Dick Mr. Halperin, This is for you:

*

*
*

Don’t get mad, get even.

*

************************************************************************************

*

Today’s schedule:

11:00 AM
The President and The Vice President receive the Presidential Daily Briefing
Oval Office
Closed Press
11:30 AM
The President meets with senior advisors
Oval Office
Closed Press
12:30 PM
The President and The Vice President meet for lunch
Private Dining Room
Closed Press
3:15 PM
The President departs the South Lawn en route Joint Base Andrews
South Lawn
Open Press
3:30 PM
The President departs Joint Base Andrews en route Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Joint Base Andrews
Travel Pool Coverage
4:15 PM
The President arrives in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Philadelphia International Airport
Open Press
5:35 PM
The President delivers remarks at a DNC event
The Hyatt at the Bellevue
Pooled TV, Open to Correspondents
8:30 PM
The President delivers remarks at a DNC event
Private Residence
Print Pool
9:50 PM
The President departs Philadelphia, Pennsylvania en route Joint Base Andrews
Philadelphia International Airport
Travel Pool Coverage
10:35 PM
The President arrives at Joint Base Andrews
Joint Base Andrews
Travel Pool Coverage
10:50 PM
The President arrives at the White House
South Lawn
Open Press

 

*************************************************************************************

*

This is A MUST SEE: President Obama tells the LGBT community the real truth. A fierce advocate if there ever were one.

*

**********************************************************************

137 thoughts on “Dick Mr. Halperin, This is for you:

  1. I was just about to e-mail you BWD. I plan to get even, but, since I am damned angry, I left a missive on the NBC comment line explaining this idiot needs to be fired and those who laughed, at best, suspended without pay indefinitely. This is an outrage.

  2. Thank you BWD. I just read on TOD that Dan Pfeiffer twitted that there is going to be a big announcement today regarding the President and Twitter. I have no clue what this is about – any ideas? I don’t think it’s related to the donations.

  3. Waiting for you to comment BWD and you did not disappoint me. Think I am just going to have to go over and give a bit more $$$ in Mark Halperin’s name. Will give at the OFA site so that it shows up!

  4. Halperin is a loser. He is frustrated because the Prez keeps outsmarting all the Repugs. Halperin is so confused, his attempt to promote T-Paw fell flat, he now knows Huntsman is a monotone without intellect and Bachmann is a shrill brainless wannabe who will fall flat. What is left for Halperin? name call the better person…

    I wish I qualified to contribute to Obama, now would have been such a moment just to piss off this Helpless Halper.

  5. Good morning, I’ve sent my e-mail to Time.com expressing my view on this disrespectful comment from Mark Halpern, on live national television. I’m still In shock!

  6. WE’VE BEEN HAVING A HALPERIN TWITTER FEST…I THINK WE ARE SUFFICIENTLY RIPPING OFF HIS SOX!

  7. What an ass! Reporters are NEVER supposed to personally insult a POTUS. I weep for the state of the media. Sad.

    He might as well make his way over the Faux News.

  8. Hi AMK, I am following you but I am not seeing your tweets. Is your profile set to private?

  9. It’s called projection folks. He merely called the President a term he deep down knows applies to him. It embarasses him not the resident, just like when Bibi did his nonsensical rant. Things like this don’t hurt the President, they just help him because it fires up his supporters even more.

  10. Republicans would have Halperin DESTROYED within an hour.

    Media isn’t going to do it. Our elected Democrats aren’t going to do it.

    Then we must.

  11. Halperin’s comment does not surprise me in the least. He is a “dick” and we all know it. He and Chuck Todd could be twins. Neither one of them have an honest bone in their body, IMO.

    As far as the counter goes, I knew we would surpass the goal before the deadline. We always do. I love it.

  12. Wow. What a jerk Halperin is. I hope MSNBC gets tons of calls, e-mails, tweets, etc. letting them know that someone as unprofessional as Halperin is not acceptable to their viewers. And I really hope his uncalled for remark spurs a ton of donations to the President.

  13. Chile I feel kinda bad for the assistant that works for the pres of MSNBC. she bout put me on hold 4 times and told me they are aware of the situation and she is trying her best to handle the calls etc. I told her its sickening that these men are not available to talk to anyone after they slur the president of America and left her to deal with all this. I could hear the relief in her voice, I gave her my contact info. I know nobody is gonna call me back but I have emailed and will call back tomorrow and the next day and the next til I get to speak with someone in charge. This shit can’t keep happening and nothing gets done. I absolutely am not a fan of Bachman but when some guy on fake news called her a flake I took issue with that. I just do not think journalist should say things like that. Leave it to us ordinary folks not journalists who are supposed to display decorum and I certainly don’t think its right to call a sitting potus a dick. I hope Mark Halperin formally apologizes same way the fox news man apologized to Bachman.

  14. Here it is from a gos diary:

    “MSNBC suspended David Shuster and Keith Olberman for stupid reasons. MSNBC suspended Ed (rightly so) for calling Laura Ingraham a “slut”. So will MSNBC and TIME take actions against Mark Halperin and suspend him if not fire his ass?”

    This is how we frame it to Time and NBC. This is far worse than anything Shuster or Keith did. I thought Ed’s mea culpa was more embarrassing that what he called Ingraham, but I get it.

    So let’s shame NBC and TIME into doing to an obvious Republican hack what they love to do to progressive-leaning pundits/reporters.

  15. Over 460 000 donors now and 596 000 donations. Hope Halperin unwittingly helps the fundraising effort.

  16. Oh Here is the direct contact number for MSNBC president Phil Griffin’s Office: 212-664-2456 Please call, the girl is very nice just over whelmed but let your voices be heard. :)

  17. Exactly, Faith. In fact, the media will try to circle the wagons and protect him. But we cannot and must not let this stand. For me, it is the relentless disrespect this president has received over and again from every Tom, Dick and Harry.From lots of them in the media, they couch their ugliness under the guise that they are doing their jobs. It is unacceptable, and we must be the ones to let them know that enough is enough and we are taking this mess any more.

    Everyone in that room that laughed and thought this was fun should be held responsible for contributing to this ugliness. Mika would have been screaming bloody murder if someone had called a woman that. Harold Ford should just be ashamed of himself, plain and simple. But I don’t think he possess the ingredients for that, since he is the consummate opportunist.

  18. Yup. I’m sure the donations to PBO must be even higher since that comment by Halperin.

  19. Senate to skip July 4th recess to work on debt & deficit issues. Go Mr President let them feel the heat

  20. And apparently this is not the first time that Halperin has referred to the President in this manner. There are reports that in 2008 he called then Senator Obama a “pussy.”

  21. Good morning family. Amk what is the hashtag do you come up with one if we all use your tag we fix this clown

  22. Just called Phil Griffth’s office and sec answered. Related in nice way my displeasure and that I expected an action.

  23. Also, Starbucks essentiall owns Morning Joe. Here is their contact info. Let them know what you think, I sure as hell did. (note, I tried to get a link to post, but could not, so here is the URL for Starbucks’ comment form
    You can leave a comment here:
    http://www.starbucks.com/customer-service/contact/company-information-form

    Also here:

    Starbucks Customer Relations
    PO Box 3717
    Seattle, WA 98124-3717

    Retail Customer Relations
    (800) 235-2883
    Mon – Fri 5 AM – 6 PM (PST)
    .

  24. bwd thanks for that steve benen tweet

    Obama kicked some serious beltway butts yesterday. Mark Halperin can hardly sit this morning, it’s too painful.

  25. Ok, I only see your tweets if I click on your twitter handle. Otherwise they don’t appear in my twitter timeline with tweets from other people I follow.

  26. Time – letters@time.com

    Time Inc.

    1271 Avenue of the Americas

    New York, NY 10020

    212.522.1212

    And here MSNBC comments line

    Call 212-664-4444

    Thanks to RhodaA

  27. Someone at the Obama Diary said that the answering machine mailbox at Morning Joe was full. Good. Let’s make this work for us.

  28. Also, for the fourth day in a row the market us up, bc the Greece Thingy is looking good!
    Shows you all how much Greece has effected our economy!

  29. I am also going to call Mark Kirk’s office: I want to know if one Republican will come out and condemn this language against the POTUS. They’d all be crawling over each other to get to a microphone to condemn a Democrat and that Democrat would have been fired by now.

    MSNBC, sponsors, Time — of course call and write them. But let’s shame our Republican congress people who by their silence show that they are not Americans, but Republicans first and only.

  30. Some of you need to follow me on twitter& I’ll follow u,I need more Dems following me& I need to follow u guys,I love this site,I come here every day to read BWDs posts,only blog I know thats truly pro Obama.I’m having a hard time finding alike Dems though on twitter, so if any of you will follow,I’d appreciate it,Animalfriend1 is my name.Thanks alot.Oh,is it ok that I am donating 10$ a day instead of 1 lump sum?It is easier fr me that way.

  31. Good Morning BWD Family

    Love all the action – we are good

    Time & Life Bldg., Rockefeller Center, 1271 Avenue of the Americas, New York, NY 10020
    Phone: 212-522-1212
    Fax: 212-522-0003
    Twitter: @TIME

  32. hi friends, i tiweeted how i felt about that harpline person today and i must say here again that he sure is an ass and deeply hope he will be punished for such disrespect if MSNBC is truly fair with all there employees

  33. In other news: first solar announced 4.5 billion dollar loan guarantee from the dept of energy, for 3 large solar projects in California.

    Estimated north of 1200 new jobs to be created- there stocks are way up this morning.

  34. I have just returned home from a trip and saw this this morning. I am so mad. I am at work so can’t much till this afternoon. I plan to learn to twitter, I will be emailing, calling, rwittering and donating much more today. I am tired of the disrespect this president has gotten. I will do my part.

  35. Although Halperin’s comments were stupid and insulting, let’s not forget our primary goal – express anger toward Republicans and support for Democrats.

    Let’s brainstorm short and sweet phrases we will use with Congress

    Republicans:
    Stay in Washington and do your job
    Stop protecting oil companies and millionaires
    We need a balanced approach to reducing the debt
    Seniors shouldn’t bear all the burden
    Pass bills which will help the economy

    Democrats:
    Stay in Washington and do your job
    Support the PRESIDENT
    Stay strong on ending tax cuts
    Stay strong on a balanced approach to reducing the debt
    Spreak with one unified voice
    Keep the pressure on
    Keep introducing bills the President supports

    During the speech he mentioned the following bills

    Congress can send me a bill that would make it easier for entrepreneurs to patent a new product or idea

    Right now, Congress could send me a bill that puts construction workers back on the job rebuilding roads and bridges

    Right now, Congress can advance a set of trade agreements that would allow American businesses to sell more of their goods and services to countries in Asia and South America -– agreements that would support tens of thousands of American jobs while helping those adversely affected by trade.

    And right now, we could give middle-class families the security of knowing that the tax cut I signed in December will be there for one more year.

    Contact info for Congress
    http://www.whatisworking.com/2011/05/contact-congress-address-phone-twitter.html

  36. Everybody, we have to stay on this relentlessly. There as been way too much undermining and condenscension directed at this president, solely for trying to do his job for the American people. He is constantly abused and treated in a way that many of his predecessors have not.

    They require much, much more of him, and he knows this and works twice as hard, all the while, they are hoping that he will fail. And when he succeeds, it enrages them, as we saw from Halperin this morning.

    Clearly, he knows that the President had boxed the Republicans in, and in his frustration, without anything cogent to say, he lashed out in one of the ways that comes easy to him and others, when they have failed.

    Their M.O.: Tear him down, insult him, belittle him. But we cannot and must not stand by and let this one go. If nothing is done to this man here, because we have not pushed back harder than ever this time, the shame will be on us.

    Because as Faith said in a comment above, the media is not going to do it, the Democrats are not going to do it and certainly the Republicans are not going to.

    It is left with us.

  37. Yeah, I get the feeling Halperin is going to be called Dick all day long…if he’s lucky it will stop then!

  38. For awhile,WE’ve “seen” PBHO and the Office of the Presidency, repeatedly, disrespected by the U.S. mainstream media and their ilk…

    But, enough *IS* enough…Grrr!

    WE *MUST* do whatever *IS* necessary to “call ‘em out” until…Tweet, FB, Email, Donate, Call, Write, et al!

    Hopefully, all involved will be “punished”…

    And, Halperin will be told, “You’re FIRED!”

    YES.WE.CAN…DO.(Much)More, Together!

  39. I will be posting this message EVERYDAY until the debt ceiling is lifted.

    The President set the tone, now lets echo it.

    1. From an article at ballonjuice about feedback to our elected officials
    “Do you care about an issue? Don’t complain about it on a blog to people who already agree with you.

    Pick up the phone* and tell it to someone you voted for (or against)*”

    2. To multiply your impact ten hundred fold, send a hand-written letter. Even Senators from big states either read or at least hear about every non-typed letter that they receive.

    I checked my contact elected officials page and the mailing addresses are not included, however the name is a link which takes you to their website where their address is listed.

    3. Staffers like and don’t like different kinds of feedback. Their favorite kind of feedback is specific, succinct, polite and not particularly loud. Say where you live/vote, name the issue, state your position and tell the person what you want Representative X to do about it. Then wish the person a good day.

    4. We tweet, Take a phrase from the president’s speech and tweet it. Or make up a sentence that speaks for you.

    5. We post on Facebook

    6. We make comments on blogs, or MSM sites which support the president

    7. We talk about this in the lunch room, with our neighbors, or at any event we attend.

  40. Yes I think they particularly hated being compared (unfavorably) to 10 & 13 year-old schoolgirls!!!

  41. Yes they should bired; ed schultz was suspended because he called Laura Ingram a slot
    the should not get away with it.

  42. I’ve sent a stern note to Starbucks. I’ve been a customer for many long years, but they need to watch their step now.

    I’ll let you know if I get a response.

  43. bwd, you should update your top donations page graphics now.

    It’s 460,785 / 597,335.

    What is the website that gives you both nos. simultaneously ?

  44. From Twitter:
    mlcalderone Michael Calderone
    MSNBC, in statement, says Mark Halperin will be “suspended indefinitely from his role as an analyst.”

  45. 30 Jun 2011 9:44 AM
    STATEMENT FROM MSNBC REGARDING MARK HALPERIN

    Statement from MSNBC:

    Mark Halperin’s comments this morning were completely inappropriate and unacceptable. We apologize to the President, The White House and all of our viewers. We strive for a high level of discourse and comments like these have no place on our air. Therefore, Mark will be suspended indefinitely from his role as an analyst.

    Statement from Mark Halperin:

    I completely agree with everything in MSNBC’s statement about my remark. I believe that the step they are taking in response is totally appropriate. Again, I want to offer a heartfelt and profound apology to the President, to my MSNBC colleagues, and to the viewers. My remark was unacceptable, and I deeply regret it.

    FOR MORE INFORMATION CONTACT:

    Jeremy Gaines
    e: JEREMY.GAINES@NBCUNI.COM

    Source NBC
    http://www.nbcuniversal.presscentre.com/Content/Detail.aspx?ReleaseID=5435&NewsAreaID=2&ClientID=7

  46. I have to say that Defense Secretary Robert Gates is a class act and a true patriot. I did not know he had served 8 presidents.

    I am grateful for all he has done to support our president and the military. I sense there is real respect, admiration and affection between them.

    President Obama presenting him with the Medal of Freedom was just wonderful. The ceremony was very moving. All the best to Secretary Gates and his wife Becky.

  47. Looks like we already got the militants who were responsible for that hotel attack in Kabul.
    The commander in the haqqani network and several others in the network, has been killed in a raid!

    Msm misses it!

  48. Let’s keep calling this would be the only way to make an impact, to disrepect POTUS is terrible , shame. shame , shame.

  49. Report on local news
    NBC News in San Francisco – great clips of the President’s speech, very small amount of coverage of Boehner, also limited coverage of Romney, and Bachmann. A bit of skepticism that a deal will be reached but support of the president.

    Today Show – Matt Lauer and Chuck Todd. Great edited version of the President’s speech, no smarmy reports, no criticism. Overall a solid report which accurately conveyed what the President’s position.

  50. Yes WE do…

    And, unfortunately, yes it is…it’s David against Goliath!

    But, I BELIEVE WE will prevail!

    YES.WE.CAN…DO.(Much)More, Together!

  51. Halperin’s comments are very bad I.am so pissed MSNBC owes POTUS an apology and to Obama supporters..

  52. ANd if the problems in Greece caused this much upheavel, imagine what will happen as the US closes in on defaulting.

  53. Halperin has been suspended indefinitely per news release moments ago.
    Halperin also released his own statement that he was wrong, apologizes and agrees that MSNBC is correct in is suspension.

  54. Great. Now I want an apology from the network for allowing such a thing to go out over the air and I think it should come from Joe and Mika especially. They sat there encouraging Halperin to let loose and then laughed when he did. They should speak up and apologize for their behavior as well.

  55. Mel that is a great point. Does anyone have his email address at Time? Duck him.

  56. Nice Mary. Maybe word will get out that Halperin is donating money to Obama.

  57. That 2 minutes of his speech says it all, doesn’t it?
    HOW can sane people go against this logic??
    Oh wait… I said sane people!! On the positive side,
    I thought he was great yesterday. I not only felt his
    pride is his country, but also felt his anger, and yes…
    I felt his pain. The man has endured more slights,
    name calling, innuendos, and down right ugliness
    than any president in history. And it HAS to stop!
    Let’s keep letting him know we have his back, and
    won’t give up!!

  58. Precisely, Lilaf1. The network needs to address this. Not only did it happen on their airwaves, but the hosts sat there and thought it was OK. Both Mika and Joe Scarborough needs to apologize to the President. And I don’t care whether they mean it or not.

  59. I just realized – Mark Halperin and John Heilemann are the authors of the book “Game Change”. In addition, “Game Change” is in production as a HBO movie.

  60. Joe Scarborough should not be blameless either as he encouraged him then said, ” I was kidding!” Could have just said, “No. We never encourage name calling with any President.” I can dream that opposition could be respectful can’t I?

  61. Hope they reach 475 000 at least. Still, they met their target way before the deadline.

  62. I actually think that Morning Joe Scarborough should be punished too for encouraging the remark and saying he’d have his back or whatever he said before MH said it!

  63. I KNOW. I can’t believe my own lying eyes. :)

    PL must be pissed off today what with all the real base kicking out that halperin tool and then shoving against his smug mug these numbers.

  64. More than 1000 donations in less than 12 minutes. I think thank you letters to Mark Halperin are due..

  65. I wholeheartedly agree…

    It should be “done like yesterday!”

    YES.WE.CAN…DO.(Much)More, Together!
    I’M IN…FIRED UP & GOIN’! ;)

  66. I’m usually up before 6:00 and still occasionally turn on Morning Joe to catch the “right-wing” talking point of the day. I was curious this morning about the spin against President Obama’s press conference and they certainly put on a show. The lead up was obvious because Mika was giggling when she started the segment.

    I haven’t read the above comments yet but I found the entire thing orchestrated as a distraction. Instead of reporting the news, the corporate media have been busy making it lately as a diversion from the facts. (including the MSNBC nightly crew that are paid handsomely by their corporate owners, including Maddow)

    In a normal and honest working environment, every one of Joe and his crew would have been fired immediately and Halperin should lose his job at the Times.

  67. I said upthread that we need to kill two birds with one stone: shine a light on Republicans who don’t have the decency to stand up at least for the office of POTUS and condemn Halperin.

    Let’s be clear: they would have destroyed Halperin by now, every last one of them, if he’d said anything close about a Republican President. So by shining a light on them, we make it part of the background noise of how awful they are.

  68. I KNOW. I can’t believe my own lying eyes.

    I told you a long time ago to start believe your happy tits. :) And since you know my gutter secret, let me tell you that there were points during the press conference yesterday that PBO’s voice was definitely R rated…

  69. Stop watching morning joe…stop commenting about morning joe…tell your friends to stop watching morning joe…hurt them where it hurts.

  70. I agree…I’m loving twitter! Plus I learn a lot from reading other people’s tweets. It’s a great thing to use. Thanks, BWD for encouraging us to do this.

  71. Good for us!

    Now I’m still going to contact Mark Kirk, Boehner, Cantor, Mc-Chinless and see if they will be Americans first and Republicans second by condemning Halperin.

    I’m expecting crickets……

  72. They should all be fired, but MSNBC thinks suspending Halpern is enough and now the msm is closing ranks and acting as if Halpern is a victim. We should keep up the heat to get Joe and Mika suspended.

  73. Chuck Todd actually said something yesterday I agree with: he said if Obama had answered the marriage equality question that would have been all they reported instead of the important information about the debt ceiling.

    I expect Chuck to continue to be a jackass, but it was clear that Obama won his respect yesterday, at least for a few minutes.

  74. Actually there was plenty of outrage over Halperin at gos.

    Am I defending gos? Have I been out in the sun too long?

  75. I wouldn’t worry about it too much. The coverage of the presser was some of the best coverage of this President I’ve seen in ages. It was virtually universal. I would expect b.s. from Morning Joke and FOX, but even our local Fox News coverage was okay.

    There is something to be said about a comfort level that is awakened when Obama comes out swinging. I do not advocate for the bluster or bullying that the whiny left seems to think is our due. I love this President and his adult manner. But people like to see some fight. Americans, for good or ill, respond to that and feel safer when they see it, no matter what the substance is.

    Obama couldn’t have been more perfect yesterday. And because of what appeared to be a change in leadership style, the coverage has been universally positive and instructive.

  76. You could find so many wonderful things to do with your time than watch morning joe. But you’re right, this was orchestrated to change the subject.

  77. Right on…

    And, let’s go for their bank accounts/pockets!

    YES.WE.CAN…DO.(Much)More, Together!
    I’M IN…FIRED UP & GOIN’! ;)

  78. Makesense, RATigan called Obama a Boy? That idiot makes me sick to my stomach.

  79. Kelly, that is so great that you made sure and let the assistance off the hook. She has to clean up this stinking mess.

  80. Oh, Starm, that is delicious news. yipppeee!
    PBO smacked them across the face. Beautifully done. I loved it when he had the press laughing at the way he spoke about the repug and certain included the dems.

  81. It was an orchastrated comment between Morning Joke and Halperin. I think Mika and Joke should also be suspended. I don’t watch that garbage anyway. When they took that other kook off the morning show and put Joke in, I stopped watching MSNBC.

Leave a Reply

