO really wants reform of the entire system, but after meeting with the Democratic leadership yesterday AFTER an obvious tactical leak from the DEM side (3 trillion/triggered tax reform, no immediate tax hikes), the die was cast.

    No Grand Bargain.

    PBO now must shift to the blame game. Lawrence will say that was the plan all along. I disagree.

    But in this game of cards, Boehner folded after saying, “call”, and will reap the consequences.

    BUT, beware. America does not want only the Bernie Sanders’s declaration of victory; they want results.

    PBO has a big task next week keeping public opinion on his side.

  20. PBHO *WAS* awesome…

    He was “pi**’d” at the Speaker John “The Boner” Boehner, the TeaPublican Leadership and the TeaPublican Party…Period!

    Now, that’s a Leader…’The Only Adult In The Room’!

    GO PBHO GO! :grin:

    YES.WE.CAN…DO.(Much)More, Together!
    YES.WE.CAN, Again…Obama/Biden 2012!
    I’M IN…FIRED UP & GOIN’! ;)

  21. Fantabulous indeed.. from the first second to the last- he schooled the whole dang country and took Boehner and Cohorts to the woodshed.. and the media too.

  22. This was a masterful press conference – I would say the best I’ve seen of him so far and I’ve seen plenty very good ones.

  23. You know what folks, if you can- this is an excellent moment in time to DONATE to OFA.. and to call / email the White House and let him know he has millions of voices in his corner.

  24. I stand in awe-I think it was his national security person who said after the Bin laden operation “I would not want to play poker with him.” To paraphrase Kenny Rogers, he knew when to hold ‘em, when to fold ‘em, when to walk away and when to hold a presser saying “I tried, they walked.”

    Okay, he also scared the living shit out of me. Jes sayin’.

  25. Please listen to this when you hear the President: “I have been left at the altar before,” If you are going to be a leader, then you must lead.” Get you popcorn, wine, tea, and listen to our President of the United States.

  26. I was in another room when I heard CBS interrupt their regular show and then I heard the President’s voice. I ran into the room, heard what he was saying and I started jumping up and down on my bed! HE WAS ON FIRE! GLOVES ARE OFF!

    IT. IS.ON!

    Way to go Mr. President!

  27. Wow, Mr. President. He just called out Boehner as a wimp unable to lead and called out the House Republicans as wholly owned by Norquist.

    Loved the end when he told the GOP that if they want to be called leaders, then lead!

    [And then in my mind he threw the mic down and walked away (LOL)].

  28. Boehner is on now with his response. Now we’ll see how the press reports on
    things. Wanna bet how it’s portrayed??? As for me, I thought our president was
    AWESOME!!!!!!!!

  29. p.s.; in case anyone doubts me comments; HE WAS EMPHATIC. A defining moment amongst many for years to come.

  30. Now that was some thing. To the point and direct.

    I want the Dems to stay strong and just let the president loose. No on can make a case better than he can.

    I was at awe and fatuously stupified with pride.

    That was awesome.

  31. We did just see a leader lead. Truly he is the only adult in the room and more of the public is starting to understand this. Sorry but I had to mute Pat Robertson who is as old as I, but just didn’t have the stomach to listen. Also the tan man is on mute now. Gotten where I just can’t listen to these crazies.

  32. I think there is no “homosexual agenda”. I think its a human rights agenda and everyone can understand why that’s important.

  33. Here’s how this saga has played out:

    1. The Republicans primary and original talking point (after Pres took out Bin Laden) was the issue of debt and deficits. They were the ones who originally decided to put up a fuss about simply raising the debt ceiling. And to this day, their Teabag caucus still does not want a clean raising of the debt ceiling. They were (and still are) hoping that this issue would dog the president through the 2012 elections because that’s all they have.

    2. President Obama said, okay, if that’s what you guys want, then lets go for it. We will accomplished this with a balanced approach where both parties compromise. There will stuff that I (and my party) don’t like, and I am willing to take heat from my party about it, and I expect that you too will be serious enough to take heat from your base by including revenues.

    3. The Republicans then balked – once the issue of revenues were put on the table – even though the President was willing to negotiate by putting all entitlement spending on the table.

    4. By balking, the Repoublicans effectively signaled to the American people that they were not really concerned about the debt and deficit, since the corporation tax breaks and tax cuts are one of the biggest sources of the current deficit.

    5. This issue of debt and deficits has been severely weakened as a GOP talking point for all the above reasons.

  34. That was fantastic. Take that Republicans! They made him angry and you don’t want to make PBO angry. lol. Seriously, the tea party idiots need to be talked to like the children they are and since Boehner lacks the will, courage or whatever to do so, the President just showed him how to do it.

  35. Lorraine you are stereotyping African-Americans by implying that they are homophobic and bigoted. That is not true. Washington DC, a state with a high proportion of AAs is one of the few the US to have legalized same-sex marriage. And gays come in all races and ethnicities – including African-American.

  36. We saw President Obama’s press conference, and we felt exactly what he was feeling. It is incredulous to think that the republicans are willing to allow our country to default and that their pledge to this Norquist guy and their corporate sponsors mean more to them than the pledge they swore when they became members of Congress. I am totally convinced beyond a shadow of a doubt that the GOP/Teapublicans care nothing for this nation. It is all about them and their associates and their demands. The only good thing about this is that the majority of Americans and everyone else around the world looking in can now see this. They are willing to tank our economy and the international economy (once again–as if 2008 wasn’t enough) for what–power and money. The GOP/Teapublicans must be voted out, and I feel certain that they will be.

    As to what the President will do, I don’t know but I do know he has a plan. He plays the long game. I am not worry at all because I trust that he will always do what is right for America and the American people. We are staying cool, strong, focussed and united behind President Obama. Peace

  37. Very impressive speech by PBO. Direct, straight-forward, to the point… and his hits on the GOTP ?leadership? were above the belt and straight to the head. “Way to go PBO… looks like another GOTP TKO”. But I won’t be totally satisfied until they’re DOWN FOR THE COUNT.

    But what was even more ridiculous than PBO was impressive was Rep. Boehner’s rebuttle. Is he really THAT obtuse? Or is he just that full of … well, you know. It’s hard to fathom that a man in his position can be that deluded while blatantly lying to AND about the American people in regard to raising the Debt Ceiling.

    “HEY JOHN ORANGE… THE AMERICAN PEOPLE ARE “NOT” BEHIND THE GOTP ON THIS AND YOUR PARTY “DOES NOT” REPRESENT “THE WILL OF PEOPLE”… in every and any legitimate poll you can find, Americans in general are overwhelmingly AGAINST the Teapublibagger Party on THIS especially… among “other” things. Get through your unbelievably thick head and cancel the GOTP played out jedi-mind trick talking points. They no longer apply or influence and have become VERY tired.

    As for PBO… he put it down… with the cool, calm and calculated justifiable comeuppance he’s known for. The “Obama” way. Brilliant.

  38. “I’m concerned about his African-American base that support traditional marriage only.”

    what exactly is that supposed to mean?

  39. Don’t worry about the AA base because of the marriage issue which is ordained by God. Every man and woman will answer to Him and Him only. The fight is about someones basic right and freedom.

  40. I really feel for the President…He looks tired…..I wish I lived in close to where Bohener lived, I will be picketing marching in your face everywhere he went…just like what they doing in WI with S.Walker. I am so disgusted by his actions….
    This is not leadership…and we must let him know that we have PBO’s back

  41. This was a beauty!!!! The Prez was on fire and, I love how he ended the presser. He was stern and he was focused. Boehner is cooked. McConnell is cooked and Repugs are done. The Prez just made a case that the opposition is irresponsible ; lacking in leadership skills.and therefore, leaving the only adult in the room to ensure that the U.S does not default. This leaves the prez in position to actually single-handedly go ahead and deal with this issue.

    The Prez left Repugs and their msm supporters in the gutter.

  42. Wow. That last 2 minutes or so was as powerful an off-the-cuff, public statement by any politician I have ever heard. That’s going to be in campaign commercials, mark my word.

  43. I said it before and I will say it again:
    The inaction of those who could have acted; the indifference of those who should have known better; the silence of the voice of justice when it mattered most; that has made it possible for evil to triumph.”

    PLEASE CALL…CALL…202-225-6205 The Speaker

  44. The last three minutes of this video need to be packaged off into it’s own vid so it can be passed around and hopefully go viral. Passionate stuff that absolutely needed to be said and needs to be heard.

  45. Chips or WIW needs to cut it out and make it it’s own vid ASAP. Then we need to get it out to all of our contacts and those contacts need to spread it.

  46. Yes, I saw and heard that. it was beautifully delivered. bonner is cooked. The dysfunction in the GOP has been exposed. Their divided loyalties have been exposed and, the Prez made it clear that the Dems showed up every time!! Bonner and the Tbags are done.

  47. O’Donnell has that milque toast Andrea Mitchell on, and he’s also crowing about how the President wasn’t really planning to have a big deal, but that all he wanted was raising the debt limit.

  48. I support traditional marriage, but it’s not my call, so no need to worry about us AAs. We’re used to handling all kinds of adversity and diversity, better than most peoples, so we will not bale on PBO. We know that he is supported by people of all persuasions, ideologies, and preferences. As for that shameful lie, AAs were not responsible for that proposition in Cally some time ago (I forget the number). That was the media playing us, again, Lorraine.

  49. Oh, my Gosh – I love this man! He is so real – don’t know why those people can’t see it. I am e-mailing and calling my Red Robbers (TX) and also sending a note to WH to thank PBO. Yes He Can. Yes We Can! Again! Thanks BWD and all for what you bring to this space every day. I couldn’t make it without you – and that is for real, too..

  50. The so very able President Barack Obama, has proven with his willingness to compromise, that there is a mind set that obviously wants to push the perception that the American economic system collapsed because of his leadership. We all know the condition of the economy when PBO came into office. The economic activities that played out did not just appear when he took the oath of office. He is confident because he knows he has done what he is supposed to do. No one can perceive what he perceives from his position. We can speculate and say what we would do, but that has no grounds for what he feels should be done. We did not vote for him because we felt he would do what we told him. We voted for him because along with us standing behind him he would make the best decision for all of us. Let us not forget that he will get the job done.

  51. So if you are true to God’s Holy Word you ate a bigot? Now who is stereotyping? So sad.

  52. I saw from the beginning that Mr. Boehner had taken on too much. You could see the fear in him when he took that gavel. Now, you really want to see and hear who The Speaker of the House should carry out the business of the people of this country, take a long look at Nancy Pelosi. Now she was a Speaker of the House, and she will be our Speaker again. Just count on it.

  53. Lorraine it sounds like you are HOMOPHOBIC!! I know plenty of AA gays and there are some in my family. Stop stereotyping dear. I am a devout Christain and in God’s kingdom because of the Son he so blessed us with there is room for all his children. Take note! :)

  54. Lorraine – you said “I just want him to remember his words on other issues, especially being beholden to the homosexual agenda. I’m concerned about his African-American base that support traditional marriage only.”

    What exactly is that supposed to mean? Clarification please.

  55. she is referencing the black community’s attitudes towards gay people.

  56. I was thinking the same thing about the public opinion piece. FOLKS were in euphoria with his stern presser tonite, but we better hope the public doesn’t turn on him with no deal at hand. The Rethugs can still turn this around to look like it is PBO’s fault. The Democrats better be on the same page with messaging from here on out. Obama/Biden 2012!!

  57. she was saying, the african american community has distaste for the LGBT community. if he was too supportive of the community, he might lose AA votes.

  58. Same—-thought it was a thing of beauty—-do not cry for me, Argentina. I’m in charge and know exactly what I’m doing. “A big win by the President” according to Lawrence O’Donnell. Even Andrea Mitchell agreed—-Obama has won the perception of this whole deal—-he was on first tonight, communicated brilliantly, made the case that the Repubs are only interested in protecting tax cuts for billionaires, made that clear to the American people, won this war.

  59. Tori, I heard that, and my pressure went up higher than it should be. Speaker Boehner is and will never be the person of leadership as President Barack H. Obama. Never. It is not even close. Yes, we will make him a one term speaker. Remember how words of hatered and setting up traps for goodness will come back to hit you in the gut,,well the next time they say that about the President, we know where karma will land.

  60. Yes it is GGail. This give those on the fence something to grab on to, I pray. He was brilliant as usual. This is the President that I have always known that we have in that Oval Office. How childish to compare the President (especially this President) to jello. Jello? The WH(President Barack Obama) is as solid as a diamond if you have ever seen one.

  61. Yes, and I just heard again the amazing fact that the top1% now owns more than the bottom 90%———unbelievable inequality, and that top 1% is who the Repubs are working for and were representing in these talks. Mind-boggling.

  62. Hi MufsMon. remember in an interview when he stated something about (parapharsing) when he feels that he is being played, watch out? This President does not like to be played especially at the expense of the middle-class working people who need mature,sincere, serious grown adults at the table looking out for them and for their families.

  63. There is no “homosexual agenda” There is equal rights for all. All reasonable people should be able to see the sense and sensibility of that.

  64. Even Old Orange has two top rec’d diaries praising the President…what a contrast from yesterday!!

  65. I do not think that you need to worry about that at all Lorraine. The President is not beholden to any group on this issue. He is for equal rights for all. Let God deal with the other aspects. The scripture teaches us in Matt. 7: not to judge…. very simple. I wonder why?

  66. So far everyone is calling it a “no contest”. Obama has won the message war. He is a brilliant communicator and that was in clear evidence tonight. Details are in dispute—-Obama said he would release the “tick tock” as they’re calling it, all the minute by minute unfolding of events, all the paperwork on the deals, so we shall see. But I see it as Obama prevailing with his main message tonight—- that the Repubs were really only interested in protecting tax cuts for billionaires, that it never was about debt and deficit.

  67. I guess we should prepare ourselves for the inevitable “a pox on both their houses” analysis by the lazy media stenographers. Steve Benen wrote about the phenomenon earlier this week.

    WHEN ONLY ONE HOUSE DESERVES THE POX:

    Let me put this as plainly as I know how: if you’re watching this debt-ceiling fiasco, and you think both parties are equally responsible for the mess, then you’re simply not paying close enough attention.

    Forget subjective questions and consider the basics. GOP leaders are saying they want a deal that’s 100% in their favor. If they don’t get what they want, many Republicans are at least open to crashing the economy on purpose. As the process unfolds and the deadline draws closer, the GOP line is hardening and becoming more extreme.

    In contrast, we have the Obama White House and congressional Democratic leaders, who are prepared to accept all kinds of concessions to make Republicans happy. This includes a series of compromise offers that lean heavily in the GOP’s favor.

    There’s no question here which side of the political divide is open to compromise. There’s also no question which side has rejected any and all attempts at finding common ground.

    http://www.washingtonmonthly.com/political-animal/2011_07/when_only_one_house_deserves_t030917.php#

  68. Pray this prayer daily
    This prayer , Our Father, is for President Barack Obama. Heavenly Father, I pray this prayer in the power of the Holy Spirit. In the name of Jesus Christ to bind, rebuke, cast out and bring to no effect all spirits of division, discord, disunity, strife, anger, wrath, , criticism, condemnation, pride, envy, jealousy, gossip, slander, evil speaking, complaining, lying, false teaching, false gifts, false manifestations, lying signs and wonders, complaining spirits, hindering spirits, retaliatory spirits, deceiving spirits, occult spirits, witchcraft spirits. Lord bind and break all curses that have been spoken against Obama., bind all spoken judgments made against him, bind the power of negative words from others, and bind and render useless all prayers not inspired by the Holy Spirit; that have been prayed against him.
    No weapon formed against Obama shall prosper. Lord I pray that the Holy Spirit guides him and lead him into victory. Lord take authority over Satan and all his demons, and those people who are influenced by him. I declare Satan is under Obama feet and shall remain there.
    The Obamas are God’s property. Satan you are bound from his family, his mind, his body, his home, and the country finances.. Whatsoever Obama set his hands to do shall prosper for God supplies all his needs.
    Anoint Obama God for all you have called him to do for you. I ask you God, in the name of Jesus, that you dispatch angels to surround Obama his spouse and children, In the name of Jesus I pray that you will send angels to protect the white house from any intrusion and to protect Obama and his family from any harmful demonic or other physical or mental attacks. I ask this prayer in the name of Jesus. Amen.

  69. Agree, I didn’t see a bit of weariness, and man, if anyone deserved to be weary, it is President Obama. But I didn’t see any poor tired man either. I saw a remarkable leader with a multitude of talents, fired up and making his case brilliantly to the American people.

  70. I feel ya LL. The Democratic comeback is in FULL swing as of tonite.

  71. Exactly!! I did not see any exahaustion. I wish folks would stop forming an image that isn’t there. PBO thrives off of this type of stuff. He was in RARE form tonite. Some folks seem to forget that the Prez learned from the best street politicians back in the HOOD of Chicago. He is the ultimate organizer. This is childs play for him. If you can survive the snake pit of Chicago politics you can survive anything. KEEP HOPE ALIVE!! Obama/Biden 2012!!

  72. What a striking difference between the 111th (Pelosi) congress and 112th (Boner)…this alone boggles my mind.

  73. So, the WH did ask for $400B more in tax revenue; BUT, it was negotiable. It wasn’t a hard position. Boehner just took it as an excuse to break off the talks.

  74. He is NOT TIRED!! I ADRESSED this upstream. Stop with the theatrics and making him look like he is frail and without energy. PBO was on fire and is feeding off of this which is giving him more energy. Honestly some of you people like to live in a world of DOOM!!

  75. Sab…he’s only human…He can look tired and still perform, no matter the drive, sometimes our physical bodies shows the strain, the grayin…that doesn’t mean he’s not fired up…and it doesn’t mean that hes frail…just an observation. and we should be able to speak our minds.

  76. Yes we will….Just hope these idiots, don’t vote against their best interest like they did in 2010. I pray that America will soon Wake the hell UP.

  77. I missed the press conference as I didn’t know there was going to be one. I watched this morning’s townhall or was that yesterday? Anyhow, thanks BWD for this post and to the person who put the link to the press conference video.
    As was said by someone posting I voted for this President not because I thought he would do everything I wanted, but for his decision making. I am confident he will make the best decisions given the facts as compared with anyone else. I am proud of him and I pray that if he has to sign the deficit ceiling raising without the GOP voting for it that the voters will take out the Teapartiers and replace them with Dems in ’12.

  78. Obama Gets A Hickory Stick And Takes The GOP To The Woodshed

    This was a masterful use of the bully pulpit, by a president who often gets criticized by those on the left and right for not showing enough emotion. At this press conference, Obama showed more than emotion. He revealed where his heart is. This president is trying to protect the most vulnerable members of our society, and those who are hurting in this recession.

    The message was clear and powerful. Republicans want to cut the deficit by hurting those who are most in need of our help. Republicans are more interested in playing politics than reducing the debt. Republicans are cowards who refuse to make the tough decisions. Most importantly, his message to average Americans was I am here working for you. I am willing to make the tough decisions, and take the heat from my own party for uncomfortable compromises.

    Not only did Obama position himself as working for the American people, but he painted the Republicans as Washington politicians who are beholden to their ideology and special interests.

    http://www.politicususa.com/en/obama-gop-woodshed

  79. Who the heck is Boehner not to take The President’s phone call…God forbid this was a security threat…or a natural disaster, and the President acted alone..then I dare this mofos ask anything to why, they weren’t informed….These folks are some sick sick puppies…and will be glad when they are voted off ASAP.
    Sick and tired of being sick and tired.

  80. Well, those are the reasons I voted for him, i.e., I thought he had a good enough head on his shoulders to lead this country in the right direction. I have not been disappointed. I’m totally in for 2012. Thanks Rasheedah, and have a blessed night :-D

  81. MSNBC is making it hard on Rev Al as he learns the ropes by inflicting way too many assholes on him. Uncle Pat needs to be gone and I don’t think much of Bill Press and wonder why Joe Madison pops up now and then. Rev. Al was trying to balance a ridiculous cast of characters while dealing with a huge story that had just broken.

  82. I suspect that, having knocked the GOP off their balance with that masterful barrage of punches, the release of the tick-tock will turn out to be the knockout blow. The media will pore through the details of negotiations over the weekend, digest them, and by the start of the coming week’s news cycle will have a full picture of just how insanely unreasonable and intransigent the Republicans have been. Oh, there’ll be the usual attempts at spin to make Obama look bad, but it’s the party of “NO!” that’s going to be revealed for the cockroaches they are when the light shines on them.

    Wanna bet there are a lot of GOP diapers filling up right now as the realization sinks in that all their backroom baloney is going to see the light of day?

  83. It was a clip once appearing on Daily Kos TV but is now 404-file not found. I did find a webpage giving the text, though:

    http://www.democraticunderground.com/discuss/duboard.php?az=view_all&address=132×8200186

    Talking about his demeanor and his approach, Barack Obama says…

    “I don’t like people trying to take advantage of that,
    so if I get any sense that people are….

    this is why actually if you watch my political interactions,
    I’m always best as a counterpuncher.

    You know, if someone comes at me, I will Knock them out,
    if not, than I will try to understand their point of view….
    and that actually serves me well…..I give people the benefit of the doubt, I try to understand their point of view….

    but IF I perceive that they are trying to take advantage of that, I will Crush them.” – Barack Obama, 2007

  84. The claim that African Americans “have a distaste” for LGBTs is false. This is has been polled and analyzed pretty heavily — The (very slight) difference from Caucasians can be more than explained in terms of religiosity.

  85. She was saying that In keeping with “God’s holy word” AAs are against homosexuality, but this is flawed on so many levels. First of all, AA’s are not against the LGBT community anymore than any other group. Second of all, if you’re gonna use the bible to support your stance on homosexuality, then you need to also use the bible for things like pre-marital sex, extramarital sex, fornication and other activities that the bible supposedly condemns. Can’t use the bible for some things but not others – that’s as bad as the Repubs and Teabaggers’ “Christian family values” hypocrisy.

  86. Prezactly!

    And if it turns out to be the McConnell-Reid arglebargle solution, and the GOP think, “Well, it’s all right, we can howl with rage every time he vetoes our votes of disapproval and raises the debt ceiling between now and the election, haha!” — well, have they stopped to consider that this gives President Obama the perfect springboard to remind the country, once again, that it’s the Republicans who aren’t serious about fixing things, but care only about serving their plutocratic masters?

    You’d think by now the GOP would have figured out that they’re Wile E. Coyote and President Obama is the Roadrunner.

  87. I agree. I thought he was impassioned, but frustrated by the stupid and self centered

  88. Agreed. He was definitely NOT tired. It is obvious that our President got super pumped after coming from that Townhall. He was energized by the graciousness and enthusiasm of the all the young people who camped out all night just to hear the few words he had to say. He was energized by the determination of the schoolteachers, the disabled gentleman, the elderly guy and the doctoral student, and many others, all of whom took time out of THEIR hectic and difficult schedules to attend this townhall, because they all have a stake in this country’s future. And when he contrasted these gracious townhall attendees with the spoilt, overindulged, narcissistic brats in the Repub congress whose only concern is pleasing Grover Norquist and Mobil Exxon, I could totally understand why he was so angry.

  89. I don’t know how he has so much power, but the fact that just about ALL the republicans have signed that pledge of Norquist’s. When they were sworn in, they took and oath to uphold the constitution. No place in there did it ever say they were taking an oath to a private citizen (superseding the one they swore to uphold in the constitution) nor did it mention surrendering their judgement to a private citizen. The only thing they swore allegiance to was the constitution and the American people. Not some guy named Grover Norquist. They can not properly preserve and protect the country if their hands are tied and their minds are closed. Signing this pledge makes them all unfit to do their jobs, and to my way of thinking, should be an impeachable offense.I have the list of signers if anyone is interested.

  90. Kasai. I agree that he looked tired. I think he really is the hardest working man FOR America.

    But I also think he was energized because he’s been wanting to do this for awhile now. And Speaker Boehner gave him the PERFECT opportunity!!

    We are all so fired up from hearing a side of him, that we knew was there, but had never seen.

    HUGS and KISSES all around.

    Now, let’s all either donate money to OFA or register/update some voters. Or How about doing BOTH!!!

    OBAMA/BIDEN 2012! WE GET SHIT DONE!!!

  91. I’m AA and totally agree with your assessment EDP4BHO. The AA community has this presidents’ back like they have most democrats in recent years well most AA’s except Dr. West, Tavis Smiley, Michael Steele, sure there are more…

  92. I have to turn off of TV when argumentative Pat is on. He makes my blood pressure rise. Our President is totally awesome!

  93. .I have not watched Keith I hope you are right LL. now do you think the PL will listen?

  94. Sounds like is right. I’d love some lawyer here to tell us if we can do something about this:)

  95. Great Idea sherijr! I will send my small check to OFA tomorrow because I don’t do credit cards any any more.

  96. Today I witnessed a real leader who is not afraid to take the heat when he believes he is doing the right thing for the American people. Today I witnessed a president who is deeply focused on solving the economic stress facing regular Americans. Today I was thankful that a courageous woman, BWD, who was really ahead of her time, created this site, where people who admired, and had faith in, the President could gather and exchange ideas. Today, we must all applaud BWD for her foresight in recognizing that President Obama was “The Only Adult in the Room.” Of course BWD had before cited evidence that led her to her position, but today’s masterful performance by President Obama completely vindicated her.

    All I can say is Wow ,and thanks, to BWD for you dedication and political insight! I also want to thank all the brilliant people who, post comments on this site, and who never lost faith in President Obama.

  97. xylemtg4,

    So will you be there defending PBO when the Republican dominated House of Representative embarks on impeaching him? Raising the debt ceiling is a responsibility of Congress. Why are you, or the NYT, not putting pressure on Congress? Putting pressure on the President to invoke the unprecedented 14th Amendment remedy is really malicious and unfair! I am sorry, but you and the NYT are cowards. You should be out there putting pressure on the Republicans to raise the debt ceiling; something that previous congresses have done as a routine matter.

  98. yeah right. Impeach him and watch the republicans lose worse then they did when they tried the same thing on Clinton.

  99. The economy would have to reach catastrophic levels AFTER the debt ceiling failed to pass CONGRESS in order for the POTUS to invoke the 14th Amendment. Not before… not during… AFTER the debt ceiling fails to pass Congress. So if the NYT and people are alluding to PBO invoking the 14th before or during a debt ceiling failure crisis, they’re either (1) ignorant of the procedure via the Constitution, (2) been misled by the MSM like sheep to slaughter, or (3) so contemptuous of THIS POTUS that they HOPE he does something to warrant impeachment… or a combination of any or all of the three.

    Raising the Debt Ceiling is the responsibility of Congress, NOT the President…. and the POTUS can only invoke the 14th Amendment in case of a dire economic emergency AFTER the U.S. defaults on its financial obligations. Period. So I hope that clears things up for those that prioritize melodrama over facts.

    This is why so many superiority complexed, ignorantly deluded, carelessly contemptuous Republicans are willing to let the U.S. go into default and are willing to gamble against all odds with this Nation’s future solvency “just for” political posturing and to destroy THIS President… even if they have to destroy the collective fabric of this Nation to do it. After all, “they” and the 1% of population that controls 90% of the wealth that they REALLY work for will be just fine… because that’s all they REALLY care about. So “Politics” aside… the REPUGNANTicans are simply parsimoniously pathetic excuses for HUMAN BEINGS.

  100. I am reading this a couple of hours later, but the clip you are referring to is so good I had to find it on youtube. It is from the Keene Sentinel editorial interview 11/27/2007.

    Enjoy!

  101. You know what is truly beautiful in all this? When you read Speaker Boehner’s “letter to his colleagues” announcing his walking away from the table, and then listen when Obama said “he told Speaker Boehner {and company} he expects them at the White House at 11am tomorrow” there is a certain parent / child dynamic and tone that is unmistakable!

    It’s as if John Boehner is the little kid who didn’t finish his homework, and Obama is saying: “Oh, I don’t think so! Turn off the Xbox, get your ass back in the kitchen, grab your pencil sharpener and don’t even try and pull something like this again!”

    Go ahead, read the Speaker’s letter, then watch the beginning of Obama’s presser. I swear, I need a cigarette…..

  102. Bingo!!! Eclectic11, You couldn’t have explained it any better, Thank you:-)

    My take on your thoughts if I may respond.

    I don’t think #1 reason being is that,some (Old Republicans) are too smart not to know about the Constitution, they voted for for D/C plenty of times n the past under “Different” Presidents.

    I don’t think is #2 :The Media, including most liberal cable channels, have nothing good to say about PBO as of lately, they criticize him before he even utter a word. Sunday talk shows is just an Obama bashing fest, we have Fox that is dedicated to smear PBO 24/7.

    I am going with #3..Due to the fact..The amount of hatred toward this President is enormous, not only does he have to fight Repubicans, Teaparty, P/L but also people that haven’t got over the fact that He’s a Black Man, we’ve seen bigotry come alive in the era of Obama, as much as I want to believe that this country has made progress, when I see Republicans/Teaparties willing to destroy this country to dust, willing to vote against their best interest, in order to see this President fail, it quite telling.

    If it is… all that your mentioned….GOD HELP US!!!

    Forget the Media The tweets,Email and Blogs for a while…

    This country may be ready for a serious Civil Rights March and Movement.

  103. Precisely. Did you hear that OHIO??? Get rid of Boner and the rest of the GOP (RHINOS–all). I hope we can move a Dem landslide across the whole country. Second term Pres O and a real Dem majority–could be poetic!

  104. I don’t know… but even the mainstream media is wondering why that nutjob has so much power. On MSNBC a few days ago, Andrea Mrs. Greenspan Mitchell asked a Republican, “Who made Grover Norquist king?” and i spluttered my coffee. A worthy question. Why do Republicans take marching orders from their deity, Rush, and their king, Grover?

  105. Thought the President was awesome, articulate and perfectly legitimate in his anger and frustration.
    I also think there is the under current of racism that is working against him, causing problems that no other President has had to endure, all the more reason he should be re-elected, .. we need him and his particular insight. and it is despicable and so old.. time for this country to get over it.
    I too think Pat Buchanon needs to go away somewhere, so tired of his nonsense.

  106. You can find the 14th Amendment all over the internet…. all you have to do is find and read it. And if you have above average comprehension and “basic” critical thinking skills, you should be able understand the details. Listening to talking heads and bloggers who regurgitate what talking heads spin for their own self-exhalation teaches you very little. So… DO YOUR RESEARCH… you’ll feel better about what you “know” instead of thinking you know because of what you “heard”.

  107. On YOUR response to #1… Don’t be so sure. Republicans, “in general”, aren’t as “smart” as you think they are… ESPECIALLY the “old ones”. There’s no fool like an old fool… and old fools used to be young fools. You don’t become a fool at a certain age; you just become deluded by and comfortable with being one as you get older… and it seems others become comfortable with your “tenured” foolishness as well. Being “ego slick” and being “essentially” smart are two different concepts… and Repugs are MUCH slicker than they are smarter. The past 40 years of their governing history proves that beyond ANY doubt. So in essence, that makes them “willfully” ignorant and devoid of social consciousness and accountability. But they ARE “slick” and should NEVER be underestimated.

    On #2… the MSM has a formula for ratings: Controversialize PBO, spin it out of control, and watch the minions roll in and their ratings go up. Fox News on the right… the Ed Show on the left. People forget that before PBO came on the scene, the news media world was on the edge of dissolution and bankruptcy… especially newspapers. So the 1st “African-American” president essentially “bailed them out” because they all knew that whatever he did or said, “America” would react. They should be donating to PBO’s campaign fund for all the “news” he’s given them…. because he essentially “bailed them out” just by being himself. LOL!

    On #3… The 1st Black “anything” in America catches hell. So I and I’m sure many other people, as well as PBO, knew the racially charged disdain for him was to be expected in “America” given it’s WELL DOCUMENTED racist and discriminatory history. There’s be no “Tea Party” if Obama hadn’t been elected POTUS. You mean to tell me there was no Tea Party for 8 years under the Bush-Cheney Administration?!… the most unlawful, un-American, dishonest, and economically inept Administration of our times?!?! Oh yeah, they were “rich white men”, so it’s “all good”.

    This is why the GOTP has no shame in the way they manipulate the political landscape and are brazenly open about their intentions to destroy PBO, suppress the vote, strip union rights, over subsidize the rich while obliterating the poor and dissolving the middle eco classes, lambaste the Stimulus program in public while begging for Stimulus cash in private the taking credit for how the money helped their states and districts…. and even put up fake Dems to run against real Dems in Wisc. “Recall a Republican” elections. NO shame in their game… the President’s “Black” (in THEIR minds, “inferior”), so ANYthing goes and no matter how many times and how badly Repugs EFF up, they’re still better than “him”. The GO(T)P is too superiority complexed to let their hypocrisy and willful ignorance get in the way of INEVITABLE social progress and its reality.

    “I WAAANT MY COUNTRY BAAAACK!!” That was the right wing shot heard around the World that should’ve let people know exactly what to expect from the Neo-Conned Right in response to THIS President after “1/20/2009″. And to sum it all up in 8 words on how I DEEPLY feel about them… “Ruck the Feapublicans and Tuck the Fea Party”.

    Obama/Biden/Dem Super Majority Congress 2012

  108. Sorry for the dupe post. But I wrote it so fast, I made a few semantic errors that I HAD to correct. This one is what I REALLY meant to say…

    On YOUR response to #1… Don’t be so sure. Republicans, “in general”, aren’t as “smart” as you think they are… ESPECIALLY the “old ones”. There’s no fool like an old fool… and old fools used to be young fools. You don’t become a fool at a certain age; you just become deluded by and comfortable with being one as you get older… and it seems others become comfortable with your “tenured” foolishness as well. Being “ego slick” and being “essentially” smart are two different concepts… and Repugs are MUCH slicker than they are smarter. The past 40 years of their governing history proves that beyond ANY doubt. So in essence, that makes them “willfully” ignorant and devoid of social consciousness and accountability. But they ARE “slick” and should NEVER be underestimated.

    On #2… the MSM has a formula for ratings: Controversialize PBO, spin it out of control, and watch the minions roll in and their ratings go up. Fox News on the right… the Ed Show on the left. People forget that before PBO came on the scene, the news media world was on the edge of dissolution and bankruptcy… especially newspapers. So the 1st “African-American” president essentially “bailed them out” because they all knew that whatever he did or said, “America” would react. They should be donating to PBO’s campaign fund for all the “news” he’s given them…. because he essentially “bailed them out” just by being himself. LOL!

    On #3… The 1st Black “anything” in America catches hell. So I and I’m sure many other people, as well as PBO, knew the racially charged disdain for him was to be expected in “America” given it’s WELL DOCUMENTED racist and discriminatory history. There’d be no “Tea Party” if Obama hadn’t been elected POTUS. You mean to tell me there was no Tea Party for 8 years under the Bush-Cheney Administration?!… the most unlawful, un-American, dishonest, and economically inept Administration of our times?!?! Oh yeah, they were “rich white men”, so it’s “all good”.

    This is why the GOTP has no shame in the way they manipulate the political landscape and are brazenly open about their intentions to destroy PBO, suppress the vote, strip union rights, over subsidize the rich while obliterating the poor and dissolving the middle eco classes, lambaste the Stimulus program in public while begging for Stimulus cash in private the taking credit for how the money helped their states and districts…. and even put up fake Dems to run against real Dems in Wisc. “Recall a Republican” elections. NO shame in their game… the President’s “Black” (in THEIR minds, “inferior”), so ANYthing goes and no matter how many times and how badly Repugs EFF up, they’re still better than “him”. The GO(T)P is too superiority complexed to let their hypocrisy and willful ignorance take a back seat to INEVITABLE social progress and its reality.

    “I WAAANT MY COUNTRY BAAAACK!!” That was the right wing shot heard around the World that should’ve let people know exactly what to expect from the Neo-Conned Right in response to THIS President after “1/20/2009″.

    And to sum it all up in 8 words on how I DEEPLY feel about the Neo-conned Right Wing… “Ruck the Feapublicans and Tuck the Fea Party”.

    Obama/Biden/Dem Super Majority Congress 2012

  109. As *she* characterizes it. What’s this about “the black community?” We all live in the same town now? I must have missed notice of the move.

  110. It’s now or never Wendy. Either we as a country decide here and now that “the content of someone’s character” has precedence over “the color of their skin”… or face the inevitable demise of this Nation because of the nefarious and conscientious suppression of that ideal.

    Throughout history, ALL great nations eventually fell… and America will be no exception to that rule. But more than in any other time in the past, “we the people” get to decide “when” and “how” that will happen. But since America is sociologically unique, if its its diversity is positively defined while postively effecting its endless resources, we may be able to avoid absolute dissolution altogether and remain a great Nation for centuries to come. But that’s a big “may be” given the way things are going NOW.

    Because if an African-American POTUS is a main part of “the test”, America “in general” is failing miserably… but there IS still time to pass the “make up” exam.

    And I’m with you… why Pat Buchanan still revered as a political analyst? Or viewed at all for that matter? He is a dinosaur from another era from the primordial ooze of socio-politics … and he’s even more irrelevant now than he was then.

Leave a Reply

