Happy Thanksgiving!

The Obama family at Martha’s Table in Washington:

 

71 thoughts on “Happy Thanksgiving!

  1. So glad to know where you’ve gone to … now you need a Facebook page ;)

    Thanks for the blog – something to be thankful for at this season!

    Juli (Juliann at DK)

  2. Happy Thanksgiving BWD!

    I am thankful for wonderful sites like this one!

    I am thankful for Pres Obama and his administration and how hard they are all working to help America!

    Happy Thanksgiving O-Family!

  3. BWD, can we have a “LOVE this post” in addition to the “like this post” box? :)

    From MarthasTable.org:

    …. “On behalf of our families in our education programs, staff and volunteers, we are honored that the First Family has chosen to spend their Thanksgiving with Martha’s Table again this year,” Said Lindsey Buss, President and CEO of Martha’s Table. “Their example of service and the spotlight they bring to the challenge of hunger and nutrition, especially for children, is a tremendous asset for all of us working to find solutions to poverty.”….

    http://www.marthastable.org/obama.html

  4. Awesome BWD!

    Our President cares so much for the least of these.

    This is truly a blessing.

    May GOD ALMIGHTY continue to rich bless President OBAMA!

    May GOD ALMIGHTY bless the United States of America.

    HAPPY THANKSGIVING!

  5. Hey CR!

    how are you?

    Really miss your posts at OFA.

    We wanted to celebrate with you that CA is dark blue.

    KAMALA HARRIS was declared winner of CA AG race today.

    GOD Bless!

    HAPPY THANKSGIVING!

  6. I love the grandmother helping out, too.

    I should add a comment about feeling that President Obama is the best president since FDR. FDR was my president — I was born in April of 1930 — and I have never, NEVER felt that any of the presidents I’d voted for since then ever measured up to FDR until Barack Obama appeared on the scene.

    I’ve made a study through the years of the Great Depression and FDR and I know what FDR went through to pass the legislation he did. It’s difficult sometimes to listen to complaints from people, generations from the misery of the Great Depression, who have no understanding of governance and compromise.

  7. It’s always a pleasure to see the President having fun with the kids. I’m sure First Lady has to play the disciplinarian in the home. :)

  8. Kamala Harris winning is the best news of 2010 elections. CA, NY & MA have shown the way once again in progressive politics.

  9. I so love the photos of our President interacting in such a nice way with little children. As always, thank you, BWD, for the wonderful work that you do. I have to say that I am grateful to be among like-minded spirits (and not to have to wade through all the pathetic hate on Dailykos).

  10. And Congressman McNerney also won. Thanks to GOTV and OFA.
    Happy Thanksgiving to all. We are blessed to have the Obamas in the WH. Love the way they promote service and have made the WH the people’s house. More visitors this year than last, more last year than ever.

  11. Happy Thanksgiving, BWD.

    I just think the First Family, including Mrs. Robinson, look fabulous.

    Your diaries always made me smile.

    PS-You’ve been added to the blog rolls of Jack and Jill Politics and Mirror On America.

  12. Grandma! I haven’t seen a pic of her in a really long time. Great to see the Obama family together (mostly) and helping out.

    Diogenes occasionally posted the following Teddy Roosevelt quote at DK and I’d like to share it here because it’s a great quote and it’s true:

    “It is not the critic who counts: not the man who points out how the strong man stumbles or where the doer of deeds could have done better. The credit belongs to the man who is actually in the arena, whose face is marred by dust and sweat and blood, who strives valiantly, who errs and comes up short again and again, because there is no effort without error or shortcoming, but who knows the great enthusiasms, the great devotions, who spends himself for a worthy cause; who, at the best, knows, in the end, the triumph of high achievement, and who, at the worst, if he fails, at least he fails while daring greatly, so that his place shall never be with those cold and timid souls who knew neither victory nor defeat.”

    It is easy to constantly beat the drum of negativity, yet I am continually impressed by how our President comports himself in the face of vicious attacks from both the right and extreme left in this country, as well as the enormous problems that he must confront. He always smiles.

    As a writer who will hopefully be going on to earn my MFA, I can tell that it is easy to be a critic. It is easy to point out the flaws and the shortcomings of the work someone is doing. It is much harder to create something new when there are tremendous obstacles in the way – it takes patience, time, and perseverance.

    That some on the left have decided that it is easier to wield rhetorical knives from behind the comfort of their keyboards by engaging in and propagating some of the attacks of the right, as well as looking for the negative in absolutely everything President Obama and Dems have done, simply reveals that they do not understand that change does not come easily.

    The progressive cause in this country goes all the way to our nation’s founding – it took women over a hundred years to win the right to vote, African Americans much longer; every wave of immigrants to this country has given blood and life just to be considered equal (and many must still remain vigilant against those who would see them reduced to second class citizens; the great cause of conservation, workplace regulations, labor standards began more than a hundred years ago. Victory was won because people persevered and kept fighting; they realized that while they might not knock down the walls of oppression and inequality in a single blow that over time the little blows weakened the foundation and that in time those walls could be pushed over.

  13. Bit OT. Salon’s war room has just published the list of top 30 hackity hacks in the beltway media.

    Excellent takedown of these assholes, who are a blot in the political scene of goood ol’ usa.

    My fav takedowns

    halperin, the tool.
    friedman, the mustachio
    kristol, the welfare clown

    Enjoy the takedown of a bunch of media whores who are the fifth columnists undemining their own country @

    http://www.salon.com/news/war_room_hack_thirty/index.html

  14. Happy Thanksgiving all
    Im grateful for this family in the White House that wants the best for all of us. For the wisdom of the President and for our strength to have his back for what is coming.
    Thanks BWD

  15. Thank you for posting that, Jay. Gonna copy and paste it into an email to myself.

    Happy Thanksgiving!

  16. Thank you for this website. The constant demeaning of our president and the relentless negativity on other sites is toxic and enervating. This is now a place where my spirit can be refreshed for the battles ahead. And that, for me, is a real reason for giving thanks.

    I am in my sixties and I can tell you that there has never been a better president in my lifetime and will not be again. If people can’t appreciate and support this president, they are giving up on their own future and that of the country. This is the best leader we will ever have we had better wake up to it fast.

  17. ((((((((kini)))))))

    A joyous Happy Thanksgiving to you and yours honey.

    There is much to be thankful for if we pay attention, including seeing you here. :)

  18. Kat’s Daily Obama Administration Report, 11/25/10

    Happy Thanksgiving, BWD and everybody!

    Today’s report features:

    • Thanksgiving buffet: Weekly Address: the President’s Thanksgiving greeting; The First Family hands out holiday meals at Martha’s Table (with video); two turkeys get Presidential pardons, and the Bidens host wounded veterans.

    • International Day for the Elimination of Violence Against Women: The UN asks business leaders to fight violence against women; in October, the Obama Administration observed Domestic Violence Awareness Month.

    • VPOTUS calls for START ratification: The Vice President’s Op-Ed in The Wall Street Journal .

    • Of Thee I Sing: Loren Long talks about illustrating the President’s children’s book.

    http://www.dailykos.com/story/2010/11/25/82912/243

  19. Hi you~

    Just tried to give you a call (finally). So grateful for you and your friendship and your ginormous heart, generously shared.

    Enjoy your family today, sweetheart.

    {{{Ono}}}

  20. Happy thanksgiving to everyone!

    And congrats on your new space, BWD. I am just now getting around to visiting, and it’s visually stunning, and of course, full of all the lovely pictures and information on the Obama presidency that you’ve always been able to provide.

    Nice job and know that you have loads of support out here!

  21. I’m thankful today, for President Obama and his amazing family who have been willing to give so much of themselves. And I’m grateful to you, Blackwaterdog, for everything you do. Happy Thanksgiving!

  22. Dear BWD,

    Please enjoy this short video.
    It’s a positive look at the GM/Chrysler rebirth:

    Thanks.

  23. Happy Thanksgiving to everyone! but a special shout-out to BWD for giving us a place to be more positive. It’s such a downer being negative all the time.

    I’ve been a lurker at the other place for years now, but I already feel more welcome here. *S* Thanks for that too.

  24. So so so happy you are blogging regularly in a space that will ensure respect for our President and appreciation for the awesome amount he has been able to accomplish even against a relentless assualt of vicious opposition.

  25. Thank you for finding a new home so that you can continue the excellent work you do. I’ll be one of your regulars. Bookmarked this page yesterday as soon as TIMT posted the link.

  26. Oh my goodness, BWD, I’m so glad you’re back where I can find you and what you so brilliantly give us!! It’s one of my “what I’m thankful for” items today and pretty much every day.

    And I so love how sweet and almost goofy our beloved President is with little children — he always relaxes and opens up with them in such a warm way.

    He’s my guy, on all fronts.

  27. Thanks BWD for this new, positive site…..love it!
    Great pictures of the first family helping out at the kitchen – I don’t
    remember other presidents doing something like this. A very Happy Thanksgiving to you and your loved ones.

  28. Happy Thanksgiving to you BWD and all of the other true supporters of President Obama. I am most grateful for the love and support I get from finding you. The Teddy Roosevelt quote brought me to tears so I sent it to my friends and my Obama group. Thanks again for your wonderful gift to me.

  29. This is my favorite holiday as it reminds me again of how important the thankful heart is.

    And today, this thankful heart is profoundly grateful for our President, First Lady and family, and for all of you.

    Blessings to you all.

  30. I’d like to thank you too, beautifully written and a tonic for the soul. Happy Thanksgiving one and all.

  31. Happy Thanksgiving to all and thank you so much BWD for this wonderful site! It was something that was truly needed.

    Love the pictures of the First Family at Martha’s Table. Honestly, I don’t recall any other First Family anywhere near as giving and as true to their values as the Obamas. I’m so happy and proud that we have a President as real and good as President Barack Obama.

  32. Thank you for sharing this with us BWD.

    Have a wonderful Thanksgiving.

    God bless you friend.

  33. Is it safe to come out now?

    Just kidding.

    Great to see you continuing this important work BWD and for sure I’ll be stopping by regularly.

    Happy Thanksgiving all!!!!!

  34. Happy Thanksgiving Everybody!!!!

    It’s so nice to have a place that’s positive to visit….you just don’t know how nice this blog really is for me.

  35. I haven’t gone looking for the story yet, but I understand that Palin thingy tweeted something about our great friend and ally…North Korea! Bet she can see it from her back porch. No wonder the President isn’t worried about her.

  36. I wonder if her friends in NK will be tweeting her now?? lol.. that woman, good grief is all I can say anymore.. except that if our media continue to push her to the presidency, enough folks in this country may well fall for the spin. Which is why of course we must stay vigilant and push against their all things Palin meme.

  37. Hey Jupiter, nice to see you, I hope you’re having a very nice Thanksgiving~Best Wishes to you and your family.

  38. Beautifully said jaywillie- both TR’s and your words… I will look forward to more of your good writing and insights~ thank you & Happy Thanksgiving.

  39. Hello bwd and everyone else :) so good to read all the thoughtful intelligent comments.

    I am very thankful for all the kind and wise words here. And bwd I’m very thankful you’ve given this site to those of us who support Our President and First Family, they always make me proud.

    Happy Thanksgiving or just Have a Beautiful Day to anyone who doesn’t celebrate~

  40. Yes, I am thankful for the role model set by the President, for his willingness to reach out and empower and inspire people who need it. And I am thankful as well for all of you here who also are taking the ‘yes we can’ attitude and making it real.

  41. Thanks for another beautiful compilation, BWD. I too am so grateful this man is our President. Also very grateful for you, this site and all your supporters here.

    I hope you all had a lovely Thanksgiving.

  42. Happy Thanksgiving Everyone!

    What a gift BWD has given us. Please always tell us how we can reciprocate.

    Love and health and happiness to all. And I’d bet “progressives” like US would be treated with respect by the Rahm’s of the world, because we treat THEM with respect. With this approach, maybe we can reframe “activism” and actually accomplish goals.

    Group hug, and good night :)

  43. Wow, I had not seen that video yet, thank you.. think about that 1 M I L L I O N Jobs, thats one million working people, one million families.. probably at least a quarter million children or more. And thats just one aspect of what this President did in 20 months.

    thank you Mike for posting it, I’ll be sure to pass it onward.

  44. Hi BWD,

    That was a really great tribute to President Obama. Loved it.

    I can’t wait to see the Barbara Walters interview on the first couple tonight.

    I’m really excited!

  45. BWD…I will follow you anywhere.
    Thanks so much for 1 site I can go to to hear the positive things about the president

  46. But for BaBa asking him what he thinks about The Sarah saying she could beat him in 2012. One day the MSM might get that it is they who are keeping this nitwit’s hopes alive.

  47. But doesn’t Greenwald write/edit for Salon? He’s one of the biggest hacks whatever hacked.

  48. Thanks for the kind words and to Lovepolitics2008, too. Hope everyone had a great Thanksgiving.

  49. BWD,
    I followed you on dailykos. So glad you found a spot where all the viciousness can be left behind. Thanks for what you are doing!

Leave a Reply

