3,000 kisses!

Hi guys, interrupting my break to open a new thread, and especially to thank you for this. You are all heroes.  
*
I know that it’s easy to get discouraged by the Nutroots pathetic noise, but noise is all they can produce. They are worthless, and more and more people see them for what they really are. And, what they really are. And, what they really are. And, what they really are. At the same time, today is OFA national day of action, and judging from my Twitter, it’s going very well and on a much much bigger scale than fringe. People are actually OUT THERE, registering voters, talking to people, making a difference:

*

Have a great weekend and happy father’s day. See you soon.

179 thoughts on “3,000 kisses!

  1. Now on to $4000!

    Welcome back BWD — however briefly. I hope your break is rejuvenating.

  2. Yay – great to have you pop in – do take care of yourself and take the time you need. :)

  3. Please come back soon!
    I come here when the MSM is making my blood pressure rise and my head about to explode. I need my (several times a day) dose of sanity.

  4. LITTLE CHANGE IN LIBERAL DEMOCRATS’ STRONG SUPPORT FOR [PRESIDENT] OBAMA

    Is President Obama losing favor with “progressives” or liberals in his own party? Obama’s White House Communications Director David Pfeiffer drew fire (and boos) from those attending the Netroots Nation gathering in Minneapolis for his boss not being liberal enough on issues like gay marriage.
    As one of the attendees said, there isn’t much of a chance that liberal Democrats are going to turn Republican; just that they won’t be enthusiastic — “They might not show up the way they did in 2008.”

    That appears to be a correct assessment…

    http://pollingmatters.gallup.com/2011/06/little-change-in-liberal-democrats.html (w/a chart)
    _________________________________________________________________________________

    I’ll be there, at the polls, “w/bells on”…

    How about you?!

    YES.WE.CAN…DO.(Much)More, Together!
    I’M IN…FIRED UP & READY TO GO! ;)

  5. 3000 Kisses to YOU BWD, Thanks for the drop in today ….

    Much NOISE indeed, but are any of the candidates or anyone in GOP leadership speaking on creating an economic growth plan? This weeks Banter has been all about jobs creation and the Stimulus did not create any jobs, such B/S still from folk who have nothing but negativity. I say unemployment numbers are down may not be as well as hoped but down, The GOP must make it seem as the economy is the reason Presdient Obama is not successful, but in the back of their seedy backroom politics they have no real support to decry there has not been jobs increased in the last 3 years. I am encouraging the Rethugs I know in OK to give me statistics and numerate what they claim has not been done, and I am getting nothing but crickets……..
    I plan to do all I can to support the campaign, help debate, help register folks, and to be aware of changes that may impact out of state voters. There is alot of underhanded methods at work right now, they cannot defeat Pres. Obama by exemplifying better success, There is NONE> I love my President. Not only is he a wonderful Father to our Nation, but such an inspiring example of Fathers in the Black community especially. I am so very proud to say I am a midwesterner, like Mrs Dunham, and I could not be more proud of the life her son chooses to lead my Country. Such a wonderful gift to ALL the World .
    Thanks for opening expression this weekend, Be sure to sleep extra while on Hiatous, Keep up the good work you do. God Bless You, BWD !
    YES WE ARE AGAIN!! 2012 President Barack Obama, Vice President Joe Biden~~ Thanks fellows for stayin IN! I AM IN too !!

  6. Check that. You may want to consider adding it to the blogroll:) Sorry.

  7. From my twitter timeline:

    RT @LilMissSocial: RT @TweetEverstrong: Bachmann to Obama: You’re a one-term president. Obama to Bachmann: You’re a long-term idiot.

  8. Jane Hamsher, Joan Walsh, Glenn Greenwald, Dan Choi, Cenk and all the PLs weep over this news. LOL

  9. WELCOME BACK BWD….YOU WERE MISSED…HOPE YOU HAD A CHANCE TO RELAX!

  10. BWD thanks for “takin’ a break” from your break to open a new thread…

    Those are great, inspirational articles and pics!

    And, you’re always welcome!

    Now, you can get some more relaxation! ;)

    Have A Restful, Enjoyable Weekend!

    YES.WE.CAN…DO.(Much)More, Together
    I’M IN…FIRED UP & READY TO GO! ;)

  11. Come back soon, BWD. In the meantime, we are pragmatically handling it for you.

  12. Thank you BWD!!! Hope you are getting some much earned R&R.

    Yes.We.Can. … DO.More.Together!

  13. We have 3 locations scheduled for a Saturday night and have almost 100 signed up to volunteer!!!
    How GREAT is that? Go SOUTH FLORIDA!!

    I’ll be in Mizner Park getting people to sign up “I’m In” – I’ll be wearing a bunch of custom made “I’m In” buttons – if you are there and see me say hello!

  14. scroll down below the comments and you will see that you can enter your email address to receive notification of a new post.

  15. Why do certain groups feel like they were the ones who put President Obama in office, and if they don’t come out he wouldn’t win? Such a bogus tale. African-Americans (with the exception of crazy Cornut West) and a certain sorta liberal Jewish block are the only ones loyal to this President. I like to refer to those two groups as the children of Israel.

  16. What she said and this, too… ;)

    It’s the two buttons, which are left of the “Post Comment” button, you can click on:

    Notify me of follow-up comments via email.
    Notify me of new posts via email.

  17. Oh yea….you mean the one I clicked when BWD started this blog??? Silly me! I forgot that it said that. Thanks:) See what happens when you get “on in years!”

  18. :-) Tell me about it! You only have to check Notify me once per diary, and the BWD computer will ask you to sub in, and then you get all the posts by e-mail. Want to responf to a post? Click on the user’s name in the e-mail and the diary will open and go straight to that post. Very handy.

  19. Thanks,Snoopy:) maybe BWD will consider it:) I thought it was good, glad you guys thought so too.

  20. Cornut West has been quiet since he recieve a huge backslash.

    Netroots nation was overall positive. It was JUST that session that consisted of what’s left of the PL that got all the nation.

    Jane Hampster, John Arvosis, Dan Choi etc.
    Daily kos has softened up significantly since Bin Laden. Slinkerwink trashed GG and has become more positive regarding the president.

    Why does Dan Choi hate president Obama so much? President obama never campaigned for marriage equality. Did the DADT repeal ceremony not mean anything to him? Does the DOMA defense drop not mean anything to him? What about the hate crimes bill, the record LGBT appointments, and the steps like addressing Gay homelessness, Medicaid rolls for LGBT people, hospital vistation rights, and declaring proclimations for gay people.

    The HRC campaign is more than supportive of the President. Almost all the gay community is behind President Obama for re-election. They have been some of the biggest donors. They don’t have a problem with President Obama.

  21. itgetsbetter2012

    Cornut West has been quiet since he recieve a huge backslash.

    Netroots nation was overall positive. It was JUST that session that consisted of what’s left of the PL that got all the nation.

    Jane Hampster, John Arvosis, Dan Choi etc.
    Daily kos has softened up significantly since Bin Laden. Slinkerwink trashed GG and has become more positive regarding the president.

    Why does Dan Choi hate president Obama so much? President obama never campaigned for marriage equality. Did the DADT repeal ceremony not mean anything to him? Does the DOMA defense drop not mean anything to him? What about the hate crimes bill, the record LGBT appointments, and the steps like addressing Gay homelessness, Medicaid rolls for LGBT people, hospital vistation rights, and declaring proclimations for gay people.

    The HRC campaign is more than supportive of the President. Almost all the gay community is behind President Obama for re-election. They have been some of the biggest donors. They don’t have a problem with President Obama.

  22. Today I was at the drug store here in Lexington, and a couple said they liked my
    bumper sticker. They said they live in a very red county, in this red state, but love
    President Obama. I said I did too, and that we’re doing all we can to give him 4
    more years. I told them to keep the faith, and work hard for our guy. This encounter
    made my day :-)

  23. Fine, DF, and about to head off to bed over here. When I start typing “responf” I know I’ve reached my awake limit for the day.

  24. Ah, bwd! I was going through withdrawal without your pics and encouragement here! Thanks for checking in. I was a volunteer with OFA today at a local subway stop in L.A. There were 20 of us this morning, with more to arrive as the day went on. We fanned out and gathered registrations and encouraged people to vote for OBAMA 2012. I don’t have any pics for you guys, but it was very enlightening and encouraging to see so many Obama supporters out in force.

    OBAMA 2012!!!!

  25. OSG, Greece worries me as much as the debt ceiling “debate”. If the euro implodes the world is as screwed as if we don’t raise the debt ceiling — and I’m 99% sure that we’ll raise the ceiling.

  26. Good for you. What you are doing is SOOOO important. I am sure the President Obama would be so thankfu. I am thankful that you are doing this. I am doing my little bit, too. I am so excited to see President Obama re-elected in 2012.

  27. I don’t get it either. I thought Choi would come around as DADT was repealed, like Rachel Maddow did for awhile, but it seems his anger is not really at the President, but at society in general, or ???? It’s unfortunate for him, as I think people are moving away from him as he seems out of control.

  28. My little hamlet up north turned out 8 volunteers for our shifts today. Not bad considering both our Summer Volunteers were out of town with previous engagements and it rained. I totally want one of those Obama Canapes like in that picture. That would rock.

  29. Congratulations TOAITR family for raising $3000. You all are the best. Thanks for dropping by, BWD…great post.

  30. You go gurl!

    I’m not in FL…

    But, I’m “w/you,” anyway! lol

    And, who knows when it comes time for long-distance phonebankin’, I’m “there,” too! ;)

    YES.WE.CAN…DO.(Much)More, Together!
    I’M IN…FIRED UP & GOIN’! ;)

  31. Can someone help me find that article about the Republicans having a long-term strategy for the last 30 years. I meant to read it when it was posted a couple weeks ago and never got around to it. Thanks.

  32. Choi is mentally ill and the freaky professional left as using him. He disrespected the abused with his idiotic appearance on Lawrence O’s show.

  33. Tien – I was just trying to find that as well – mean to send it to a ‘friend’ who just thinks I’m imagining it all – hope someone can help out with a link – Have a great weekend all!

  34. While the haters hate, and the bashers bash, and joke about it, President Obama remains focused on the well being of all Americans and all those elsewhere seeking to free themselves from tyranny.

    The following article makes it very clear how wise President Obama, and leaders in the EU and UN were to act and act quickly. This article will make the foolish stunt of a few lame members of Congress appear even more disgusting, as should be the case.

    http://www.guardian.co.uk/world/2011/jun/18/gaddafi-misrata-war-crime-documents?CMP=twt_gu

    “Gaddafi files show evidence of murderous intent

    The Observer has gained exclusive access to thousands of documents which show how the Libyan leader gave orders for the torture, arrest and bombardment of his own people.

    The dark green box files are packed closely together in rows that stretch up to the ceiling – as dull as dull could be. But the papers hidden inside them will sink Muammar Gaddafi.

    In these boxes, hidden at a secure location in the besieged rebel city of Misrata, lie thousands of documents containing the orders given by the Libyan leader and transmitted by his generals to unleash the torture, arrest and bombardment that have torn the country apart. For war crimes prosecutors, they are pure gold.”

    I urge all of you to do whatever you can to bring as much attention to this report as possible.

    Thank you.

    Yes.We.Can. … DO.More.Together!

  35. Niiice…

    It would “make my day,” too!

    And, every “Obamacrat” counts! ;)

    YES.WE.CAN…DO.(Much)More, Together!
    I’M IN…FIRED UP & GOIN’! ;)

  36. Tien…Don’t know if it will help you, but that was Thom Hartmann’s conversation the other day on the radio. It was just this past week. Any way you can check out his past broadcasts? He always sites his statements, might be able to give you some insights that way.

  37. Totally amazing. Guess this guy thought he was above reproach to leave around all that evidence of his wrong-doing. This is great vindication for the actions of the Obama Administration, too. Now there is tangible proof that a full scale atrocity was prevented. Good for the intelligence community to know what was going on as well.

  38. Wonder if the R’s will change their tune now, or just did their heals in some more because the smarter black guy in the room just blew by them again? And Conyers and Kucinich? That “lawsuit” still gonna happen? Fools.

  39. That’s a good article, too, but it’s not the one I’m looking for. I think it was on ThinkProgress, but my normally good search skills are failing me. Seems like it was an article that showed a more insidious strategy than just lowering taxes.

  40. @Jayne. Keep up the great work. I meet with my OFA Summer Organizer on Monday to get my marching orders. We held a Grassroots Strategy Session last Saturday. Voter registration is ongoing. I have volunteered to be a Neighborhood Team Leader in my County in metro Atlanta. President Obama came within 5.6% of winning in 2008. There are thousands of unregistered African-Americans, Latinos, other minorities and young people in Georgia. With a massive Voter Registration/Education drive and a huge GOTV effort, we expect to turn Georgia blue in 2012. It won’t be easy. If anyone has friends or relatives in Georgia, direct them to OFA Georgia. Even though we have a picture ID requirement for voting, Georgia even has a rather liberal ex-felon voter registration policy. Once an ex-felon has completed parole/probation, they can register. Also, early voting begins extremely early in this state–at least for the time being. There has not been a huge effort to scale it back as of yet.

  41. THANKYOU BWD FOR ALL YOU DO. LIKE I HAVE MENTIONED BEFORE THIS SITE IS A GODSEND. I DON’T KNOW WHAT I WOULD DO WITHOUT YOU. THIS BLOG IS MY HOME. I LOVE IT. :) KEEP HOPE ALIVE!! OBAMA/BIDEN 2012!!

  42. Happy to do so, desertflower. Also, posted it at OFA/Obama2012, in the Father’s Day comment section – seemed appropriate given that President Obama is definitely the ‘father’ of all those seeking their inalienable rights.

  43. Question: Why do you watch? There is a simple remedy you prevent your head from exploding. :)

  44. Oh, no…I meant to visit the site and see if there is a transcript of the show…I’m like you, I need to see that written word! I’ll see if I can find something…..I’ve heard it talked about, so it must be around somewhere:)

  45. And what a wonderful, terrific, fantastic dad he is:) That was such an important story….you know HE knows that those writings are put in a safe place, and you know he knows what’s in there…..I am anxious for the people of Libya who have watched these atrocities go on for many many years….to finally be free to have their country back. This Arab Spring has been an amazing thing to behold.

  46. Thank you Tien – and note the following, from the article:

    “To put it into perspective, consider that no significant international war crimes trial has ever found written instructions proving that atrocities were actually ordered.

    Clip

    Thanks to Alwab and his colleagues, that is not a problem Ocampo is likely to face. “Legally this is easy,” he says, gesturing to the signed, stamped orders. “It’s an easy case. They are going to win it for sure. In Gaddafi’s world you can’t do anything without the authorisation,” he explains. “And everything has to come from Gaddafi.””

    Case closed – and not just for Daffi!

  47. Exactly, Bob. That’s one reason the trial of Taylor, my former president is dragging along. That there is documentation to prove this man’s intentions is huge.

    Thank you so much for following up on this. Thank you!!

  48. Oh, ok…

    You know the Koch Bros. are “liberatians”…Right? ;) lol

    And, you may want to check this one out, too:

    DeVos, Koch, Scaife, Walton, ALEC, AFC – The Corporate Royalists and Right-Wing Groups Propelling the GOP’s Assault on the Middle Class: A handful of rich, right-wing families and corporate chieftains are dedicated to returning America to the days when robber barons ruled… http://tinyurl.com/6d2c4yo

    Koch Bros. and their ilk (which includes Murdoch/Ailes & Co, Rove & Co., U.S.CoC, TeaPublican-elected officials, SCOTUS 4 (Thomas, Scalia, Alito, Roberts) need to be exposed, on a continuous loop, through SPREADIN THE WORD/PASSIN’ THE WORD…Tweetin’/RTin’ it, FBin’ it, Emailin’ it, et al!

    LATHER, RINSE, REPEAT!!! ;)

    And, it was my pleasure!

  49. http://crooksandliars.com/kyledeb/dreamer-felipe-matos-catches-white-house-t WE NEED TO WRITE THIS GUY AND CALL HIM OUT! Read the article, but he thinks “out loud” whether electing a Republican would yield the same results as re electing Obama! Are these people delusional? Whines about the President deporting more people than Bush did…why yes, he is…NOT because he WANTS to, but because that’s what’s the law right now! The fact that immigration isn’t talked about seriously ISN’T the President’s fault…the R’s don’t or won’t have that conversation…because “We haven’t secured the border yet!” These people are nuts. Flat out, certifiable. Monday comes…please write, call, Tweet…..he needs to know that people are listening and calling him out for this! Thanks.

  50. There are good diaries on the orange site.

    There are some diaries that advocate for obama.

  51. Two points:
    1) I have checked those items a number of times but they have never worked
    2) how do I get to post in the white space. I hate the black space witha passion.
    Thanks

  52. I wrote a post on it. It was part of Thom’s discussion with a woman who started a great site, Daily agenda. http://www.dailyagenda.org.

    If you need daily points and the facts to back it up, go there. Her background is in marketing. She had an analogy that was pitch perfect: Nike decides to design a better shoe: the runner can run faster, longer and safer. So they design the shoe. Then they line up the suppliers: rubber, leather, shoelaces, the new technology, etc. Then they line up the factory to make the shoe. After the shoe is ready for market they hire Michael Jordan as a spokesperson to sell the shoe.

    Democrats hire the spokesperson. They don’t bother to design or manufacture the better shoe

    In 1974 conservatives designed a plan to change American discourse: they put their conservative people in low elective office to build their way up. They began think tanks that had nothing to do with ‘thinking’ but were about pushing their agenda with the veneer of scholarship. Take over talk radio (thanks a bunch, Bill Clinton). Build key groups that will support you over the long haul until they achieve their dream (manipulation of the Christian right was a major part of this scheme). It was literally a plan from the bottom up, to change American perception in order to remake America in their conservative image.

    Democrats look for a hero and a Messiah and until very recent years did nothing to build the infrastructure to accomplish what conservatives have accomplished. She said it was changing and a lot has happened in the last decade, particularly the last five years. But as evidenced by the nutroots, liberals who are in a position to further this progress still don’t get it. They just rail at their super hero who cannot and should not be that at all.

    It was brilliant.

  53. He was on the same stage as Hamsher, Choi and Aravosis – you can write him off as a fringe nut and is a lost cause.

    Interesting that the guy is complaining about not being able to sit down with President Obama but seemingly had a meeting with Valerie Jarrett and that’s not good enough. He also says he walked from Miami to DC – these folks love their stunts. I wouldn’t meet with this clown either.

    And then he wants President Obama to wave his magic wand – another from the same braindead school as Hamsher, Choi who think the Presidency is a dictatorship or a Kingdom.

  54. Congrats guyz.. It’s a big achievement. Noe let’s shoot for 4000 kisses.

    Nice to see the push back against the nutroots. BJ posters in particular have been quite frank with assessment of these nutters.

  55. :) Sweet dreams. I know what you mean about the typos…only I do them at 2pm!

  56. Just a FYI…I changed to Google Chrome and now I can see what I type in the reply box.Is that what you’re talking about?

  57. SR….you’re right.,especially about all of them thinking that this man was elected to serve THEIR every need and wish….good lord.

  58. Hi, Lorraine! Don’t forget white women in the sixties, too (as I am !), in the loyalty column – :)

  59. Please excuse me … make that: “white women in their sixties” ! (You gotta forgive me – I’m sixty-something!)

  60. Not sure abt Google Chrome but have seen it mentioned here. How do I get it? Thanks for the compliment. It took some doing but I finally got it to work.

  61. I twittered it and retweeted it. This urgent. I am passing it around to my grouptoo. You cannot win if you do not know your enemy. (Cant recall who said Know thine enemy) Somebody famous!

  62. Choi has psychological problems, or he is a republican operative. He was at Cpac with Trump, wasn’t he ?

  63. HAPPY FATHER’S DAY to all men ( and some women lol) , who are dads, have an enjoyable day!

    Of course, PBHO IS the “Father of the World”…He’s #1! ;)

  64. I have been banging this drum for weeks. Thisis a big story. I hope we will email every conceivable source to push them to print this story. Just bec Weiner started the investigation is no reason to drop it.I posted it to Twitter. This very significant.

  65. My son told me that you go to Google and download the link for Chrome….that’s it! Good to go:) I actually like it much better than the regular way to get on the internet.

  66. No. You’re good with that! How very “socialist” of you, sharing your wealth of knowledge :)

  67. Yes it is very significant. When the rule of law is made a mockery of by justices on the SC….Houston, we HAVE a PROBLEM!

  68. That is so exciting! Good for you for getting involved. I just signed up to volunteer again. I am hoping they have some data entry or other jobs available that don’t involve talking to people. I suck at that piece of it.

  69. Looks like Choi got what he wanted….coverage on every blog, mention on the networkds and soothing talk from his other pals. The LGBT movement got a black eye. Shameful.

  70. Thanks for popping in BWD. Nice to see that we got to $3000. I added a little something to get us closer to our next goal.

  71. Do you have a strong Dem senator? Write Senator Leahy maybe and ask for an investigation?? Tweet, email,write letters to the editor etc….any other suggestions? There IS something very ominous here. I feel it.

  72. I would like the REAL leaders of the LGBT movement to be more vocal and express loud and clear that Choi DOESN’T represent them.

    Let’s INONDATE Rachel with e-mails asking that she gives a platform to OTHER people than Choi.

  73. BWD Welcome back with such a terrifc news we really missed yoy, so hughs and more hughs.
    We just camerback froma terrific Jazz Concert at Rodney Strong Vineyards was so terrific, we need just needed to get away from all the B>S from thr PL We just sent 50.00 on The barackobama page. it’s a great pleasure. And by the the way who in the FUCK is Don Choi , he is fucking disgasting and he is NOT helping the gay comunity, I saw a vidio clipt on peoples view’s., he is just disgusting, and he is barking at the wrong tree.

  74. Don Choi is for himself, and he is disgasting , we have our grand children serving in the Military
    noe and they do not like this gay, however they support their gay frinrds.

  75. Yes, but like all people of his ilk, it’s temporary and won’t gratify him. He’ll start trolling for his next opportunity to grasp the spotlight, just like the Grand Wizard. I’ve seen every evidence that they both will continue to succeed at gaining that spotlight, but won’t make even the least amount of difference in how we are governed. They’re just space-fillers for when we don’t have anything better to talk about. Basically it’s just gossip at this point. Gossip that people take WAY too seriously. I’d like nothing better than to see the Pragmatic wing of the blogosphere completely ignore them and others, but it will never happen.

  76. Yup. Look how quickly choi transitioned from being the face of the nutroot DADT repeal to the face of DOMA and when there is marriage equality he’ll probably claim credit for that and then move on to the next outrage all the while MSNBC keeps putting his mentally ill mug on television.

  77. Hope you are resting up well BWD! Thanks for taking the time to post. I am still reeling from the idea that President Obama is anti-civil rights as judged by the Kaili Joy Gray and the cheering crowd listening to her performance at NN. I used to be sad that I had never attended, now I don’t think that I will ever do so. I still wonder why some people, who are supposed to be well-grounded, would bother attending? I am fast coming to the conclusion that this is all about money and celebrity. I think a certain market was identified. Blogs were constructed to attract this market, and drama and conflict has made the $$$ flow and the siteowners don’t have to actually work for a living. Meanwhile, whether or not the so-called “Progressive Agenda” (whatever that means post-Bush) is not being well served.

  78. Clarence Clemons died tonight. So sad, he was only in his 60′s. I did have the good fortune to see him in the 70′s at Ohio State while I was going to school there. My roommate LOVED Springsteen and took me to see the show. So glad I went. Fabulous….Clarence, you will be missed.

  79. Thank you so much Bobfr for sharing this link to the Guardian. Like you, I am so utterly disgusted with the so called progressives who bash the President for taking a courageous action to try to save innocent Libyans from an impending massacre! I am thankful that , the UN the EU, the he Arab League, NATO, and most importantly President Obama, decided to take action to prevent another Rwanda! I am also delighted that ICC is gathering evidence that might lead to the prosecution of Qaddafi, and his henchmen, for crimes against humanity.

    What the people bashing the President, for taking action in Libya to prevent a humanitarian disaster, have never answered is: what would they have done differently to protect the Libyan people from Qaddafi’s plan to annihilate hundreds and thousands of them, simply because they wanted to be free from his murderous regime?

    I suppose they would have preferred for the UN, the US, the EU, and the AU to look the other way, just as they did in Rwanda. Then, after the genocide, they could go around apologizing for their inaction and for not realizing that the situation was that dire.

    I am sorry, but I’ve just lost all respect for the holier than thou people, like Kucinich and Conyers , the PL, and right wing Republicans, who are viciously attacking the President for taking a courageous action to prevent the widespread massacre of Libyan people. I am particularly disgusted with people who claim to be progressives, than I am about right wing Republicans who hate the UN any way, and have made it very clear that they will oppose anything President Obama does.

    My question to the so called progressive is: Do they support the United Nations? After all, President Obama acted to enforce a UN Security Council Resolution aimed at preventing a humanitarian disaster. If they do support the UN, and the President took action under the authority of the UN, then why are they viciously attacking him and suing him?

  80. Well, Sebastian…you’re here…gaining way more knowledge and meeting WAY cooler, more intelligent people…..AND having great conversations…HERE! They have an agenda, just like the RW, and the baggers do. Equally disgusting and equally divisive. And they both suffer from “selective thought”…..The money that you would have spent to hear a hate fest can be donated to the President’s re election. Put to much better use:) Anyway…nice to see you here .

  81. They boo’ed Pfeiffer and delighted in hopes that liberals won’t show up in 2008? Are they insane? How embarrassing. I hope that in the future, the WH reconsiders sending such important aides to nutroots. Pearls before swine. To heck with that clique of assholes (I’m sorry to people sensitive about language!), because that’s all the nutroots is at this point: a self-important, self-referential CLIQUE. They are not about helping anyone but themselves, or they’d be looking to work with rather than against such a wonderful presidential administration. The most sane liberals are already doing just that! I’d like to thank the consistent 80+% of liberal Dems who have been with President Obama all the way, and have kept his approvals at a floor of about 40%. That is rock solid support. It’s unfortunate that the nutroots looks to coopt and undermine that, but it is what it is, and selfish people are who they are.

    That said, blowing kisses right back to the terrific bwd and this amazing community! Happy Sunday wherever you are!

  82. Doing great desertflower. Did voter registration yesterday and we are still working on signatures to get that union busting law overturned through referendum. We are steadily working on progress. Thanks for asking. :)

  83. IMO people like slinkerwink put their fingers to the wind and go whichever way the wind blows. Nutroots is a waste of time and an attempt to continue to coopt the liberal voice and insert foolishness in our names. I don’t care whether they are flipping or flopping this way or that, what these folks are to me is IRRELEVANT. Fairweather friends who hop onto bandwagons but when the going gets tough, will pile onto POTUS right alongside the GOP. If I had a critique of the WH, I would say that they should spend more time elevating the voices of their supporters rather than these self-important media blowhards who are wrong a good 70% of the time, contributed greatly to the trashing of Obamacare without conscience or remorse, and who simply do not now and never have represented the voices of liberals. Ta ta to that entire crowd; what have they done for me lately? Nothing except undermine every penny of my hard-earned money which I send into the Obama/Biden campaign.

  84. RIP Clarence Clemmons.

    What’s this I’m hearing about Rick Santorum’s wife having a partial birth abortion in order to save her life? Because that can’t be true considering that Santorum would like to deprive other women of this option to control and make our own decisions about our health and families?

  85. Always great to be here. The really ironic part is that I like it here because it is reality-based. The spirit of a people-powered movement is alive and well here, and not such much anymore elsewhere.

  86. And well you should worry, LL. At the moment it seems that Greece is holding the better cards and the bail-out will happen, but Germany and France are protecting their banks – that is what this all has always been about – and they can act irrationally. Germany and France care nothing about what is happening to the people in the struggling countries, only about their own banks. We have a union of countries with no joint financial control. It’s still every country for itself. Yes, the collapse of the Euro can do some serious harm to the world’s finances, so we will have to pray this one through, too.

  87. Note that Greece is less than 3 % of the Eurozone’s GDP, i.e., about a year-and-a-half’s worth of growth.

    What is much, much more worrisome to me (as a Eurozone citizen) is that the Central Bank can be so easily fooled by a national government in believing that they’re solvable.

  88. “IMO people like slinkerwink put their fingers to the wind and go whichever way the wind blows.” -gn

    I haven’t kept up with slinkerwink (she writes alot), but what I have read and do know is that, at least in my opinion, she is sincere and cares. Those are 2 qualities that I don’t overlook, not to mention slinkerwink’s intellect which may be rough around the edges, but it does have a solid core. Now, there may be differences of opinion, but typically speaking, when one is sincere and cares, it tends to be the case that they will opt to do what’s right, as long as they have been made aware of what are some of the right things to do. Now, I don’t nescessarily agree with her points, but I don’t dismiss them either. IMHO, Hamsher, Greenwald, Uygur, Huffington, and (I could go on) others don’t have those qualities mentioned above.

    “Nutroots is a waste of time and an attempt to continue to coopt the liberal voice and insert foolishness in our names.” -gn

    I didn’t attend nn11, but I did see a little about Breitbart being there. Please, fill me in.

    How you been, gn? Wanted to say hey.

  89. What a pleasant surprise, BWD. I missed you! Well done to everyone for hitting the fundraising goal yet again! It’s also very heartening to hear about the voter registration. Keep it up, guys and stay hopeful!

  90. Good morning BWD, it is so encouraging to hear from you and to know that you are doing well. You are thoroughly missed, but make sure you get lots of R&R and as others said “we will keep the light on for you”.

    I was already having a wonderful father’s day but, seeing a message from you just took it to another level. Thanks and Happy Father’s day to those in your family and the family in this community.

  91. OFA is based in the Democratic Party of Georgia headquarters for now. I don’t know the intricacies of the working relationship, but it appears to be strong and coordinated.

  92. I am also socially challenged, but I found my niche during the 2008 campaign registering new voters in rapid transit stations, shopping centers and malls. Once I got out there and saw the appreciation and excitement on people’s faces, I began to feel empowered and more confident. Now, phone-banking is an extra challenge to me, though I do it. I hope to get better with practice.

  93. First, Happy and Blessed Father’s Day to all the fathers!!!!

    Second, A very frustrating article to begin the day. Sadly, it is true……something we all know. Read on, friends: http://www.washingtonpost.com/business/economy/with-executive-pay-rich-pull-away-from-rest-of-america/2011/06/13/AGKG9jaH_story.html?hpid=z1. This whole topic of CEO (and other top management) pay is a big sticking point for me and my husband. Remember, he is a Republican and sees nothing wrong with the wide disparity in pay/income. We’ve had these arguments fro years–since the wide disparity began occurring. He maintains companies MUST pay the high salaries/benefits or “the CEO will go somewhere else”……that companies MUST pay the “talented” folks or the company will not be successful and make the money/profits in order to pay the (lowly employees–my word) their salaries. I will NEVER understand his thinking on this topic.

  94. There will never be another sound like Clarence’s sax joining in to a song. Never.

    This is sad to lose him so early. RIP Clarence.

  95. PBHO, “THE FATHER OF THE WORLD” is on the move:

    HAPPY FATHER’S DAY!

    THIS FATHER’S DAY PRESIDENT OBAMA IS KICKING OFF THE YEAR OF STRONG FATHERS, STRONG FAMILIES AS PART OF HIS FATHERHOOD AND MENTORING INITIATIVE. It’s an effort with partners from around the nation to create simple opportunities for dads and kids to connect. Whether it’s a free game of bowling, a Major League Baseball or WNBA game, a visit to the zoo or aquarium, or discounts for dads and kids through partners like Groupon and LivingSocial, we’re excited to help create small moments that can have a big impact. You can learn more and take the fatherhood pledge at … http://www.fatherhood.gov.

    In addition, PRESIDENT OBAMA SAT DOWN [FOR] A TV INTERVIEW AND WROTE AN OP-ED this week DISCUSSING THE IMPORTANT ROLE FATHERS PLAY AND HIS OWN EXPERIENCE AS A FATHER. Check out the links to both and other Father’s Day content below:

    TV INTERVIEW: Earlier this week, President Obama sat down with Robin Roberts from Good Morning America and discussed the important role fathers play in the lives of their children and his own experience being a father to two young daughters. You can watch the interview on ABC.com.

    OP-ED: President Obama also wrote an op-ed in People magazine discussing the importance of being a good dad. Check it out on People.com.

    CHAMPIONS OF CHANGE: In honor of Father’s Day, the White House is honoring 15 Champions of Change who recognize the importance of good fathers as role models in young children’s lives and have dedicated themselves to mentoring and supporting fathers across the country.

    WEEKLY ADDRESS: In his Weekly Address this week, President Obama discusses his hardest, but most rewarding job – being a dad.

    http://www.whitehouse.gov/blog/2011/06/19/happy-father-s-day

  96. Hi lookingglass! I can certainly respect your opinion; I have a differing opinion and view but I’m glad that you pointed out another manner of looking at things. I don’t know about a Breitbart appearance, but not much would surprise me, lol. I hope that you’re having a terrific summer. :-)

  97. Thanks, yes it is…Very!

    That’s what has to be done, on a continuous loop, online and off…

    So, it won’t be forgotten; it can’t be forgotten!!!

    YES.WE.CAN…DO.(Much)More, Together!
    I’M IN…FIRED UP & GOIN’! ;)

  98. Good job:) I would hope that people would be willing to sign that SB 5 petition like nobody’s business!!!! Are they eager to help like they were in WI???

  99. I know. When I heard the sax solo in Gaga’s new song, I knew it had to be Clarence Clemons. So sad. My parents are around his age and I can’t imagine them being gone. Prayers for his family.

  100. Funny you say that, I was sitting in the patio having my coffee and thinking of how enjoyable it is to come here. We DO talk about the facts, respectfully disagree if we need to, and it never turns into a sh*t fest. Where real people come to discuss the issues. I attribute that to the calibre of people here and BWD for her terrific weeding ability:) Go to any site in this blogroll and you will find the same. We love that you;re here, too!

  101. Why yes,gn! I just read that somewhere this week….they presented the story like it could have been anyone…and the kicker at the end was that it was HER. I think her name is Karen.This ok for me, but NOT for THEE! Typical. That won’t go over real well in a debate:)

  102. This wasn’t the original story I read, but you get the drift. Thank goodness she could have this safe, legal procedure.Why they would want to put anyone else in that position is the bigger question to me. How absolutely cruel.

  103. Hi Mel,

    WE want to thank you for the OFA/TOAITR donation…

    Oh yeah, choi is “nobody”…. Don’t let ‘im upset you…Calm down!

    And, have a Happy Father’s Day! :)

  104. Just saw Jon Stewart on Fox (I know, I know), of course Chris Wallace asked Stewart about Obama’s Presidency and of course Stewart said he was disappointed. Nothing about being the only President to pass a health care bill, or is ending DADT, or anything about the historical accomplishments of President Obama. I mean really, is it the “in thing” now by progressives to speak negatively about President Obama? I truly don’t get it; sometimes I think I’m living in an alternate universe where Obama is the one trying to end Medicare, cut social security benefits, and defund Planned Parenthood. I don’t know folks; I’m tired of all this madness, Stewart for some reason just took the fight right out of me this morning. I’m really trying to ignore all the noise, but day after day it just gets so tiring. I’m almost to the point where I can’t even go online and see anything positive about President Obama.

  105. askew3 THANKS SO MUCH for that…

    Now, onward & upward to our next donation goal, $4000! ;)

    YES.WE.CAN…DO.(Much)More, Together!
    I’M IN…FIRED UP & READY TO GO! ;)

  106. All excellent points, as is typical of your fine responses, Nathan.

    Fact is, the President knows the law – better than most – and he knows our treaty obligations to NATO and to various European Nations. He acted in accordance with those treaties. We are not at war with Libya; the Libyan people pleaded for help and the UN responded and requested NATO to respond.

    Jerks will always be jerks – we just have more evidence of it in the self-serving, narcissistic behavior of the professional whiners.

    When Conyers should have been doing his job re: actual war criminals – Bush/Cheney/et al for their illegal war on the sovereign Nation of Iraq and the massive death and harm to the Iraqi people (one of the most immoral acts in the history of the USA) – he didn’t. That’s when I lost all respect for him.

    Yes.We.Can. … DO.More.Together!

  107. I mean this literally: anyone ‘disappointed’ in this President because he has not accomplished absolutely everything is flat out stupid. In the case of every PL pundit, Jon Stewart, Michael Moore and the rest of them — there is no excuse. They choose to remain stupid.

    You want to say you ‘wish’ more could have been accomplished? That’s fine. But to completely disregard (1) the immense accomplishments of this President, in line with the greatest Presidents in American history; (2) the unprecedented obstruction by the opposition party and many in his own party who never should have been elected as Democrats; and (3) the utter abdication of journalistic honesty and investigation, is unconscionable. Unforgivable to completel ignore the other ’2′ in 2+2 = 4.

    Jon Stewart should be completely ashamed of himself. I’m ashamed of him.

  108. You’ve said it, Faith. This whole petulant children act they’re sporting is a look that doesn’t even work for petulant children. Stewart is a student of history and politics. He should know better. Colbert has been more honest and seems to be clued in about the obstacles and hurdles the President is facing. The rest of them should grow up.

  109. What’s worrisome isn’t so much Greece, but what the fall of Greece would mean for the other teetering countries like Spain, Portugal, Ireland, and even Italy. The risk of contagion is the truly frightening thing.

  110. LL, I am pretty sure that Greece will get this bail-out, but save your worry for the next one.

    Toon, I worry more that a central bank AND a national government can be fooled in believing their banks are solvent. I also worry about banks believing the paper they are buying is good paper when they should have known it was rotten goods just like the stuff they were pushing themselves. I worry that a bank failure can bring down a country and then the world’s banks and their countries. I want banks to go back to being simple banks and not cheesy investment houses.

  111. I know it’s wrong to think with your gut, but Colbert has always struck me to be a more decent person to Stewart.

  112. No worries. I LOVE Joey the Shark so all is forgiven!!! Just in case you don’t know about the site, here it is. http://biden-daily.livejournal.com/ It was much more active during the campaign, but if you love Joey like lots of us here in Pennsylvania, you’ll LOVE this site. Check out the archives. It doesn’t disappoint.

Leave a Reply

